We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best little Italian restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Guiseppe

Trattoria Guiseppe
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Imperial
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best little Italian restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Where else can you have the owner/cook come out and say "Thank you for being here"? This is a family owned restaurant that serves the most wonderful meals. The service is great, Grace (Guiseppe's wife) is in charge of the bar and greeting customers, and the food is the best! I love the spaghetti carbonara. My husband prefers the chlcken mudega. Either way, we always take food home. Call for reservations if you're going on a Friday or Saturday night or a holiday. In fact, I would call for reservations any time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaspvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STL, MO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian in a great family restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Absolutely worth the drive! The location is definitely out-of-the-way, but the food makes the journey a non-issue. I have my favorites here, of course, but I have yet to try anything that's not amazing. Guiseppe, the owner, does double duty - working in the kitchen and then coming out to personally greet all of the guests at the restaurant. Chances are his wife, Grace, will greet you as you walk in with a big smile. The atmosphere is very friendly and the food is as authentic as it gets outside of Sicily. The portions are generous and well-priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chel-belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hill, MO
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We have been there several times now and it is always delicious. The last time our service was a little below average but that happens. Believe it or not, making reservations is a good idea, they are generally full.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pgrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best this side of the Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This is a hidden treasure. Don't be turned off by the facade. Go inside for a taste of Sicily. Tutti Mare to die for.

Helpful?
Thank Gjm1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Italian cusine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

When you walk in the door you inhale the smells of Italy. The waitresses are friendly and on the ball. Kim our waitress was very helpful in explaining the food choices. The food we had was so great. The egg plant parmesan was just like my grandmother's and the sauce was simply perfect. The onion soup was as good as Famous Barr's if not between. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the lemon butter sauce was excellent. Salad was great and portions are way more than enough to fill you. This a must try if you are in MO.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwahby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Guiseppe also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Guiseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing