We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Australia journey turned into a vacation at Tara's farm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We usually stay in big hotels when we travel. This time we decided to change the routine. I booked the farmstay online for 4 nights, being a bit nervous if this was the right thing to do.
Tara wrote us a fantastic email, telling us how excited she is to meet us and giving us all kinds of information about the area. Now we couldn't wait to explore Tasmania!
Her farm is easy to find (Garmin took us there) and very close to anything you would possibly need (even an ice cream store in Richmond). The guest suite is very spacious and clean. The beds are comfortable. It has a washing machine!
We loved the outdoor patio. Every evening we had dinner outside. Richmond has a small but well stocked grocer and the grapes for dessert were hanging all around the patio. In the morning, after her famous breakfast, we met Tara to feed the animals. Our five-year-old son loved it.
Tara also offers free, uncomplicated and well-working wifi. Since we never really leave our business behind when we go on vacation, this was great.
If we wouldn't have to fly 23 hours to get to you, Tara, we would be back in a blink of an eye!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiMWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks for your review Rike. We're pleased you enjoyed it here and a little amazed (and delighted too!) that you spent your whole Tasmanian time here. Your little boy was delightful and any time that you are back in Australia - we'd love to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 108 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent a night here, is one of the prettiest and most peaceful places we have ever stayed. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The hosts were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, was a lovely welcome sign at our door. We went on a walk around the property, the kids really loved the very friendly animals. The breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grebsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your short time with us and I hope the rest of your explorations around southern Tasmania are marvellous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The four of us have been touring Tassie for two weeks staying in all sorts of places, and we agree that Tara provided the most comfortable option yet. It was perfectly clean, spacious, well-appointed and welcoming. We definitely recommend it and will stay again if we return to Richmond.
The home baked loaf and home made jams were a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkGibbs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for coming to stay with us. Your review is greatly appreciated. It was great having you stay and maybe next time you'll be able to stay longer and have time to relax and explore the property further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have been stayed for 3 days. It's wonderful, the breadfast is so rich and the bread, the jams which Tara made is so wonderful that I took it on the way and make use of it. Nice accommodation and good fiture with free Wifi which is so great to us. Thanks for being so caring, I'll be back and always introduce to my friend our wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Quiet and peaceful with free WiFi provide. It's wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope next time you'll stay even longer and see more of our lovely state.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

High standard spacious accommodation with everything provided for self catering. Superb breakfast with lovely home baking.Tara is a wonderful hostess very welcoming who showed us all the farm and animals. The farm has good access to the Richmond area and Port Arthur and is also convenient for the airport. Excellent provision for children and relaxing or older couples like us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johns658247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for coming to stay with us whilst in Tasmania. I'm pleased you enjoyed our company, the property and our breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days in early Feb. It's the first time to stay in a farm for us, and we had great time. Kids (even the adult) loved feeding the animals in the morning and fetch eggs... Tara is very hospitable, and we loved the fresh home baked bread every morning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZHEYU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Manager at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for staying. We enjoyed feeding the animals with you all and the excitement on the childrens faces was great to see. We hope you come back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here in January with our 3 kids and had a truly memorable experience. The accomodation is fabulous, very spacious, extraordinarily well appointed (Tara has thought of everything and more!) and super comfortable. Breakfasts were amazing and very generous- loved the home baked warm bread and homemade jams. The kids had a fantastic time feeding the animals, collecting eggs, riding Flossie the horse and playing with Taras gorgeous girls. But the most amazing thing about this farm stay is the heart and soul that Tara puts into this place. Tara is super generous with her time and warmth, sharing herself and her family with us- we truly felt very welcome and part of the family. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frog77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara M, Owner at Taras Richmond Farmstay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for your review and for being great guests. We had a marvellous time with your family and enjoyed sharing our life style with you all for a few days - and especially seeing the children's delight with all their new experiences. We hope you all come again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.9 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
1.7 mi away
Red Brier Cottage
Red Brier Cottage
#8 of 11 in Richmond
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
160 reviews
1.8 mi away
Richmond Coachmans Rest
Richmond Coachmans Rest
#6 of 11 in Richmond
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bridge Cottage
Bridge Cottage
#9 of 11 in Richmond
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taras Richmond Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taras Richmond Farmstay

Address: 31 Ogilvie Lane, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range: $104 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taras Richmond Farmstay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taras Farmstay offers 4 self contained, eco-friendly, clean apartments or family cottages (up to 5 pp). Sugarloaf apartment is wheel-chair friendly with level access and accessible bathroom facilities. Children and pets are welcome. All rooms have cooking facilities, quality bedding and towels, BBQ's, free WiFi and washing machines. Tea and coffee are provided. Located just 30 minutes drive from Hobart, or three minutes from historic Richmond. On a small farm where you can rest and enjoy the peace, or use it as a base for your holiday. Join us feeding the animals - horse, alpacas, chickens, sheep and ducks or explore the farm including orchard, vineyard, olive grove and vegetable garden at your leisure. Admire the views over paddocks to Mount Wellington and surrounding countryside. Local attractions include wineries, Zoo Doo, and Richmond with its history,galleries, cafes and river-bank walks. Central location to Hobart, Port Arthur, East Coast and Derwent Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Taras Richmond Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taras Richmond Farmstay Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing