We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, owners working on updating park but good all round.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richmond Caravan and Cabin Park
Dural, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location, owners working on updating park but good all round.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not a top notch Tourist Park, but owners are renovating and the cabins are looking great.
We stayed in a powered site, for $30/night, to stay in a place so close to town (within a km) it was fantastic.
Fella at the desk was extremely friendly and cheerful, couldn't fault the service at all.
Facilities great, showers were $1 which he gave us back as change, so I spose u could say our site was $28 a night.
Even whilst renovating, staff were quiet as a mouse so as not to disturb. Very thoughtful I thought.
A great, cheap van park & close to town. No doubt next time we'll be here we'll hardly recognise the place as they are really doing some good reno work.
Recommended, just don't expect the fancy smancy just yet :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEbonyRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
24
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here last week, bloody cold in Tassie but loving it. Having read the reviews I have scene on here I thought it was about time someone gave some honest feedback.
I have stayed here before with the previous owners 18mths ago and what a change has occurred. The new owners are in the process of updating all the cabins - they were luck-lustre last time.( we didn't stay in these this time but got a tour of reno's after asking and telling about our previous stay.) The grounds were well kept and managed. The pool is closed at the moment but it is Tassie in winter, don't think I would be swimming anywhere at the moment. The two new owners are on the older side and hey they both don't smile a lot but are really approachable, friendly and helpful. We had to pay $1 for a shower but really no big deal - cheap compared to others we have stayed at. The toilet blocks are clean if a bit dated and old, but we were told they are to upgraded after the cabins are completed. We will visit again in the next 18mths and will definately be staying in the upgraded cabins.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennyroyal
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Last night after two weeks in Tasmania, Richmond is a beautiful place and our experiences til then had been very good to great. This place is bleak, barren and pretty much awful. From unkempt surrounds, rubbish about to bathrooms that were the pits. We arrived later in the day and as it was for one night decided to stay after having paid $30 and on the advice that the showers were $1 for five minutes. Ultimate was to look for the 'dump station' for vans toilet cassette, advice was to use the waste drain located at all sites and adjacent to water supplies, not sure that meets health regulations. My advice is to go to Cambridge about 14 klms away, far nicer experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a very nicely located site with pleasant rural views over the vineyards opposite and has huge potential. It is only a 15 minute walk from Richmond which is a fine historic town with some lovely shops and tea rooms. It should be a delight to stay here.
However this is probably the worst tourist park I have stayed on in Australia. The managers personality, temperament and work ethic is wholly unsuited to employment in the leisure sector. The place is run down and the cleanliness of the toilets a disgrace. If considering staying here read the other reviews first and vote with your feet.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundthenextcorner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I had the misfortune of staying here last night. I can honestly say that i would not stay here again if they paid me.

Heres what happened:

We spent the day on the west of the island and neither my girlfriend or I was able to get any phone signal.

At around half 7 we got into New Norfolk and rang around a few camp sites to find somewhere to stay for the evening. A gentleman answered the phone here with a very much 'What do you want' kind of tone and my girlfriend very politely asked if they had space for us to stay with a two man tent that evening. The man who she spoke to was a little off and was concerned about us waking other residents if we came (?!?!) Once again she politely reassured him that we would be as quiet as we could and we would be there by half 8 at the very latest. He advised her go ring again when we arrived and he would come and meet us.

Arriving at about 8:20, we did as we were told and rang to advise we had arrived. We could see people inside the house which was attatched to the office and we could hear the phone ringing but nobody answered!!! I walked to the office to see if I could attract any attention but all the lights were off.

There was a sign on the door of the office which said that if you were arriving out of hours and required attention to call the number and hang up and someone would come out to meet you. So again we rang this number and hang up, waited and again nothing. During this time people were looking out of the window at us from the house behind the office, and despite waving to try and attract attention we were once again ignored.

Eventually the man with whom my girlfriend initially spoke came out and bawled 'Do you want something?'. Once again very politely my girlfriend said she had spoken to him and we needed a pitch. After having a go at us for the time we arrived (despite us arriving earlier than we had agreed and him ignoring us) he then had another go at us for not leaving a message on the answer phone- when his instruction had been to just ring, as was the instruction on the door at his office! Despite his complete lack of any kind of customer service skills he had a rather menacing demeanour and were it not for our absolute tiredness and the liklihood of not finding anywhere else to sleep that night I would have driven away there and then.

He eventually showed us where the camping field was - which was a huge field which was completely empty. Therefore making his earlier point about 'disturbing other guests' completely irrelevant.

We found it a real shame that our last night in Tasmania was tainted by this one individual. It is worth noting that everyone else we met during our holiday was charming and helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobertPaulWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived about 5.20pm looking for a powered RV site. We stayed on one that had its on en suite. First impression was there appears to be a lack of maintenance. Price was good and probably says it all. Setting fitted in with everything. The camp kitchen was well presented. What was not pleasant was the male manager. He was nice enough but a bit gruff. The park was full so he may have had one of those days. It came out at the camp kitchen. The large bbq was in full swing as I waited my turn someone noticed the timber panels behind were charring. The people using the bbq pulled it away from the wall and issued some water quenching the char. The manager turns up and say cant you move it. Someone replied they had. The matter was in hand. The issue is one where there is evidence of past charring yet no signs or even some metal placed on the wall to prevent it. Weary travellers probably don't think straight but the reaction of the manager was not good either. Fix it up and smile and thank those who helped out before you arrived. It could have been left burning. The shed is of your design.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank robtwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in an economy cabin, found it clean and comfortable. Great location and peaceful.
We plan to come back when our little ones are older and stay longer, will book a duluxe cabin next time, so we have a little more room for the kiddies.
Very pleased with cost of cabin, very very reasonable for this time of year.

Room Tip: If travelling with family and staying more than 1 night choose duluxe cabin. If a couple economy is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_lisal_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.4 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Beltana Hotel-Motel
#2 of 2 in Lindisfarne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
6.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Hobart
2.0 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Caravan and Cabin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Caravan and Cabin Park

Property: Richmond Caravan and Cabin Park
Address: 48 Middle Tea Tree Rd, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Caravan & Cabin park offers a range of accommodation. It has cabins, campsites, powered and unpowered sites, and powered en-suite sites. Park facilities include a campers kitchen, gas barbeque, half size tennis court, kiosk, games room, playground and swimming pool. The swimming pool is solar heated and is open for use in the warmer months of the year. All cabins are en suited and are fully self contained equip with television, cooking facilities, reverse cycle air conditioning Some Cabins offering double bed and bunks others offering two queen and a single bed, and some with just a double. The Richmond Caravan and Cabin Park is the only Caravan Park in Richmond, Being just only 1km from the centre of town ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richmond Caravan And Cabin Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing