We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gulliver's travels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Hobart Town Model Village

Old Hobart Town Model Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.61*
and up
Tasmania Sightseeing Pass: See Tasmania Card
Ranked #5 of 22 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Gulliver's travels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very interesting miniature display of old Hobart Town. It was a nice attraction to visit after we had wandered through Richmond. Some young children were pointing out things to their parents and seemed quite enthralled by it all, so it's an attraction for all ages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    114
    40
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Point Cook, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed the detail of the Model Village. We tried to picture the how Hobart is now. The kids enjoyed trying to find the hidden figures.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing - Great Family Outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited with two kids under 10. They loved it as much as we did.

The display was gorgeous and extremely detailed. Well worth the quick drive from Hobart

Helpful?
Thank SimonAJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not suitable for young children.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My 4, 2 & 1 year olds were the least interested in what would have taken years of hard work and effort to build. On a adults point of view some of the story viewing is sad and depressing of the convict times and illustrates the unfair governing back in those times. No my seen. Certainly a lot of detail and the whole concept itself is unique but at $18 for a 10min walk through it was a good choice for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank jse_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“So much effort to recreate old Hobart Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

If you go to Richmond Village then I would recommend a visit. The owner has painstakingly recreated a miniature village of Hobart Town as it was in the 1820s. A little on the expensive side for what it is, but you cannot fault the care and attention that gone into creating this. Access to umbrellas was a nice touch as it was almost 40C when we were there and keeping the sun off was helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbjo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Hobart Town Model Village also viewed

 
Richmond, Clarence
 

Been to Old Hobart Town Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing