We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable rustic country charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hatcher's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatcher's Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Adorable rustic country charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

If you want to stay in a 5 star hotel with all the extras this is not for you, but if you are looking for a place full of charm from both the buildings and the owners this is the place to stay!
The owners went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and get us anything we needed. The counrtyside surounding is beautiful and the bulidings represent the beauty of Richmond. Our son loved feeding all the animals every morning. He is still talking about the crazy sheep!
We loved our stay at Hatchers manor and would not hesitate to book to stay again and would highly recomend them to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kido82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    104
    37
    25
    64
See reviews for
114
169
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Macqaurie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Hatchers Manor was a great part of our trip to Tasmania. The room was just outstanding and the resturant meals were fantastic, both price wise and quality. The hosts of the Manor were so friendly and nothing was to much for them. If you needed something they would do their hardest to accomadate you. I would recommonmend Hatchers Manor to anyone going to Tasmania. It was fantasic.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmith1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at the Hatchers Richmond Manor so we could attend my son's funeral.
We chose tthe manor because of the beautiful tranquility that was needed for our sad occasion, somewhere where my family could be together without all the hustle and bustle of town. Its onle a very scenic 15-20 minute drive from Hobart.
We were treated with great compassion and management even allowed us to hold a wake there for my son's funeral.
During our time there we dined- in quite a few times and thoroughly enjoyed the culinary skills of Mrs Hatcher.
I recommend The Manor to everyone.
They have draught horses and they take you on a horse drawn carriage as well.
Loved it will be going back there.

Room Tip: Loved the upstairs downstairs apartments so chic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samburgess43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

My family and I travelled down from Queensland with one coming over from Thailand and occupied a number of the rooms at Hatchers Manor for a few days, May 2011. There were 13 of us for dinner and Jeanette had no trouble catering for the lot of us. The rooms were exactly the same as the photos on their website, and very comfortable. The manor was perfect for our family and its not often you will find the kind of service that the Hatchers provide. They have built the manor from scratch doing a lot of the work themselves and it is a credit to them both. The gardens and Manor on over 100 acres are like an article from Country Homes & Gardens magazine.
The Hatchers are obviously experienced in meeting the needs of different individuals and I can honestly say that it was the kind of hospitality one would only receive from country folk. I don't have a problem with city people but there is a difference.
If you are looking for warm friendly service I can highly recommend Hatchers Manor.
Now if your looking for accommodation in Hobart Hatchers Manor is a very easy 20 minute drive away in Richmond, its also only 20 minutes from the airport and Richmond itself is steeped in history. For a real Tasmanian experience you can't go past it. Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adiburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Our stay at Hatchers Manor was fantastic from start to finish. We found the staff friendly and more then accomodating for all of our needs. Our beautiful room was spotless on arrival, it was serviced daily and our fire was lit on request. The view from our suite was stunning and often included a cheeky pony and cow who our daughter loved feeding apples! (A highlight for her we are sure of!) We enjoyed eating at the restaurant, the service was prompt, all meals were delicious and reasonably priced. The area in which Hatchers Manor is situated, Richmond provided us with many shops and historical features for us to explore. There was so much to see that we have decided that we will have to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Great location, peaceful and great scenery - the couple were nice who ran it and the stay was absolutely fine for a 1 night stopover in Richmond, but just don't expect too much. I have to agree with some of the other reviews regarding the quality of the towels, sheets & toilet paper, the owners could really do with upgrading these to a betere quality, its the small things that make such a big difference. Overall its an ok place to stay for 1 night but no luxuries - if you asked me would I go back, no.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaceyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We with my husband, mum, Dad & a year old son had lovely time. Colin and Jeanette Hatcher were wonderful host, they are quite helping and looked after us very well. If you are nature lover you will love it. Colin and Jeanette must have spend quite a lot of time decorating the place so tastefully. I will surely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug_000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
12.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
13.4 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#33 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatcher's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatcher's Manor

Property: Hatcher's Manor
Address: 73 Prossers Rd, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatcher's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in one of the many different room types at Hatchers Manor and it should say “Gas Log Fire Heating in some rooms” Also the pink colour of the words , can we change that to another colour. We have many different styles of accommodation suiting tourists, locals, honeymooners and families. All Rooms have: Private Bathrooms. TV & DVDs. King or Queen Size Beds. Self-Contained Kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatcher's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatcher`s Manor Hotel Richmond
Hatchers Hotel Richmond
Hatcher's Manor Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing