We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexanders' of Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexanders' of Richmond
Ranked #2 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It was a great way to spend our last two nights in Tasmania, allowing us to explore the local attractions, coming & going as we pleased. With all the privacy, comfort and mod cons you could ask for, not to mention a yummy selection of continental breakfast items. Excellent value for a family of four.
Would suggest removing or dimming the EXIT sign in the upstairs bedroom, as it made for an unsettling night for my girls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Run as a cottage with breakfast included - good value for $150 couple per night. The included continental breakfast is very good and owner Alexander is very friendly and helpful.

Cottage is a very viable option in not-so-cheap Richmond. 5km from town centre in a quiet rural setting on the edge of residential area (a very easy drive or bike-ride, bit longer walk). Easily catering for either single couple, two couples or good for family with school-aged kids (in roomy upstairs). If cold and wet the downstairs bedroom is east (dawn) facing and efficiently heated - offering a nice cosy sleep in a comfortable queen sized bed.

Biggest plus is that the rate is good and the lounge area is large and roomy for 2 or 4 people to easily spread out. Not like some of the alternate accom in town. Kitchen is adequate and has good basic facilities to prepare basic/minor meals. BBQ is available.

Notes:
(1) The cottage is stand-alone and some distance from the main house. So should really be a advertised as a Cottage & B'Fast rather than a B&B.
(2) the other comments in TA are not reflective of our exprience, or those of some 20-odd people who have left very positive comments in the guest book.
(3) Yes - the exit signs are bright but are in the lounge/entry and above the stairs. Do not affect the lower bedroom at all.
(4) We have no problem rating as "very good".
(5) TA site photos are accurate of the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlf_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
445066Alexander, Owner at Alexanders' of Richmond, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. We are just 3kms out of richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent one night here on an extremely windy and cold night in October. The accomodation was adequate but nothing to write home about. The location is a little out of town, set in a rural area quite pleasant. The house is set over two levels, the upstairs open bedroom area was very noisy with the wind and the bright green exit light ( the owner insisted was needed for regulations) even when covered was brighter than a night light and very annoying. Nothing special but worth the money spent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyAustralia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
445066Alexander, Owner at Alexanders' of Richmond, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
On a freezing cold day you arrived at Alexander's andyou were very happy to come into our warm and cosy chalet.Out of the 5 people in your group their was only one person unhappy .You were treated with kindness and civillity and made welcome. It was patiently explained to you about the exit light being there because of the building regulations.The light would not be there if it was not necessary for safety purposes.You slept in a clean and comfortable queen sized bed in a very large room. It is not our fault that it was blowing a gale that night.As always we treated our guests with excellent service and courtesy.sometimes it is impossible to please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Whilst the accommodation was adequate, we were made to pay an extra $30 per night for a 13 month old. We indicated that we required no bed or bedding etc (as we were travelling with a port-a-cot) and they still made us pay. Further to that, for our $30 per night, they did not provide towels, or a bed - the only thing they gave us for the 13 month old was 2 weetbix and a cup of milk - $60 in total!!! Would not recommend this accommodation- nowhere else in Tasmania asked us to pay anything for the 13 month old!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
445066Alexander, Owner at Alexanders' of Richmond, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Breakfast was for each guest:compote of fruit,toast,yoghurt,breakfast cereal,jam,milk,coffee,tea,filter coffee,filtered water.THIS WAS SUPPLIED FOR EVERY GUEST. Four extra blankets.Four extra pillows. Guest had own cot for child.Unfortunately we accidentally missed ONE TOWEL,FOR WHICH WE APOLOGISE. However had we been told ,the matter would have been attended to immediately. In regard to $30 per night for the child,houseguest was informed by booking agency and given the opportunity to cancel the booking.Guest decided to continue with booking. at no stage did guest speak with Alexander about it.Most guests comment on the spaciousness,comfort,and the goodnights sleep they have,also on the large breakfast supplied.No we are not the only one's in tasmania to charge for small children.There is ALWAYS extra time spent in cleaning after a child has stayed.CHILDREN ARE MOST WELCOME AT ALEXANDERS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.1 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hadley's Orient Hotel
Hadley's Orient Hotel
#7 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
14.4 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#15 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
1.9 mi away
Red Brier Cottage
Red Brier Cottage
#8 of 11 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexanders' of Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanders' of Richmond

Property: Alexanders' of Richmond
Address: 15 Ogilvie Lane, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexanders' of Richmond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexanders' features a two story chalet set amongst pine trees in a peaceful garden setting. The chalet is comprised of 2 Queen size bedrooms. The upstairs spacious bedroom has 2 queen sized bedS with electric blankets and is air-conditioned. The lower bedroom consists of a queen sized bed, electric blankets and heating with a view over the garden. Spacious lounge and dining area, kitchenette and bathroom facilities - slice of heaven.SITUATED ON A 25 ACRE FARM 3 KMS FROM CENTER OF RICHMOND.COME AND LET THE WEARINESS OF YOUR BUSY LIFE MELT AWAY UNDER THE PEACEFUL TRANQUILITY OF ALEXANDERS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Alexanders' of Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexanders' Of Richmond Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing