We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is definitely an award winner”
Review of Super 8 Joplin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Joplin
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“This hotel is definitely an award winner”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

On our trip to arizona, we stayed here for 1 nights fortunately. The hotel was caught up in the smell of cigarette smoke. The washroom was way beyond dirty in my opinion, it clearly had marks of someone using it. The rooms were not clean either, the air conditioner seemed white from the factory but some how it had turned it self in to yellow. The staff was horrible. They do not want any one complaining about anything or he would really get on your nerves. I never would recommend this hotel to anyone, not even dogs and cats. There are much better places in the area for a not a whole lot of price.

Room Tip: Check the rooms first, I am sure not all the rooms are worst but check yours first before buying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8jomo, General Manager at Super 8 Joplin, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Sir,

I am very displeased with the way your stay at our hotel turned out. I assure you that any and all things that you were displeased will be corrected and in the future if you happen to stay at our hotel again you will see that our rooms, staff, and service is up to your satisfaction. Also, I'd like to thank you for your review because it helps me make correct any and all mistakes as well as help our guests in the future.

Thank you,
Chirag Gandhi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    59
    63
    36
    40
See reviews for
85
73
35
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mogadore, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is an ok Super 8. Rooms were pretty quiet but the stairs were a little narrow for a larger bag. Was easy to get off 44 and get back on

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora Vista, NM
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The place looked very nice from the outside, in the room however it was a different story. The floor was sticky and gross; it felt necessary to ware shoes to walk around the room. The shower looked like it was disengaging and was more patches then it was the original enclosure. The beds were like sleeping on planks of wood and the sheets looked dingy. Avoid this place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfshowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Joplin hotels

travelingsometimes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Horrible room, dirty towels in bathroom, dirty bathroom, urine on floor, carpet disgusting and the MOST RUDE STAFF ever encountered. Manager was an arrogant, self serving and rude individual

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingsometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We were driving to California and Joplin was our first stop. The Super 8 appeared nice on the outside. My sister checked in for us and we did not enter until after the room had been purchased. The exterior door to the hallway that stated a room key was required to enter was left open and would not shut. That was not such a big issue for us so we continued to our room. The room appeared clean in the dim light at 10:00 PM. The following morning we awoke and found that we had been bitten by bed bugs all night long. We immediately showered and bagged our clothes up and took them to the closest laundry mat at 7:30 in the morning. We reported the issue to the front desk clerk and she called the manager. He was rude and stated that there were no bugs in the room, however offered a 15% discount. I stated that this was not acceptable and he clearly had no intention of resolving the bug issue. I had to call the health department and leave a message. The health department responded at 8:15 AM and investigated the room. The bed was infested with bed bugs. There was trash under the recliner and pills found on the desk chair. Dry blood on the mattress along with some other dry fluids. I went back down to the desk and the manager wanted to know why we didn't report it sooner, and accused us of bringing the bugs into the hotel. The Health Department Investigator confirmed that this infestation had been there for days and that the bugs numb the spot before they bite so we would not have felt them during the night. The manager still did not apologize, stated that he is in business to make money and can't go around giving people money back all the time. But he was willing to give me my money back on this one occasion. This was the worst experienceand ruined my vacation. Because we spent time and money at the laundry mat, worried if we would take them home with us, stressed over needing to stay at another hotel and 7-9 days later bumps showed up that covered our bodies from the bites (which itch and there is no treatment for the itch). Of course the ill treatment just made the situation worse.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sg_252004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

On our way back from Tempe AZ we stayed at the Super 8 in Joplin Missouri. Check-in went well. Room appeared to be OK at first. Comfortable bed, good Wi-Fi connection, big TV and fridge. But, the in-room coffee maker made terrible coffee, shower curtin was ripped and shower rod appeared to be ready to fall off wall. Bathroom was under-lit. Room smell somewhat but it was a ground floor/basement room. Easy access to gas, food, and highway. OK place for a 1-night stay. Can't vouch for other rooms.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloBill716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

June7,o7 Just returned from a few days in Branson,mo.....on the way we spent one nite in joplin, mo at the super 8....over and beyond any super 8 we've stayed at....very clean rooms,breakfast of toast, waffles, blueberry muffins juice and coffee.....this is located just off the turnpike with easy to get back on the next a.m. Plus they have FREE calls to any of the 48 states...we called home and didn't have to use cell phones out of area....DVD's to rent with a wide selection of movies....little fridge and microwaves in the rooms plus coffee pots and coffee...will be sure to stay there again....

  • Liked — best value for the price and loads of extras
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oklacupla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Joplin hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Joplin
Quality Inn Joplin
#11 of 23 in Joplin
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Joplin
Days Inn Joplin
#9 of 23 in Joplin
853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Joplin
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Joplin
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Oasis at Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Joplin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Joplin

Property: Super 8 Joplin
Address: 2830 E 36th St, Joplin, MO 64804-4417 (Formerly The Legacy Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Joplin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Joplin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Joplin 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Joplin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing