We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun family historical visit”

Old Hobart Town Model Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$82.89*
and up
Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun family historical visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our visit was enjoyable from start to finish. Warmly greeted by the owner with good information and tips. Miss 6 loved the game she was given and finding the 4 objects in the village gave her a fun focus and bonus sticker at the end. We were there for perhaps 30 minutes to see everything. Not a huge display but highly effective at showing old hobart and comparisons with todays hobart. Great quality of models. If I was to say anything negative I would say it was slightly over priced for the length of stay. $30 for 2 adults and a child. But no regrets, enjoyable visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisparella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    115
    41
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“old hobart town model village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I loved the old hobart town model village it is worth a stop the detail that has gone into all these small buildings along with the people, animals, trees etc was just great, it must have taken them years to build and it is so lifelike of what old hobart town liked like when is was first established as a penal colony, there are also photos of the current building on some hobart landmarks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopernook, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“very cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Not a big display but very well made. Not as intricate as say Cockington Green in Canberra but well done non the less. Look for funny things the 'people' are doing and take the time to look at all the details. To have it set in the old days is an amazing effort by the owner. Well worth a look while in lovely historic Richmond. Visit the Gaol too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shezant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A fun history lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Not only is this an amazing recreation of Old Hobart, with loads of interesting historical information, its also great fun. The figures are funny, and the game to find the four different characters (including Tassie tiger) is amusing. Worth a look if you are in Richmond.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

At $14 per person this is well overpriced. It's well done but I expected a whole lot more for my tourist $. Maintenance costs can't be that high now that it is built.

Helpful?
Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hobart Town Model Village also viewed

 
Richmond, Clarence
 

Been to Old Hobart Town Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing