We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Queso Dip!!!! The best ever.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Rio Grill & Cantina

Del Rio Grill & Cantina
Ranked #104 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
133 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Queso Dip!!!! The best ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

One of our favorite restaurants. Service is great and the food can't be beat. We can make meal just out of the Queso dip. None better.

Helpful?
Thank mocatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I am reviewing the Del Rio on N. Rangeline by MSSU - Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Met with 5 others here for my birthday dinner and had great chips and queso as well as a good entree. At the server's recommendation I had a spinach enchilada, chicken flauta and a cruncy ground beef taco combination with rice and beans. The queso dip prior to the meal was white cheese and very good. Chips were thin and light which I love. Spinach enchilada was made with fresh spinach and a little of the queso to 'glue' it together which was swell. Flauta had minced chicken and was a rolled flour tortilla which was different than I expected but good. Taco was fine, not super flavorful but you could add salsa to jazz it up a bit. Beans were kind of boring and the rice was tasty but had PEAS in it, which I dislike and picked out. :) Don't think that is the way rice is made in Mexico, but can't swear to that! Server was hard to find at times because there were busy, but she was nice when we found her. Would go back for sure.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Tex-Mex, if you want Mexican go elsewhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

All three of the Del Rio restaurants in the area have a fantastic atmosphere. They are festive and a big part of why I keep going back to eat there. Service is often hit or miss. Their cheese dip is out-of-this-world; it is the one thing you MUST order here. It is very creamy and has spinach in it. Their fajitas are very good, but they skimp on the meat, so I usually order vegetarian fajitas. I hate refried beans, so I sub spoon bread as my other side. You should definitely try the spoon bread; they bring a tiny spoonful on just about every entree plate, but not many people know that you can order a whole bowl of it for a side. Carb-a-licious. I also am quite fond of their spinach enchiladas, topped with queso. Get sopapillas for dessert. The location on west 32nd Street brings cream cheese out with them, which I LOVE. However, the other locations will give you a blank stare if you ask for some. If you like Tex-Mex food, go here. If you want something a little more authentic, visit Acambaro or Maria's.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Food is average. Not our favorite Mexican place in town, but we do go here on occasion. We go for their queso dip and flautas. It is a very popular place in Joplin.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksugans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food, but don't go on Sunday afternoon!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Del Rio is amazing--excellent food and the best queso I have ever tasted. The only problem I have ever had here (which is pretty significant) was on a Sunday after church. We came with a group of about 10--which is a large group, but we do this every Sunday and have never seen service like this. We waited for tables for 2 hours then once we were seated, our service was terrible--we waited another 15 minutes for the wait staff to come to take our order and 45 minuted for our food.

The atmosphere is great and the food is really tasty. I would suggest this for a date or small family, but definitely not a large group. While you're there, check out the Mexican Beatles on the wall--definitely funny!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MegHarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Rio Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Del Rio Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing