We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
My Friend Surf Hostal
Nearby Hotels
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Naylamp(Huanchaco)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Bracamonte(Huanchaco)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hostal E&C(Huanchaco)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Hospedaje Oceano(Huanchaco)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
40
28
10
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
28
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsate hereplace to eatrooms are cleanrandallsweetestsolesterraceteachersurfhostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 84 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved my friend hostel! In total spent 2 weeks there and i couldnt have been happier. The staff were very friendly and helpfull and the food i would say is the best in huanchaco in terms of value for money. Extencive menu, very fairly priced and delicous. They offer surf school and your only 1 minute away from the ocean with a very friendly begginer wave to learn on.
I would go back again.

Room Tip: Top is best
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 620mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Although the price is very cheap and the staff was really good, we had some problems at the hostel.
We were checked-in in a wrong room, so we were asked to move to the right one as soon as it was cleaned because they had people arriving in the room we were. We were going out so they told us they'd move our bags to the right room. When we got back, our bags were still in the same place, and nobody had arrived in that room.
Still, we changed rooms and got in the right one. The problem is that in this place, the shower was broken so there wasn't hot water. We reported the problem and they said they'd call somebody to fix it and offered another bathroom to take a shower, but we decided to wait, as they said the man would arrive in a hour.
The man didn't come to fix the shower that day, actually, he only arrived 15 minutes before our check out. We had to use the outside bathroom to take a shower.
Also, the wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only on the restaurant area.
We had a discount in our day rate, but in the end, it wasn't worthy because of this problems.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MarianaFujiwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randal q, Manager at My Friend Surf Hostal, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thanks for your review. We take feedback seriously and have taken on board your comments.
Unfortunately, during the busy period around Christmas and New Year we had problems and our plumber was unable to come as quickly as we had asked. The shower has now been fixed. We have also recently installed a new router in the upstairs área of the building so that our guests can enjoy WIFI throughout the hostal.
We´re sorry you had problems during your stay and hope that it didn´t ruin your time in Huanchaco. Thanks again for your comments, we hope the improvements we´ve made will benefit future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Excellent value for money, lovely atmosphere and staff extremely helpful. The restaurant offered a good variety of dishes. Happy hour on Thursdays is a must, really enjoyed the live music. Great surf school with great instructors. Made a good few friends here and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We had a double room and were very happy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lml l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Sra Ana prepares the most delicious meals at very reasonable prices. We were surprised again and again about the nice, tasty and healthy meals she prepares. The service is great and you really feel like a friend. The rooms offered are simple, but clean and cosy. And best of all, cheapest price in town. Prices from 10 - 30 soles.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Barry_Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hands down, the best value in Huanchaco, and all of Peru even. The staff was so amazingly genuine and friendly (Senora Ana and Randall are the most wonderful people you will ever encounter in your life.) that the name of the hostel suits the experience. You will feel like a "friend" the minute you step foot in the place, whether it is for the great food, a clean, comfortable place to rest, or to take surf lessons. It is inexpensive (S./10 per night) and 2 blocks away from the beach, so there is no excuse not to go out for a twice a day surf! You'll also sleep very well since Sr. Ana strictly shuts down activity of the resto after 11pm and there is very little partying thereafter. They also have a tasty, vegetarian friendly menu (it is one of the best and few vegetarian options in Huanchaco.) Love this place and I would definitely return again and again. <3

Room Tip: Private and dorm rooms are all equally priced as of August 2013 and there are hot showers.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivhoung P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews