We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Billy Sims BBQ

Billy Sims BBQ
Ranked #73 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Like going through a food line such as Subway . Not crazy about eating places like this , especially when the price is this high . Going through the line , people were rushing me ( and I had never been there before so I didn't know what to get ) . I got the pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw on it and it came with one side . I had water and my lunch was $9 . That's pretty high for what I got . Restaurant was crowded mainly because it was a pretty small building . The worst thing for me was not having napkins on the table . That chaps me to no end . Here we are eating messy bbq and I have to get up to get my napkins because corporate can only afford one napkin dispenser per restaurant . Well corporate , this will be my first and last visit to Billy Sims .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoothbelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
94 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“not good Q”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

ate here and had the pulled pork sandwich which had a lot of hard dry chunks mixed in...not very tasty...and my friend said her brisket was hard and dried out..no none knows good Q at this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hillbilly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“BoomerQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A local chain in with southern style fall off the bones ribs and Texas style brisket. For a BBQ lover a must stop in Oklahoma or southwest Missouri. Prices are a little bit higher than average but the BBQ is worth it. I have eaten at three of the 23 locations with the same high quality and friendly service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustyelectrician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I could only eat .50 worth of all you can eat ribs.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Tough, chewy ribs just aren't my thing. Neither are kitschy decorations depicting a "never was" football player out of OU.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami ok
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great BBQ, large portions, always take 1/2 of it home. Staff is Very friendly. Clean. Beans are really good, and the pulled pork is sooo tender, no fat. sauce is great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachlover4860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Sims BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Billy Sims BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing