We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently wonderful experience at Pooley's”
Review of Pooley Wines

Pooley Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.12*
and up
Private Richmond Food and Wine Day Trip from Hobart
Ranked #8 of 22 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pooley Wines is Tasmania's only 3rd generation family wine company. The Pooley family produce award-winning Riesling, Pinot Noir, Pinot Grigio, Sparkling, and Cabernet Merlot blends from their two vineyards in the Coal Valley, southern Tasmania. The Pooley Wines cellar door is located at the heritage-listed Belmont property (circa 1830s) in Richmond. Open 7 days, 10am-5pm (closed Easter Friday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day).
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful experience at Pooley's”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband and I had visited the Richmond wine region about six years ago and Pooley's was one that stuck in our memory. We were not disappointed on our recent return.

The wines are incredible, we happily signed up to the wine club and the tasting was warm and friendly. We were invited to sit and chat about our views of the wines and their special vintage was even opened for us to try (we subsequently purchased it). The Pooley's gorgeous cat, Portia wrapped herself around my legs as we chatted and it felt like we were visiting friends.

I would recommend Pooley's as a must see destination whilst exploring Richmond.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PooleyWines, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Wines, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Hi Holly,

We are so glad that you loved your return to trip back to POOLEY WINES and that the wines did not disappoint! We always appreciate seeing previous visitors to our Cellar Door and having a great catch up, so it was lovely to see you. Porche is well and and wants to know when you will be back??

From all of us here at Pooleys, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    2
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, do not have your wedding here”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My Husband and I had our wedding booked for March this year. Two weeks out of the wedding we went to Pooley's to see where we would put our decorations.
What we were welcomed with was partially excavated grounds and being told that they were going to have a wine festival in the car park. We were not informed of this festival AT ALL. There was no sympathy and we were told we could have our money back, then were ignored.
Two weeks out of our wedding we had to find a new place to hold everything.
A week later we did receive an apology letter and our money back (along with a bottle of champagne) but with all the stress and heart ache that followed from our visit...I can never recommend Pooley winery for anybody's wedding. I would hate for anyone to suffer what we did.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PooleyWines, Guest Relations Manager at Pooley Wines, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience with us at Pooley Wines. We are of course sad to hear your comments. While we strive to produce the best wines we can, we also focus on offering the great service at our cellar door and events that our customers expect. As a working vineyard, some remedial work to our site was an unfortunate necessity in improving our facilities for the benefit of customer experience. While we made every provision to accommodate any unforeseen parking issues that may have arisen, we also endeavoured to offer alternative options where possible, which unfortunately did not match your expectations. For this we do apologise. When the decision was made to cancel the booking, we responded accordingly at the earliest possible moment.

We would like to add that while we do appreciate any inconvenience you still may have felt regarding this, we were fully sympathetic and are glad to hear that your wedding was still a great success and wish you all the best for the future.

Kind regards

All at Pooley Wines”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine wine in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I visited Pooley Wines on Sunday with 2 friends and it was just wonderful. Greeted by wonderful gardens and amagnificent house, we couldn't help but smile. The tasting was excellent, the lady was very knowledgeable about the wines and very enthusitic. The wines themleves were just wonderful, a lovely range and I am sure something suitable for everyone. If you enjoy a good wine I would highly recomend a visit to Pooley.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
163 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a joy to find such a beautiful property accompanied by great wines and friendly staff. This was a perfect experience from start to finish - expertly managed and a personal touch. The tasting was not rushed and we were offered many styles to sample and savour along with expert guidance. Had never tasted these wines before but they are now a favourite so much so that after we had finished the wines we bought from this visit we sought out more as we travelled sampling the food in Tasmania!
This is not to be missed as it is a head and shoulders above many other similar tastings in Tasmania.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank deborahbC3444RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome here”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We tasted a couple of wines and purchased a 2013 Pinot Gris, which has a distinct note of nashi pear. The pinot noir's are also very good but pricy. We liked the friendly staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pooley Wines also viewed

 

Been to Pooley Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing