We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curried Chicken Pie”

Richmond Bakery and Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Richmond Beakery is a well established business, providing quality products using traditional methods to local, interstate and overseas tourist market as well as our regular customers on a daily basis, 364 days a year (closed Christmas Day only). Opening hours 7.30am to 5pm daily.We have the best pies in Tassie,gourmet sandwiches and salad rolls with an extensive range of cakes, slices, pastries, served with great coffee or from one of the many teas. Select from a large range of bread to take home.A visit to Richmond is not complete without a visit to the Bakery.
melbourne
1 review
“Curried Chicken Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came to Tasmania for a school trip and we happened to stop by at this Bakery. Me and my friends all bought the Curried Chicken Pie and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was the best pie we ever had and we would go back just for that Pie.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lollollollol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Richmond Bakery and Cafe, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for your "AMAZING" review of our Curried Chicken Pie. Why not try one of our many other AMAZING pies on your next visit? They are truly all this good.
Kim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    165
    58
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good to know that the manager is on the ball”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Was so good to hear from Kim the manager that he had read out my feedback on tripadvisor to his staff as part of staff training. My husband vowed and declared never to go back after a bad experience but I have gradually lured him back. And thank goodness because now the staff are aware of my experience and it is very unlikely to happen again. On Sunday everything was great except for the cold coffee, but I told the girl it was cold and she put the thermometer in my coffee and found it was only 55 degrees so she remade it no problem - and did it with a smile! So it does pay to mention it if the coffee is cold and they can rectify it rather than put up with cold coffee. Going for coffee and cake to the Richmond Bakery has become a bit of a ritual for our family so it is so nice find a manager who does care about customers. Thank you Kim.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Taj940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Richmond Bakery and Cafe, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Good Morning,
Firstly, thank you for giving us another chance and for your honest review. Although your visit was not faultless, I am pleased to hear that it was a more pleasant one. I was disappointed to hear your coffee was cold but was pleased that you took it back to have it remade.
Our aim is now to improve in all areas to match our rating for food - 5 star. Thanks to your reviews and with ongoing staff (and coffee) training we can only get better.
Kim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My family and I had a great experience with good food for the kids and us parents and were very pleased with the service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was very happy with service and the great tasting foods. My wife and I had a great tasting curried scallop pie. Very happy with everything and will be going back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackson--1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Richmond Bakery and Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, it was pleasing to hear you enjoyed your food and time at the Bakery.
Curried Scallop Pies are now our number one seller and the feedback we have is amazing. People come from interstate and overseas just for our pies from reviews like yours. Once again thank you for comments and we look forward to welcoming your family back in the near future.
Kim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Richmond in early October ... and the bakery was one of our best finds. Our son is anaphylatic to eggs and nuts. Each time we went to the bakery the ladies were very helpful with finding eggless options for our son ... even making him fresh sandwiches to order even though they were extremely busy! We find that kind of service priceless and we really appreciated their efforts.
And, yes, their pies are sensational. If you have kids (or are young at heart!) they also sell day-old bread to feed the ducks ... not to be missed!
On our last night, we got bread and pies from the bakery, gourmet delights from the Wicked Cheese Company and wine from Pooley Estate ... and had the best picnic ever back in our cottage at the Richmond Barracks.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Richmond Bakery and Cafe, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Bakery. I do recall my staff telling me what a lovely family you were and as our aim is to always try and accommodate any special food intolerances where possible, I was happy to here of your favourable experience. It sounds like you had a lovely time here in Richmond village and made the most of the many products and wines that Richmond has to offer. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kim K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great pie stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We experienced great service, great pies and coffee while in Richmond at the Bakery and Cafe.
We checked out the other restaurants and cafes in the area and they were quite pricey.
But it's about and pies and they were great.
Quant interesting village where you can sit by the Bridge devouring your pies and feeding the ducks. Lovely!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tysontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim K, Manager at Richmond Bakery and Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Tyson,
Great to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Bakery. With so many things to choose from, it would of been a difficult choice.
There are some great spots down by the river viewing the Richmond Bridge with the ducks enjoying your food.
Thank you for your great review and maybe we will see you again one day.
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richmond Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 
Cambridge, Clarence
Richmond, Clarence
 

Been to Richmond Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing