We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Huanchaco Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huanchaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huanchaco Gardens
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after a busy two weeks of travel & sightseeing further south in Peru. We thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful, relaxing atmosphere, where we were able to cook if we felt like it. The rooms are a good size & facilities excellent. The staff all work hard at keeping the rooms & grounds spotless. I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice clean and friendly. We are here in off season so it is about $20/night. Our space has a small kitchen and sitting area and then a bedroom.
Quiet and great for families. The pools are a little chilly but still warmer than the ocean.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 2 or 3 The laundry services are good but I found some others nearby for half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We did stay for a whole week at Huanchaco Gardens, mostly because we were so tired of eating out in Peru and were happy to find a place with own kitchen.
The staff was indeed very nice, but we saw some flaws: The bed was almost broken and sleeping was terrible. Sleeping also got difficult because they have 2 peacocks and they walk on the roof, scared us out in the night! The water in the shower was only lukewarm. They have too many pets on the ground. The bathroom was not always cleaned, not even the toilet.
We felt very safe though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_Pipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for more.
It's a great price for big rooms, comfortable beds, nice clean sheets and excellent pillows (a rarity). Very good shower (plenty of hot water) and cable TV. Some rooms even have a fridge and stove.
The grounds are decent, a couple of pools and sun loungers. Right by the beach and only 5 minute gentle stroll to the heart of town - less to most of the beachfront restaurants and bars.
The staff are ultra-friendly and helpful (provided some very good recommendations for foods etc).
What more could you ask for? Certainly at the top of the Huanchaco options.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAUER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The staff were so great here, very warm and welcoming. Similarly, the pets were very friendly too, especially the little cocker spaniel puppy who frequently visited our room!

The rooms weren't that great though, very average. TV included with cable. Hot water only occasionally. Not terribly clean. We had a kitchenette which was basic and not that clean, but useful for saving money as we were able to buy foods from the local market. Although there isn't much on offer in the market, best to go to Ica to stock up on food if you want to cook for yourself.

they have a restaurant but we didn't eat there and didn't see many others doing so either.

Free wifi, but it is a really poor connection.

they had a swimming pool but the area was too cold to go in it.

They have peacocks cooped up in a small cage which I was really upset about. they say they have them for the tourists.

Quiet location though, just a very short walk from the sea. We had some good nights sleep there!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaHadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Nice grounds, clean really big rooms, good internet, friendly staff and owners, located close to the beach, relatively cheap, no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank greasefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

I stayed in Huanchaco Gardens for 2 month and appreciated all the help and tips from them for travelling alone.
The rooms are clean with great service, and the swimming pools, and the sound of the surf all night long.
Merchants come to the door everyday, fruits, vegetables, need a hairdresser, they'll have one come at the hostal to accomodate you.
Because I was alone and in South America for the first time, the owner took me in his car to get what I needed, made sure I was in the right taxi, helped me with everything until I felt secure enough to do it on my own. I am a young volunteer and Iso appreciated all of the advice and all of the support. Thank you so much Mr. Monteza!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank natalia206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huanchaco hotels
1.6 mi away
Naylamp
Naylamp
#3 of 11 in Huanchaco
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Caballito de Totora
Hotel Caballito de Totora
#4 of 11 in Huanchaco
38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bracamonte
Hotel Bracamonte
#2 of 11 in Huanchaco
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mochican Palace Hotel
Mochican Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Huanchaco
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Fresh
Casa Fresh
#3 of 38 in Huanchaco
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Brisas
Las Brisas
#9 of 14 in Huanchaco
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huanchaco Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huanchaco Gardens

Address: Av. Circunvalacion 440 | Urb: El Boqueron, Huanchaco 51, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Huanchaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Huanchaco
Price Range: $10 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing