We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was less than nice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anton's Best of Tasmania Pizza, Pasta & More - CLOSED

Anton's Best of Tasmania Pizza, Pasta & More
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was less than nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in Richmond & ordered take out from Anton's. We ordered garlic bread, pizza & lasagne. The pizza was nice I must say. The garlic bread was a couple of slices of brown bread with hardly any garlic butter on it at all, was over cooked & so dry that u could not eat it. The lasagne looked nothing like lasagne, had little to no beef in it & was absolutely disgusting & tasteless to say the least. I cannot believe that in today's day & age of the internet that terrible cooking like this still occurs. Can someone please explain to me why cooks & maybe even chefs don't taste there own cooking before putting it on the menu, because if Anton did, he wouldn't be serving it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Yum Pizzas in Historic Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

On a day trip we visited beautiful Richmond. For lunch we passed by Anton's. Although the interior looks a bit like a fast food chain the food has nothing in common with any fast food.
The pizzas we ordered were really yum and fresh. The owner, a Swiss German, was really friendly and welcoming.
Anton even asks if the clients are happy with the food (that's not happening that often in OZ!) and you pay before you leave.
We can recommend this restaurant and we would certainly eat there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyPerla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh, beautiful scallops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Delicious seafood, perfectly and expertly cooked in several different ways - something to please us all. Atmosphere was a bit like a fish and chip shop, but with a friendly Swedish chef. Not a tablecloth in sight but the perfect way to end a weekend of full-on sightseeing. Thanks!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BestNorWester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Love it and always worth the trip to Richmond. Just make sure to book if you want to eat in. Anton makes some of the best pizza's and pasta you will ever have.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank barb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“tasty pizza- only shop open at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited Richmond in July, so only pub and Anton's were open- but perfect tasty pizzas and salad- no sign of Anton's renown temper that night- very pleasant bloke.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton's Best of Tasmania Pizza, Pasta & More also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing