We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Bridge Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridge Cottage
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have thought long and hard about writing a review about Bridge Cottages and if my expectations were too high, so I have decided to stick to the facts of our stay.
We stayed for 2 nights (Sat/Sun) in the Sergeant's Quarters and our friends stayed in the Armoury Cottage in September. The rooms of the original cottage were small and quaint but that was to be expected of a cottage of the 1820's. The rooms were clean and outside was plenty of firewood The shower over the bath had plenty of hot water, the kitchen was a good working size and well appointed for cooking meals, toaster, microwave, etc.
But.....after finally getting the a picture on the tv screen it still had rolling waves of fuzz moving across the screen the whole time. Our friends had stayed in the same room a few weeks earlier and said that the tv didn't work at all then. The cleaning lady said a repair man had serviced it but maybe it's time to replaced the old box style with a new modern digital tv. Fortunately we were able to watch tv in the Armoury Cottage with our friends.
The breakfast provisions were very poor in the form of basic, weetbix and cornflakes, and long life milk. This is the first continental breakfast I've seen without any form of bread, butter and jams.
A previous review dated Dec.2011 commented on the provided fresh milk and eggs, please do not expect this. The best thing about it was we were able to catch up with friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We made a last minute booking and are we glad we did!
After a week in our campervan the open fire and comfy bed were a godsend.
The room had everything we needed including a washer and drier which was a very welcome surprise!
Wish we could've stayed longer! Gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed one night at Bridge Cottages but loved The Armoury so much we would loved to have stayed another night. Absolutely perfect and extremely comfortable whilst great respect given to the historical significance and age of the building. Was exceptional value for money.
The car parking is next to The Armoury. Proprietor was lovely, efficient and helpful. Spotlessly clean. Loved the spacious very functional kitchen. Fantastic antique furniture and interesting old accessories throughout the 6 rooms. Functional bathroom with bath/shower and vanity storage. Laundry room with washing machine, dryer and tub. Large old bed was very comfortable. Most original and very user friendly was the formal sitting room with original working wood burning fireplace which was easy to use and warmed up the cottage remarkably well. Heaps of books and magazines stocked and furnished beautifully. Other end of cottage was a slate floored family room with dining table and chairs, sofabed, lounge chair,TV and underfloor heating and 2 courtyards outside either set of French doors. The cottage was in perfect spot for walking to the bridge or going back to an IGA or various gift shops, the fabulous Christmas Shop, or the many antique shops for which Richmond is deservedly well known for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLLYANNA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Only 1 bedroom but ideal for couples- dates back to mid-1800s. Only 1 minute from Richmond Bridge and 2 mins from food and shops. Some complaints on this site about furniture, but it is perfect for a cottage of this type- the front 2 rooms are from when the cottage was built while back section has large family room, bathrrom and kitchen. All mod cons including an under-floor heating for slate. Front section has wood fire set to go and electric blanket on comfy bed. While on main road, only has traffic noise at beginning and end of day- rest of time very quiet as Richmond is very small

Room Tip: This cottage is on main Richmond road to Hobart and opposite intersection to bridge- so best to reve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The open fire was absolutly lovely and there was plenty of wood to keep it going all night. However not inside, and there was no kindling so it was difficult and took a long time to get the fire started, but once going was absolutly lovely.

Unfortunately the only other heating, was a bar heater, which did little to heat the place, which meant the cottage was very cold for quite some time while we got the fire going.

Apart from the heating situation, our stay in the cottage was lovely and relaxing.

Room Tip: Be aware that in winter the cottage could be quite cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Enjoyed our stay. It was cold in Richmond and the coal fire was great.
Would be great if TV was in the same room as the fire, not in the dining room.
Loads of hot water.
Bedroom a bit dull with no window, only up in ceiling.
Needs new furniture.
Very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcpherson64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

After a lot of research chose the Bridge cottage for proximity to town and the bridge. A nice place for an overnight stay. Loved the fire and the breakfast provisions. Yes, plunger coffee a nice touch. Not many options for dinner in the village. Had a pub meal. Wouldn't rave about it but filled a spot. Probably better to do your own in the well appointed kitchen. Local manager very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helsbels0454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.7 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mulberry Cottage Unique B&B Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Richmond Barracks
Richmond Barracks
#1 of 11 in Richmond
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Brier Cottage
Red Brier Cottage
#8 of 11 in Richmond
17 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taras Richmond Farmstay
Taras Richmond Farmstay
#2 of 11 in Richmond
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottage on Gunning
Cottage on Gunning
#6 of 11 in Richmond
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Cottage

Property: Bridge Cottage
Address: 47 Bridge St, Richmond, Clarence, Tasmania 7025, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRIDGE COTTAGE - YOUR OWN PRIVATE COTTAGE, COMFY & COSY AND YOURS TO ENJOY BRIDGE COTTAGE comprises of 2 co-joined cottages THE ARMOURY COTTAGE and THE SERGEANTS COTTAGE which overlook The Historic Richmond Bridge. Located in the Village a short stroll to all Historic Sites, shops, cafes and restaurants. Each cottage has a ROMANTIC QUEEN BEDROOM SITTING ROOM WITH OPEN FIRE FULL KITCHEN 2ND LIVING ROOM LAUNDRY BATHROOM FREE OFF STREET PARKING RELAX by the open fire and ENJOY complementary port and chocolates after a day exploring our friendly village. Ideal base to tour Hobart and surrounds. 10 minute drive to Hobart Airport and a 20 minute drive to Hobart ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Bridge Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Cottage Richmond, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing