We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I had Known...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish I had Known...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2007

I am currently staying here because of a convention, and I had high hopes considering previous reviews. I called the hotel twice, first to make the reservation and then to confirm it. In both instances the staff was rude and unwilling to help when I asked questions. Though the conference started at noon they had no leniency with letting people check in early ( some of whom had traveled many hours to get here). When we were allowed to check in the person behind the desk didn;t bother saying anything, AT ALL, except that she needed my credit card. She didnt even tell me which room i was in (though it was written on the slip). One of the people in the conference was told that her room was not ready (even though it was way past 3).

To top it off, the entire hotel is currently being renovated and painted, so there were workers everywhere and paint fumes that can be smelled in the rooms...some of the people have been forced to put towels under their doors. The workers have also left a mess beyond anything ive EVER seen at a construction site, so there is absolutely no nice atmosphere.

Also, if after all this you still decide to go here-be careful about the price you reserve your room-I talked to one lady today who was told the price had changed when she checked in, despite confirming the price/dates twice before.

I wish I had known ahead of time it was like this-there are a lot of hotels in jefferson city way below what I am paying that i am sure at least some are nicer. The Days inn is also bad, but its much better than this and about half the price. GOOD LUCK IF YOU CHOOSE TO COME HERE-WAIT UNTIL THEY ARE FINISHED REMODELING.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank coconutkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    212
    142
    89
    59
See reviews for
92
59
24
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2007

JQ Hammons usually has nice hotels, but his one leaves a lot to be desired. The lobby looks nice but the rooms are old and the hotel has a funny smell.

The rooms were fairly clean, but the hotel lacked certain amenities that travelers become spoiled by. NO FREE WIFI--it cost $9.95 per day.

If there is a reception/convention at the time of your stay, the receptions are is in the foyer area and it will be extremely loud. If you can stay 5 miles down the road at a brand new Comfort Inn and Suites. The prices are about the same, but the Comfort Inn is spotless, quit, has free wireless internet and free continental breakfast. The only downfall is that it’s about 5 miles out of the way.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank djd175s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jefferson City hotels

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a short business trip. I think I paid something like $79 which is a steal. Super clean, very friendly staff and very convenient off of the highway. WiFi in the room was a plus for a hotel of this cost.

Don't know that I'd want to spend a vacation there, but this is a great place for the business traveler.

  • Liked — Cheap and good value
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ScipioAfricanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

I spent much of the summer staying at the Capitol Plaza. The staff is pretty friendly and the environment is pleasant enough. I stayed there because it was very convenient to my client across the street. I didn't need to drive and had a 5 minute commute from my room to the customer.

The pricing of the rooms was reasonable and the room appointments were nicer than others in Jefferson City. Two weeks they gave me an upgrade to a Jr. Suite because of my regular business.

My biggest complaints about the hotel involve the restaurant and hotel upkeep.

The food at the restaurant was just awful. Only the hamburgers were good. The bar was nice and friendly.

As far as upkeep, they need some quality control. For instance, there are still signs outside the elevators for a hotel coffee shop that hasn't existed in years. Additionally, some rooms had threadbare furniture.

Basically, the Capitol Plaza is a late 20th century building needing a little upkeep, but still nicer than other places in the area.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Internet problems and the restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heart of America
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

I stayed at the Capitol Plaza for a convention. They have great facilties.

Almost all the meals were included in the registration fee, so I ate a lot of banquet food. It was all surprisingly good. This was a convention of about 400 people. The buffet lines moved quickly. The food was hot. There was plenty of food.

My room was the average hotel room. Nothing special, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

There was always a long wait for the elevators. There are only two elevators. There are stairs. SInce my room was on the second floor, I used the stairs.

There was plenty of parking. They have a parking lot and a garage under the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Honest_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

Hotel was clean, well appointed and comfortable. Only complaint I can offer was that the heating system wouldn't cool the room. On it's lowest setting it was still luke warm.

  • Liked — Clean and comforatble
  • Disliked — Heating system
  • Tips/Secrets — Take time to look for most competitive rate.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2006

I have stayed at the Capitol Plaza each July since 1995 for an annual conference. The property has shown a noticable decline over the past 3 years or so. There has been some nice updating of the facility , but overall, the hotel is not showing solid management, maintenance, or attention to detail.

The place is just pretty banged up and lacks polish. The towels are very cheap...you can see through them. The the beds are of entry level quality as is the bedding in general. Very frustrating to not have a business center available to check email ($10 will give you access to the internet!!) BOOO!! Even the Super 8 provides free email access.

In addition, there were bugs (alive and dead) noted throughout the building.

It all appears to be management issues.....that's too bad.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Taboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Capital Inn
#1 of 13 in Jefferson City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson City
Days Inn Jefferson City
#5 of 13 in Jefferson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Jefferson City
Comfort Suites Jefferson City
#10 of 13 in Jefferson City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
Address: 415 W McCarty St, MO., Jefferson City, MO 65101-1537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Missouri's capital city and experience its rich history and great entertainment options. Enjoy first-class accommodations in recently renovated guest rooms appointed with all the comforts of home, including wireless Internet access, luxurious new bedding, and USA Today available complimentary Monday through Friday. With six room types to choose from, you'll find the ideal accommodations to meet your needs - whether you're in town for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Jefferson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing