We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop winery in the Coal Valley”
Review of Pooley Wines

Pooley Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
$127.74*
and up
Private Richmond Food and Wine Day Trip from Hobart
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pooley Wines is Tasmania's only 3rd generation family wine company. The Pooley family produce award-winning Riesling, Pinot Noir, Pinot Grigio, Sparkling, and Cabernet Merlot blends from their two vineyards in the Coal Valley, southern Tasmania. The Pooley Wines cellar door is located at the heritage-listed Belmont property (circa 1830s) in Richmond. Open 7 days, 10am-5pm (closed Easter Friday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day).
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice wines in a beautiful setting. Was great being able to chat with John during the tasting, which is quite reasonably priced at $5 -which is waived if you buy a bottle, as I imagine most like ourselves would do after having tasted such nice drops. One of our favourite vineyards in the Coal Valley and a must stop destination for those staying in Richmond.

Thank TwoGayNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PooleyWines, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Wines, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Hi Guys,

Thank you for popping in to see us at the Cellar Door and to taste our wines. We really love making them, so it is always good to hear when our guests love to drink them!

We hope you visit us again soon, but until then - happy drinking!

From the Team at POOLEY WINES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cellar door"
in 28 reviews
"pinot noir"
in 16 reviews
"excellent wine tasting"
in 4 reviews
"knowledgeable staff"
in 6 reviews
"tasting room"
in 5 reviews
"sandstone building"
in 3 reviews
"cool climate"
in 4 reviews
"wine club"
in 4 reviews
"wood fired pizza"
in 7 reviews
"great pizza"
in 2 reviews
"old stables"
in 2 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 3 reviews
"third generation"
in 2 reviews
"family owned"
in 2 reviews
"cheeseboard"
in 2 reviews
"bean bags"
in 2 reviews
"nice afternoon"
in 2 reviews
Filter

124 - 128 of 135 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Have been a fan of Pooley Wines but the quality has been raised in recent years. A very welcoming cellar door with consistently great wines. The kids were happy running around outside while we went through the range and service was exceptional. Highly recommend visiting!

1  Thank MastermindTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PooleyWines, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Wines, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you so much for visiting us at the Cellar Door. We are thrilled that you loved your wine tasting experience and that the kids had fun too. It is great to have your feedback. We also hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Tasmania and hope to see you down at the Cellar Door before too long!

Best wishes - The Team at POOLEY WINES

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I had visited the Richmond wine region about six years ago and Pooley's was one that stuck in our memory. We were not disappointed on our recent return.

The wines are incredible, we happily signed up to the wine club and the tasting was warm and friendly. We were invited to sit and chat about our views of the wines and their special vintage was even opened for us to try (we subsequently purchased it). The Pooley's gorgeous cat, Portia wrapped herself around my legs as we chatted and it felt like we were visiting friends.

I would recommend Pooley's as a must see destination whilst exploring Richmond.

1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PooleyWines, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Wines, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Hi Holly,

We are so glad that you loved your return to trip back to POOLEY WINES and that the wines did not disappoint! We always appreciate seeing previous visitors to our Cellar Door and having a great catch up, so it was lovely to see you. Porche is well and and wants to know when you will be back??

From all of us here at Pooleys, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My Husband and I had our wedding booked for March this year. Two weeks out of the wedding we went to Pooley's to see where we would put our decorations.
What we were welcomed with was partially excavated grounds and being told that they were going to have a wine festival in the car park. We were not informed of this festival AT ALL. There was no sympathy and we were told we could have our money back, then were ignored.
Two weeks out of our wedding we had to find a new place to hold everything.
A week later we did receive an apology letter and our money back (along with a bottle of champagne) but with all the stress and heart ache that followed from our visit...I can never recommend Pooley winery for anybody's wedding. I would hate for anyone to suffer what we did.

7  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PooleyWines, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Wines, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience with us at Pooley Wines. We are of course sad to hear your comments. While we strive to produce the best wines we can, we also focus on offering the great service at our cellar door and events that our customers expect. As a working vineyard, some remedial work to our site was an unfortunate necessity in improving our facilities for the benefit of customer experience. While we made every provision to accommodate any unforeseen parking issues that may have arisen, we also endeavoured to offer alternative options where possible, which unfortunately did not match your expectations. For this we do apologise. When the decision was made to cancel the booking, we responded accordingly at the earliest possible moment.

We would like to add that while we do appreciate any inconvenience you still may have felt regarding this, we were fully sympathetic and are glad to hear that your wedding was still a great success and wish you all the best for the future.

Kind regards

All at Pooley Wines”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I visited Pooley Wines on Sunday with 2 friends and it was just wonderful. Greeted by wonderful gardens and amagnificent house, we couldn't help but smile. The tasting was excellent, the lady was very knowledgeable about the wines and very enthusitic. The wines themleves were just wonderful, a lovely range and I am sure something suitable for everyone. If you enjoy a good wine I would highly recomend a visit to Pooley.

2  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pooley Wines also viewed

 

Been to Pooley Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing