We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Manfredi restaurant - lovely break away from Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Killcare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Manfredi restaurant - lovely break away from Sydney”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is our third stay at Bells. My husband and I love coming primarily because of the divine Manfredi restaurant. And it's lovely to stay in one of the rooms and walk through the beautiful European inspired gardens to dinner and stumble back home again.

It is an idyllic spot. Really quite a gem in the otherwise rather uninspiring Central Coast. The area abounds in natural beauty - Bouddi National park and stunning beaches - but it's a bit of a desert for good places to stay or eat - which is a pity bearing in mind it's proximity to Sydney. very easy for overnight trip though Bells have minimum of two nights at w/e unless you are prepared to wait until very ast minute and take a room if they have one left. Which isn't very often!

We prefer the one bedroom studio. Don't like the two storey cottage so much as you're a long way from the bathroom. Plus we like to sleep with windows open at night and no screens on the upstairs bedroom configuration as only a door. The standard room has windows with screens. I got bitten by a mozzie in JUNE would you believe staying in the
two storey cottage. (2 storey config is nice I guess if you like more space and a separate bedroom from living area.)

We were a bit worried when Bells doubled the number of rooms how it would be, whether it would lose its quirky charm and personal feel but they've managed it well.

It's not cheap but it is very special one off place and as such presents good value. We'll be back!

It's certainly not cheap but it's pretty

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    91
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
233
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were looking for a nice place to stay for a weekend away from Sydney! There are not many real resorts around Sydney but we found this place via Tripadvisor.

Booking:
We looked at the hotels' own website and after finding the right accommodation for us we called Bells directly. Originally the policy is to have a minimum of 2 stays, but as availability was there, they were happy to offer accommodation for just 1 night (Saturdaynight). On the phone we also made booking for a table for 2 in the restaurant and a Couple's spa session.
A first payment was done over the phone via creditcard.

Check In:
We arrived around 12h30 at the hotel and although the website states 3PM check in, they were happy for us to take occupation of our room. I even believe we had been upgraded as for the room we booked was only supposed to have a rainforest shower.. our actual cabin had a great bath as well.

Accommodation:
We were given the keys of our cabin plus instructions how to get on and off the property, spa location and pool.
The cabin we got was perfectly appointed. Especially the (gas) fireplace with the loveseat in front of it was fantastic. It was a cold day, but we were able to warm up the room really fast.

The bed was good, nothing special.

The outside private courtyard was nice, with a daybed. Where my wife loved the heat of the fireplace I enjoyed reading a book outdoors. The bathroom was well detailed with a great bath (Bathsalt provided!!) and shower.

Dinner:
I love Italian and the Italian food at the restaurant has a wide range.
We had a booking for 8pm and upon our arrival guided straight to our table.
The menu was very broad, the service friendly and casual. This could have been a bit more passionate though.


Breakfast:
We arrived at the breakfast buffet. Although the food available on the buffet tasted really fresh, it is really really limited.. For travellers who have been at the big hotels,, dont expect to much here.
My wife offered a mushroom which was well prepared, but be aware that cooked items will be added to the bill (My wife didnt notice there were price tags printed behind the items on the menu)


Surroundings:
The surroundings are beautiful, we had lunch on the beach, walked across some cliffs, enjoyed the great nature surroundings by foot and by car.. This is the destination you travel for.

Check out:
Check out was swift, correct and very friendly.

Overall:
We definitely plan to return. For Australian standards this is really part of the top of the market, internationally it is a different picture. It is a friendly warm environment with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: We were there on a Saturday night which coincided with a wedding party going on in the mainbuilding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vastgotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our stay at Bells was extremely disappointing. We had been looking forward to our long weekend for some time. We were given the keys to our room and left alone

This was to be the theme of our stay, it felt like we were renting a cabin in a holiday park vs staying as part of the resort. When we did venture to the main building for breakfast, we were presented with 3 pieces of fruit some small pastries and some bread and Jams...hardly a buffett. If you wanted eggs, you had to order off the menu. For the money we were paying we expected far far better

I have stayed in numerous hotels around Asia and am always impressed by the level of service and care that is provided. We felt as though the hotel management did not even know that we were staying there and had broken in for the weekend!

We felt Ignored, underfed and very very unhappy. We had panned originally to return but have no intention of doing this until things change drastically and they realise that for $650 a night you have to do a little bit extra for your clients

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We were so dissapointed to hear of your unhappy stay at Bells. We pride ourselves on our service and genuine care for our guests and we are so sorry that you felt ignored. My husband and I are at the property daily and we would have happily, personally attended to any of your needs. Our guests often comment on how much they love the privacy of there own cottage removed from the main reception and restaurant but I do undertand that this style of property does not work for you. In relation to our breakfast at our restaurant Manfredi at Bells, the continental buffet includes all our pastries and breads baked daily each morning, house made granola, a selection of organic cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruit, organic juices, housemade preserves and unlimited Espresso di Manfredi coffee.
Please contact me personally if you would like to visit us again and I will make sure that you are looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Bells is a little piece of heaven!! It is so beautiful and relaxing from the moment you drive in. Everything is so well done, the cabins (loved the fire place set up ready to go!!), the surroundings, the main house, the restaurant. Lots of little areas and beautiful beaches to discover not far away (Hardy's Bay, Avoca). A great getaway!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxbutsensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Ok, so this is my second review and being in the hospitality game, I would regard myself as a tough marker. But Bell's at Killcare is a delight. Just a beautiful property located in a beautiful place. The staff are attentive and friendly. The restaurant is brilliant. I didn't quite make it there, but my wife tells me that the Day Spa was exceptional. The rooms are luxurious and there was simply nothing else that I can think of that would have enhanced the experience, that wasn't provided. I have seen hotel rooms in the city that are the same size as the bathroom at Bell's.
We were there for three nights, but because of how well this property does things, it felt like much longer.

Room Tip: Our Villa seemed as though it was newly built but I assume all rooms are up to a similar standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_QuestManly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights (Sat and Sun) recently on our first 'no kids' weekend away in over two years so were very excited. It was nice, but I wouldn't say it was fantastic.

The grounds were beautiful, well manicured, peaceful etc. The decor was also lovely and the feel was very relaxing. We ate in the restaurant and had the Sunday night special 4 course degustation. The food was great and my only complaint is that the courses all came out in very quick succession - we finished the degustation in just over an hour from when we walked in, not enough time to enjoy, or even digest and as a result, we barely touched our desserts. Breakfast was great and what was included was ample, although the hot menu was very tempting so we did order extra.

Next time I will also ask to be in a different room. We were in room 7 which was very dark as it was sandwiched between two other rooms and only really had one small window that was private. The kitchen and bathroom windows overlooked a pathway so were not only not private but there were kids running around who were obviously dining at the restaurant at lunch and had made their way through the bushes that separate the lawn from the cottages. It was also obviously one of the older rooms and the bathroom was large and spotless but not as modern as it could be. Lastly, previous occupants had obviously used the fire (despite the warm weather) and each time we entered we were overwhelmed by the smell of smoke, with a lack of windows, it was hard to ventilate.

I am definitely nitpicking but for this price, I need to. We will definitely stay here again (if the grandparents will babysit), all the staff we encountered were fantastic and friendly, the room and main house were spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable and we had a great relaxing child free weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwhi6106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Recently stayed here for one night in a King Spa Suite. The "cabin" was comfortable, beautifully appointed and very clean. We were able to light a fire due to the recent cool weather. It was all very cosy and restful. The toiletries in the bathroom smelt divine. The grounds were well maintained.
Highly recommended for a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killcare
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kims Beachside Retreat
#1 of 1 in Toowoon Bay
307 reviews
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
642 reviews
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa

Property: Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa
Address: 107 The Scenic Rd, Killcare, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Killcare Bells)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Killcare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Killcare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa is a luxury coastal retreat with an authentic regional restaurant. Situated high on the NSW Bouddi Peninsula and surrounded by untouched Bouddi National Park and many secluded and pristine beaches, Bells at Killcare is just a 90-minute drive north of Sydney's CBD and offers exclusive and private coastal style cottage accommodation. Guests can relax by the 20 metre lap pool or enjoy a signature treatment in the delightful Bells Day Spa. Arrive by seaplane, helicopter, ferry or car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bells at Killcare Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells At Killcare Hotel Killcare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing