We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very popular and it's easy to see why”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
Ranked #6 of 223 Restaurants in Joplin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very popular and it's easy to see why”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

There is almost always a wait at Cheddars and the reason is clear--great food, good atmosphere, excellent value, and excellent service. The wait staff is incredibly accommodating, especially for large groups or special occasions. The atmosphere just feels like an extension of your home (one where you don't have to do dishes!) I love to get the crispy chicken salad and I always have leftovers for dinner! The "pick two" option is also excellent! We will be back again and again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegHarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    77
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent food but it took forever to arrive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stopped at this Cheddars around 2:30 p.m. on a Sunday as we were driving through Joplin. Having eaten at another location in the past on a road trip, my husband and I were looking forward to enjoying a late lunch at this location with our kids. We were surprised to find a crowded waiting area at that time of day but stayed when we were told a table would be available in about 10 minutes. Their time estimate was fairly accurate. Unfortunately our food service was not as speedy. We were there for nearly 2 hours! Our waitress made herself scarce while we were waiting and left us waiting for quite awhile before coming to initially take our order. There seemed to be a lot of waitstaff around, so it appeared this level of busyness was typical at this location at this time. Our food was decent, but the service was slow.

In the ladies room, there were two paper towel dispensers and one hand dryer. One of the towel dispensers was jammed or empty the entire time we were there. When we were preparing to leave, I went to wash my hands and had to wait (in a line) to dry them as two employees were doing their make-up and completely blocking the one functional dispenser and the hand dryer. As they stood there chatting and blocking the drying options, they were commenting on how they had just remembered that there was an employee restroom that they should be using. Unbelievable!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank StLouisMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Mediocre Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

My most recent visit to Cheddar's in Joplin was a disappointment. The service was poor and the food quality was mediocre. Our waitress almost spilled our drinks on us, the server who brought us our appetizer dumped it on the table and took off without returning, and it was very difficult to get another server to assist us while waiting on our waitress to reappear. My sandwich was greasy and came with green peppers after I had requested no peppers due to an allergy. My husband's chicken fried steak was less than desirable. We can overlook a bad meal now and again, but not poor, surly service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WooPigSooie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark Mountains
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Seems to be going downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We've been stopping at Cheddar's after shopping the mall, for a few years now. This last time it was dirty, specifically the booth wall and floors. Menu was sticky too! Service was much slower than usual and my husbands veg choice cooked broccoli was dried up and had brown stems..very bad. It looked like it was cooked the day before and dried out and they nuked it too long. Awful! Thus we will not be returning to Cheddars again!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank junkcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
195 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Popular and reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

We pass through Joplin frequently and often try to eat here. This was the first Cheddar's we tried and have been surprised to find local Cheddar's since equally reliable for taste and speed of service. Lunch is an especially good deal. Our only complaint has been that the portions are gargantuan. The Joplin franchise has been hard to get into on weekends sometimes but that seems to confirm our opinion of its quality.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweentrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing