We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay, but we probably wouldn't stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatcher's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hatcher's Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was okay, but we probably wouldn't stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The manor is in a good position just out of Richmond, so it's very quiet. The manor and farm are getting on a bit, and probably in need of a bit of a revamp. The photos on the website give the impression that there are animals in abundance (which was one of the reasons we picked it). This isn't really the case. Whilst there a few draught horses, a Shetland Pony, Alpacas, and a couple of goats, that's about it.

We stayed in the self contained cottage for four nights. It had everything you would expect for this type of accommodation. Although, the three seater lounge is a sofa bed that sags in the middle and is not very comfortable to sit on. It needs replacing.

If you are looking for the information about office hours, restaurant hours, internet access, and other information you might need to know about during your stay, then you will need to go into the toilet, where it's located on the toilet door!!!

One of the confusing things we found was that according to the information (on the back of the toilet door) they try to be environmentally friendly at Hatcher's Manor. They therefore ask that if you don't want your towels replaced to leave them on the towel racks, rather than leaving them on the floor. We left the towels on the racks, but still they changed them everyday. We even told the lady at the reception that we didn't need them changing, but still they changed them. Her response was, that if she told the cleaner not to change them for our stay, they might not change them for other people staying after us!!!! What was particularly annoying was one day, after being out all day, we found that the cleaner hadn't closed the front door. Hence, anyone could have come in and stolen our possessions.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, so I cannot comment on how good it may or may not be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    101
    36
    25
    62
See reviews for
111
163
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

January 2014
We would not recommend this accommodation, we travel a fair bit all over Australia and after deciding to visit some history in Tasmania we decided to stay some where that might of had some heritage or history (turns out it was built in 1992 or 1996, cant remember) First off after talking to the owner on the phone our agreed arrival time was 1.30pm (we were assured our room would be ready) well the room hadn't even been cleaned, we had to wait 10 min while they put the cleaners through the room for us, what a disgrace, they didn't even clean the bathroom as there were foot prints in the bath/shower, dead blow flies on the carpet and heaps in the window seals along with a dozen or so alive ones in the room buzzing around, even on day 2 the cleaners had still missed a bundle of hair the size of a cricket ball (which I left on the sink for the cleaners as a reminder) TV in the bedroom doesn't have reception, the main bed squeaked with every move we made, so we both had a broken sleep all night, rats or mice in the roof woke us up, on the last day the air con started heating the room instead of cooling and not every room has air con either. The grounds were a disgrace, full of weeds and overgrown, we decided not to eat there as we weren't confident as the owners were the cooks, for us it looked like it was just a money grabbing Motel with no maintenance or upgrades done. And when we booked out the owner couldn't even look me in the eye when I expressed my concerns.....

Room Tip: Yeah don't stay at Hatcher's Manor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very close to Hobart & Richmond is a lovely town to explore. We stayed in the Attic room & is was very cosy & large, very nice for couples. The farm was lovely & the gardens very pretty. The staff helpful & friendly...I will stay here again..

Room Tip: The Attic rom is lovely & very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beautiful location, close to Hobart, very nice town, Richmond. The farm was run down; place needs desperate revamp. Room no. 9 was dirty, no shampoo and conditioner, no iron, no hair dryer, milk, tea, coffee and sugar. We have to ask for everything. No clock, microwave, radio, DVD and CD player, as advertised. There were dead flies around, spider web cobs under glass top coffee table, hairs in the bathroom, dirty sink in the kitchenette. Room was not vacuumed when we arrived, linen scrunch, worn, not ironed and did not look fresh, very noisy people upstairs. Venue has a great potential, but needs to be maintained to good standard. We were overcharged. Sadly big disappointment with all the venue and hospitality. The worse 5 nights during our 12 days stay in Tasmania and the most expensive too. Happily the other 4 accommodations in Tasmania were just fantastic and not such expensive.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid room no. 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ala21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I got married in Sep 2012 in the garden at this manor. It is a beautiful location for photos!!!
The owners are very close to helping their customers.
The best apricot jam / conserve I have ever tasted!!!

Room Tip: Don't go for the disabled unit, unless you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent 7 nights here in sept and found it to be just what we were looking for. We based ourselves here and it was the perfect location to explore southern Tasmania. It was very relaxing and peaceful. Well done to management and staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
12.0 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
13.3 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
12.4 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
12.5 mi away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher's Manor

Property: Hatcher's Manor
Address: 73 Prossers Rd, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatcher's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the many different room types at Hatchers Manor and it should say “Gas Log Fire Heating in some rooms” Also the pink colour of the words , can we change that to another colour. We have many different styles of accommodation suiting tourists, locals, honeymooners and families. All Rooms have: Private Bathrooms. TV & DVDs. King or Queen Size Beds. Self-Contained Kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hatcher's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher`s Manor Hotel Richmond
Hatchers Hotel Richmond
Hatcher's Manor Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing