We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer Servicee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Although my one night in this hotel wasn't that bad because of the customer service after my stay, I will never stay here again. The room was decent enough, it was a place to stay close to the capitol for my visit the next day. But I accidentally left a couple clothes in the room and called the hotel the evening I got back home. Their message said they would return my call within 24 hours; that was a Tuesday. On Friday I was finally able to call during "regular business hours" and asked why no one had returned my call. The man told me they never received it but somehow they knew what room I had been in and the clothing items without me telling him. Nevertheless, I gave him my address and he said it would be mailed out that day. I shouldn't have gotten so excited because after an entire week of waiting for my package, I called the following Monday (almost 2 weeks from my original call). The guy I spoke to this time told me he would check to see why I hadn't received my packaged yet, acknowledged that it shouldn't take over a week, and someone would call me right back with a tracking number. So I waited and waited...I'm still waiting for someone to call me back! Lucky for me I finally received my package that Thursday but it said it hadn't been mailed out until that Monday. Therefore, they lied to me multiple times and had I not persisted, I probably would have never received my clothes. I understand I'm the one who left my personal items but if I'm paying for a service, I shouldn't need to wait 3 weeks and worst of all, no follow-up about the progress.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbreid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMac54, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you expereienced as a guest of our hotel. The amount of time it took for us to return the items you left was entirely too long, I agree. More disturbing is the apparent lack of response from a member of our staff.
I assure you I will discuss this issue with the parties involved to ensure that a prompt, forthright and courteous response is always offered to our guests.
I'm glad we did finally retrieve and return the items, but again apologize for the process. This is certainly not the level of guest service we strive to attain at this hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 893 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I travel a lot and I never write reviews, but this time I had to. The hotel manager John Jones was quite possibly the rudest hospitality worker I have ever ran across. He was vert negative and confrontational every time we interacted. I was there for a BAsketball tournament with my entire family and this guy was running the place like a prison. The front desk staff was inconsiderate and non caring. The entire experience felt like a "who cares how your stay is with us". I would recommend at all cost to stay anywhere else other than this dump. The rooms were marginal and there was an odd odor in the entire hotel. This is a shame since this tournament brings in quite a bit of revenue for this Hotel. The entire group will be staying some place else next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mookie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMac54, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your comments relative to the problems you incurred as a recent guest of our hotel. I know that this was a busy weekend with many different groups staying for different reasons. While we never wish to be restrictive or "police" our guests, we do need to provide a comfortable and relaxing environment for all. That said, we never wish to be perceived as rude or inhospitable.

I sincerely apologize that Mr. Jones came across in that manner. We strive to provide excellent guest service to all of our guests. We appreciate and look forward to the basketball tournament each year and enjoy hosting the families. I am sorry that you do not wish to return, and hope that you will reconsider. In any event we will use your comments and experience to provide additional guest service training for our management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for 1 night, did a mini road trip with a friend who had never been to Jefferson City, boy I was so embarressed to even stay there, front desk staff were rude and VERY unfriendly! They did not converse with us at all or offer any information about the area.
Our room was old and smelly, carpet was buckled and the bathroom was awful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LebanonMOLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMac54, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

I am truly sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with our hotel. I was very dismayed to read your concerns, but a little less so when I realized that your stay was last September. Since that time, we have made some very positive changes here at the Capitol Plaza Hotel.
All of our 255 guest rooms have been renovated. New carpet, drapes, softgoods and artwork have transformed our rooms into a clean and contemporary look.
I hope that your characterization of our Front Desk staff is not a reflection of the current team we have there. Our new Front Office Manager has been working hard to recruit, train and motivate a team of caring hospitality professionals.
Again, I do apologize that your stay in the hotel was not satisfactory, however I do hope you will give us another opportunity to provide exemplory service to you at some future date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel was safe. Their was ample parking. The room was rustic and weathered. The hotel bar was dirty. The location was great. If you can't get a room at the DoubleTree and you need to be downtown doing business at the State Capitol, the location is convenient (and there are very limited options in Jefferson City).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PositiveEnerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was here for a business conference in late Jan., and was rather dreading it. I had worked in Jeff City years before, and would occasionally attend events here. I recall it as dark and rather dingy.

No more! It's brightened up quite a bit; the indoor waterfall is a nice touch. My room was clean and quite comfortable. Even the food -- we had a catered breakfast, lunch and dinner -- was very good, which was unexpected because hotel food is, let's face it, often abysmal. There wasn't even a problem with wi-fi.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Capitol. God knows there's little else to see in Jeff City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neal f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for DOC job training, and was very skeptical after reading numerous bad reviews. I was pleasantly surprised once I checked in. The rooms are nice and updated. Free wifi and very nice pool and exercise facilities are included. There is a restaurant inside the hotel which serves good food. A nice place to stay while in Jefferson City!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bulldogmom1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here on a Monday night in January. Wow this hotel is dated. I see from other's reviewers comments and the managers reply that they are almost complete with the renovation. I hope that is not the case. My bathroom looked like it was from the 60s or 70s and you could especially tell that the grout was dirty. Also the front desk staffed seemed to be "inconvenienced" to check me in and I never received a greeting from the rest of the staff. The restaurant waiters were non-attentive and it took over 30 minutes to get our food at lunch in an empty restaurant, but there was one female staff memeber at the bar who was quite helpful with getting drinks (thank you!). I would like to hear from management on what the renovation will entail and when it will be complete before I decide if I will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twb311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
#1 of 13 in Jefferson City
536 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jefferson City at Capital Mall
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Jefferson City
Comfort Suites Jefferson City
#10 of 13 in Jefferson City
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City

Address: 415 W McCarty St, Mo., Jefferson City, MO 65101-1537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Price Range: $92 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Missouri's capital city and experience its rich history and great entertainment options. Enjoy first-class accommodations in recently renovated guest rooms appointed with all the comforts of home, including wireless Internet access, luxurious new bedding, and USA Today available complimentary Monday through Friday. With six room types to choose from, you'll find the ideal accommodations to meet your needs - whether you're in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Jefferson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing