We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Tassie Scallop Pie”

Richmond Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Richmond Beakery is a well established business, providing quality products using traditional methods to local, interstate and overseas tourist market as well as our regular customers on a daily basis, 364 days a year (closed Christmas Day only). Opening hours 7.30am to 5pm daily.We have the best pies in Tassie,gourmet sandwiches and salad rolls with an extensive range of cakes, slices, pastries, served with great coffee or from one of the many teas. Select from a large range of bread to take home.A visit to Richmond is not complete without a visit to the Bakery.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Superb Tassie Scallop Pie”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Made a detour to Richmond town for a break on our trip to the wildlife centre nearby, and was attracted by this cosy local bakery to stop for a snack. The setting, ambience and even counter service reminded us of the renowned Maid of Honour Bakery at Kew Garden of Richmond in London. Indeed, the two localities of the same name across the oceans bear amazing resemblance in their British sub-urban environment and feel.

To our delight, the bakery offered the Tassie specialty of scallop pie which we hastened to order one to try, and it was so delicious that we quickly went for another. As one reviewer pointed out, the pie was stuffed with some half a dozen scallops nicely matched with tasty curry cream. Indeed, the scallops were bigger and more fresh than those served at seafood restaurants we had tried.

Reasonably priced and relaxing in setting, the bakery is clearly popular in the local community and surely a place not to be missed if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    171
    58
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Time for a makeover”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Needs some atmosphere beyond fluro lighting and Baker's Delight fit out. Nice garden though and my partner devoured a chocolate eclair in 10 seconds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great pies!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Decided to check this bakery out after wandering around Richmond for a couple of hours. Decided today was the time to try a renowned Tassie scallop pie...I was not disappointed. My pie had at least 6 scallops with roe attached...it was almost stuffed with them...& was absolutely delicious. My husband had a beef pepper pie which he says was one of the best he has had. This bakery is in a great spot with seating outside & under the trees...the service is quick & the staff very pleasant...& they were also having to deal with many Americans from a cruise ship so were extremely busy...& still they made time to answer our questions. Would definitely go back again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jotibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good bakery”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good bakery, in the middle of this picturesque town & not far from the goal. Had a great quiche & catered somewhat to vegetarians like me. My husband Loved his pie, some type of meat, I wouldn't know :) Pretty pricey as it's such a touristy area but nice places to sit indoors & outdoors & run like a precision operation. Recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carebear79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Delicious food served with a smile. A little pricey but not too bad. Lots of parking out the back. We got the chicken and Camembert pie which was unusual and creamy and delicious, and we got the vanilla slice which was creamy with a good crispy pastry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poolandlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Richmond Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing