We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dusty and unclean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big R's Bar-B-Q

Big R's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #4 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Smoked barbecue, brisket, pulled pork and ribs being most popular. They also have a large variety of homemade pies that are served as huge slices. very rustic decor and friendly service.
Neosho, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dusty and unclean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Try their ham steak you will not be disappointed.Dust all over made me wonder how meals are prepared in kitchen.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    53
    19
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Take note, Their portions are enormous!! Their food is great and their pie is wonderful. I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webb City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big pie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Average BBQ. Lots of choices of BIG slices of pie. (Our group referred to it as "pie as big as your face", which isn't particularly classy, but is true.) Had the chocolate cream and it was above average. Wasn't crazy about the brisket, which was pretty dried out. Very nice waitstaff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MOAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Come for the BBQ, stay for the Suzy Q's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had Tuesday night dinner at Big R's while passing through Joplin en route to *serious* BBQ in Taylor, Texas. Wife ordered pulled pork sandwich which came with one side: she chose "1/2 Suzy Q". I had the Big Chef salad (laying off big-meat meals these days) which is a big bowl of green salad topped with a couple of slices of smoked ham and some thin-slice brisket. From my meal I could safely say that the ham is right up there, sweet and just the right cut of smoke, but I could not judge the brisket (which I think needs some thickness, something to sink teeth into), which was due to my choice not theirs. The pulled pork was excellent, even on a sandwich, tender, fairly moist and flavorful although, because she could not resist Big R's wonderful BBQ sauce, the wife did not really evaluate the unsauced flavor. But, forsooth, we must speak of the side, those Suzy Q's... no - that *half* Suzy Q. A Suzy Q is a loaf of curly fries, fresh cut potato strings, fried, maybe double fried, dumped into a loaf pan or something, to cool a bit before being dumped out as a sort of loaf, and brought to the table. Our half was big enough for four (although we finished it, with gusto.) The fries were tender, succulent, potato-ey, not greasy, and plentiful. We ate them plain... salted... dipped in BBQ sauce.... drenched in Heinz ketchup.... all were delicious
Big R is famous for their cream pies, of which there must be 60 flavors, with a list of 15-20 available the night we visited. Our peppy, bubbly, knowledgeable waitress Brittany read off the list mid-meal and we asked her to give us a bit to think about those choices. By the time we finished we knew there was no room for pie, no matter how delicious. Had we been local we would definitely take the to-go option, but we had to demur... this time.
Overall, this is a great little local place with good food and a homey Joplin flavor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZedOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food but ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is always busy and the food is good...BUT it is just dirty! they have all this shabby chic, antique decor that collects dust and is pretty gross. The homemade pies are wonderful but I'll have to get mine to go.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RhonJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big R's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Big R's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing