We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go at off times...but go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Dairy

Central Dairy
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Jefferson City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Go at off times...but go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are new to Jeff City or just passing through, Central Dairy is a must. Attached to the edge of the dairy "factory", the storefront is well-stocked with the best ice-cream I know about other than Braums (which we don't have in northern Missouri). My kids and I recently visited in early February and we got a seat with no problem. Now, that won't be true when warmer weather hits! Central Dairy is a REAL old-fashioned ice cream shop, with a long counter on the wall and one row of wooden seats along the window. That's it. The era is a little before my time, but nostalgic all the same. My kids love going there and the prices are great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank formykids135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    59
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Saint Louis, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went here because of the rave reviews of this place. First off we couldn't even find a place to sit. It is way way too small to accommodate all the customers that frequent this place and some patrons had to stand or sit in their cars. Now if you like Crown Candy Kitchen's (located in North St. Louis City) ice-cream, you'll like this place's ice-cream. I don't care for either place's ice-cream. I prefer creamier ice-cream and the ice-cream here lacked that. I had to mark 'poor' for 'Families with Children' down below because if you have small kids, and can't even sit down, that's neither good nor comfortable for a family (especially if they brought a baby.) Neither one of us thought they had good ice-cream, but however the people behind the counter were nice and they do provide free self serve water which is good and the value is also good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherF592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Shakes for the Budget Minded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Central Dairy is one of those "hometown" places that you must get to when in Jefferson City. The soda fountain takes you back into the 1950's era and the prices are super low. Two huge scoops of ice cream for $2, monster shakes for $5, and sundaes at give-away prices. Oh, by the way, the ice cream is incredible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Oh boy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is a local landmark and it is easy to see why. Like a step back in time with mounds of ice cream at very reasonable prices. Just wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckd1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Historic Ice Cream Parlor Blends Charm of the Past with Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Central Dairy is known far and wide as "the" ice cream parlor. In fact, while traveling, I've even had people mention it when they found out where I was from. Central Dairy still delivers milk to your home if you subscribe. I remember as a child getting the milk out of our milk box on the porch twice a week. Their ice cream is the best. They still have the original seating in the parlor too and it is still owned by family that started it many, many years ago. Stop by and you'll be glad you did.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Dairy also viewed

 
Jefferson City, MO
Jefferson City, MO
 

Been to Central Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing