We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Capital Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Jefferson City
Certificate of Excellence
White Hall, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Through my work travel I find myself staying frequently at this hotel. It is beautiful both inside and out. The cleanliness of the rooms, the great customer service and friendliness of the staff rates a 5 with me. One of my favorite features is the attention to cleanliness, they even provide special TV remotes that are able to be sanitized between guests. I have worked in healthcare since 1978, this tiny feature can be so important to hygiene and health. If passing through Jefferson City, MO I would encourage you to choose this hotel for your overnight stay. Grab a fresh baked chocolate chip cookie as you register also, they are delicious!

Room Tip: I would also like to add that the indoor pool is equipped with a handicap chair lift. When travelin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    86
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
112
77
16
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stopped here on the way home from Eureka Springs AR with three other couples and were amazed at how nice it is. The rooms are huge, nice, clean, the pool was great, chocolate chip cookies and Douwe Egberts coffee awesome...we hope to return here and just spend a couple of nights we like it so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a treat it was to stay at this hotel for two nights! The gal checking us in was pleasant and helpful. Our room was beautiful & large. It had a big bathroom with high counter, outlets everywhere, free WiFi, huge TV with many channel choices, big desk area, good lighting, couch, chair and coffee table. We travel a lot, and really were impressed. There were two night stands on each side of the King size bed. We felt like we were in a 5 star hotel! Breakfast was nice & free. The breakfast room was large and the staff made sure food did not run out. We didn’t feel crowded. The parking lot had good lighting and we felt safe. The only complaint we had was that the small frig did not work very well. They said they will take care of it. We used this as a base to do some sightseeing. Jefferson City is in a very pretty area. One night we ate at Oscar’s Classic Diner. That was nice. We did a free tour of the capitol. Check out the National Cemetery in town. Warm Springs Ranch where the Budweiser Clydesdales are bred is about 90 minutes away. That was the highlight of our trip to Missouri.

Room Tip: Ask if the frig is working in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room is spacious, always clean and the little breakfast is a nice addition to our stay, we have stayed there 3 times al ready and we are planning to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I want to start by echoing what some of the other people said - I'm just blown away by the fact that this is a Best Western. If you just went by the feel of the place, it seems much more like a Hilton or a Sheraton.

Check in starts in a nice lobby (with free cookies!) and a very friendly receptionist. I had a pre-paid reservation so I gave her my name, she gave me my key at that was it - super fast. She did take a minute to explain to me the perks though - pool, hot tub, free breakfast.

The rooms themselves are huge! You've got a decent size bathroom, sitting area and then the bed / desk area. Free wi-fi. Huge TV (mine wouldn't turn on at first but a quick check of the plug in the back of the TV showed that the maid must have moved the TV and the plug came loose). One of the best TV line ups I've ever seen in a hotel - they had Comedy Central even and that is hard to find! Quite a few HD channels. The bed itself was good, nice sheets. I didn't use the sitting area but I could see holding a small (3-5 people) meeting there or using it for a place for the kids to sprawl out. The shower was good and the tub was actually nice enough that I felt comfortable taking a bath - some of those older hotels make me a bit leery of soaking. Plenty of counter space.

I would say the only drawback to the room was the AC. It was 95 when I was there and the AC was more than capable of handling that! It was a super freeze type. The problem was, the room really is huge. So you've got super AC on one side, making icicles, and the thermostat on the other side. The bed area would get to be freezing and the thermostat was still registering that it had a few degrees left to go. It wasn't too big of a deal for me, I left the AC on during the day to drop the temp of the room and then just turned it off when I got in for the evening, but if you were going to be in the room a lot, I'd recommend asking the staff for some sort of fan to circulate the air and a winter blanket for sleeping.

I didn't get a chance to try the pool area but it looked very clean and never too crowded. I did the breakfast one morning and it was good. Better than a lot of hotels, not as good as if you went out and paid for a nice restaurant. It was free and filling though, always nice :)

The maid situation was interesting. I don't like people in my room (I'm not worried about theft - I just really don't need a stranger folding my dirty underwear) so I always leave out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. After the first day I got a note under the door saying that they honored my request but their policy was to clean every other day so they'd be in the next day. I called the front desk, told them I really didn't want that and they did honor that. On my last day, I noticed a second door hanger on the desk which could be used to specify the exact level of cleaning you wanted, including what time you wanted it. Seems like a great idea and I assume if you filled that out on your first day, you wouldn't even need to call the front desk.

The hotel does share its large parking lot with a KFC if you wanted to get some quick dinner. Across the highway are several other restaurants - Country Kitchen, Perkins, Culvers, McDs. Or, if you leave the hotel and head back towards the highway but make a right at the light, there is a strip mall about half a mile up with Chinese, Mexican (great food!), pizza and Rolly Poly. I had hoped to walk to the Mexican place so I could have a margarita but there were no sidewalks anywhere.

All in all, I've been recommending this hotel to all my colleagues that travel to Jeff City on a regular basis. It's super cheap, convenient location with those little extra amenities that help it really stand out in a good way!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanM223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose this location as a stop-over on a long trip. The Mrs. didn't want to leave. Staff was great, room was just right and they serve the best quality breakfast I've seen in a long time.

Room Tip: Looking for a quiet location, easy access to highway, and everything you could need for an overnigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candyman5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

When we got there, they gave us a room that hadn't been cleaned yet... At this point, we should have known that $100 was way too much for this place. We got a clean room after their blunder and suited up to get in the pool. It was filthy. I am an avid diver so I am used to a little dirt at the bottom of the pool... The water was so murky, I could hardly see even with goggles. Pools are obviously a big deal to me so this kind of ruined our time in Jeff City as it's a pretty boring city... Swimming was supposed to be the fun part.
The rooms: actually very decent. The only negative thing would be the bed. It was so uncomfortable I had trouble sleeping. The shower, however, was great. It was one that you could adjust the settings. I picked the rain drops:)
Lastly, the breakfast. Let's just say to sum to sum up: Free continental breakfast= Plan on eating elsewhere. Yuck.
If for some ungodly reason I have to travel to Jefferson City again, we will be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DareU2Move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCapitalInn, Manager at Best Western Plus Capital Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for leaving your candid review. I apologize for you being checked into an unclean room. Our staff works hard to provide award-winning cleanliness for guests, so there must have been a mistake when turning rooms clean.

We are proud of our quartz-lined salt water pool and have never seen an instance where our indoor pool has been murky.

All our beds are newer high-quality Simmons Beauty Rest with Health Smart tops. I understand mattress firmness is a personal preference and ours do lean more towards the firm side.

I know breakfast is also very personal to many people. We prepare our scrambled eggs and hash browns every day without salt and pepper to best accommodate guests that cannot consume certain seasonings; therefore, we offer salt and pepper on the tables for guests to season to their taste. We hope that our variety of other breakfast options may suit tastes of those not wanting the scrambled eggs, hash browns or sausage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jefferson City hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jefferson City
2.2 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Jefferson City
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Jefferson City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jefferson City
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jefferson City
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jefferson City
Days Inn Jefferson City
#7 of 13 in Jefferson City
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Capital Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Capital Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Capital Inn
Address: 1937 Christy Drive, Jefferson City, MO 65101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Jefferson City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jefferson City
#1 Family Hotel in Jefferson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Capital Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Capital Inn received the 2014 Certificate of Excellence for being one of the top-performing 10% of all businesses worldwide on TripAdvisor. This award is given to businesses that consistently earn high ratings from TripAdvisor travelers. In addition, the Best Western Plus Capital Inn has received the Best Western brand's highest award, the M.K. Guertin Award. The prestigious M.K. Guertin Award is presented to those member properties that have best represented the vision of Best Western's founder and demonstrated exceptional levels of service, quality, value and commitment to the brand. The award-winning Best Western Plus Capital Inn is as a non-smoking all suite-style hotel. All guest rooms feature plush bedding, seating area with a love seat, lounge chair and coffee table, built-in microwave and refrigerator, 42" HTDV, large bathrooms with massage shower heads and granite counter tops, and in-room coffee. The Tuscan-themed hotel has a large, welcoming lobby, spacious breakfast room, complimentary newspaper, and 24-hour coffee bar. Other amenities include a full (and free) hot breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, business center, and free wired & wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. Enjoy the full hot breakfast each morning with scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, fresh waffles, biscuits & gravy, yogurt, fruit, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Capital Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jefferson City
Jefferson City Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing