We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caldone's - CLOSED

Caldone's
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Relatively new restaurant with attached event hall. Provides catering services as well. Excellent non-chain, locally owned Italian restaurant. Great atmosphere - located in old downtown area.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
150 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Have eaten here twice this year, including lunch today. Last time I had the pizza, pasta salad buffet; great value, especially considering the quality of the meal. Today had the blue cheese burger - good taste but just a little messy - however they have real cloth napkins! Justina, my server, was so friendly AND never let my water glass get empty!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I enjoyed dinner at Caldone's this is a nice restaurant in the heart of Joplin, MO. I look forward to come back for good food and great wines.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PA_HE_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food is great, and the service matches it. I love that the owner comes out to talk to the customers.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank awelch_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett
1 review
“Caldones is doing things right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a very nice ahi tuna dish. Excellent wine selection at reasonable prices, easily the best place downtown. Have apparently recruited much better serving staff from a few months ago.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's been a while”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I grew up in Joplin, but moved to Italy almost a decade ago. Met my wife and had kids their. Came back to the states and heard there was an Italian place in Joplin. Well we went there first chance we got. For Joplin I guess it's good, but it's not Italian food. They didn't even know what tiramisù really is. I mean we can find lady fingers here. Why can't an Italian Restaurant make real Italian food..

Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderingPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing