We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel i've been to”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huanchaco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Gringa d' Huanchaco
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hostel is fantastic. I'd recommend it to every body. It sits in the perfect part of a very nice town to be in and attracts awesome people. The owner, "the mama eagle", is a wonderful woman full of respect, values and is incredibly fun to hang out with. She knows everything about the town and helps make huanchaco a nice home for you while you're there. She reads the situation and gives you space if that's what you want and the volunteers at the hostel are fantastic people. Breakfast will soon be available by a mexican man who - take it from me- can cook. He's also a lovely guy.

Get to sudamerica hostel. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: maybe upstairs. If the town ever pumps you'll be aptly protected from the sounds of the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zak O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I first arrived here around August and ended up staying on and off for about 6 weeks up until November. It served as the perfect base for exploring the region, local surf spots and the mountains inland. It always had a really welcoming and relaxed atomsphere which reflected the guests. I really enjoyed the company of both the last owner and the new manager. They both are very friendly and loving people who made my stay there so memorable.

It has the best location in town and really feels like a home, which is nice if you´ve been on the road for a while as it´s a place to settle in and find some grounding. The town is super laid back and there is plenty of things to keep ya occupied. I´ve been travelling for around 8 months and stayed in all types of accomodations and this rates as my favourite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a great place to stop, its the best hostel atmosphere i have stopped in and stayed for along time because it felt like home. Its definately the place to stop if you want to chill out and walk five paces to the beach each morning or night. The hostel is currently under refurbishment and the new manager julie is revamping it big time. It has kept its charm and gained a lot more. We felt like a family and i wont forget my time there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I rolled into Huanchaco looking for surf but only got one day. But I ended up staying because it's cheap and chill.
Sudamerica is right across the street from the pier. I ended up on the couches watching the people go by and reading for several days after the swell died. They have family dinners for super cheap. If you cook it's free. This place was exactly what I needed at the time. Cool owner and volunteers and the time and light on my budget.
My only criticism is that It could have been a little cleaner and the foam mattress on the bed wasn't very comfortable for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtawWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My friend and I were here for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The hostel is in a great location. Right in the centre and about 20 steps from the surf. If you want to live cheaply this is the place to come. The main reason to stay here though is the atmopshere. It felt like a home away from home. The staff are friendly, helpful, and trusting. We loved the way they arranged dinners.. if you cooked you didn't have to pay. This was also a great way to socialize with the other guests. If I ever come back to Huanchaco I will stay here and wouldn't hestitate to reccommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 780amy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hostel is very run-down and humdrum, but we accepted that and ended up enjoying our stay. Our room was very small and cramped with no windows so it got very very hot, and one of the beds was taken up by a cat, but we didn't mind because the couple we were travelling with shared a bed anyway. Also, as the hostel is essentially a big house, the noise travels very easily, making sleep a little hard, especially when our room had a strange vent which opened up on the room next to us, meaning we could hear and even see everything they were doing in there and vice-versa.
The breakfast was basic but cheap.
The cleanliness was a slight let down as the hostel essentially has no staff and just employs guests which also means trying to settle the bill at the end is a little confusing!
One thing we loved about this hostel is the trust they put in their guests, a real bohemian, backpackers place in which you could take a beer from the fridge whenever you wanted and just mark next to your name in the book how many you had. There was a nice sound system on which you could play your own music, and all the guests were of a similar age and so it was great for socialising.
It felt very unfinished as a hostel, the rooftop terrace had half-painted walls with rollers and trays left on the ground, and our room had a crumbling ceiling and so I woke up every morning with plaster in my bed and in my hair, which was actually a real nuisance. The attitude of the owner (who we only found after 2 days) was a little too relaxed in my opinion. It's a lovely beach-town for surfers etc. but the attitude needs to change to make improvements at a hostel where people are paying to stay and not receiving the proper treatment they should. He almost shrugged off my ceiling complaint, and though the bed was clean when I returned in the afternoon, the ceiling was still flaking. Our room wasn't cleaned the entire rest of the time we were there either...
With just a little more love, and perhaps a more permanent, professional staff this place can maintain it's chilled, surfer/backpacker vibe and it's hippy roots, but be a more comfortable and more pleasant stay for visitors as its location could not be more perfect.

Room Tip: Ask if there's space in a room that's not the 'Ceviche Room' (the 4 man room) as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Pamela González P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huanchaco hotels
1.4 mi away
Naylamp
Naylamp
#3 of 11 in Huanchaco
156 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Caballito de Totora
Hotel Caballito de Totora
#4 of 11 in Huanchaco
38 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Bracamonte
Hotel Bracamonte
#1 of 11 in Huanchaco
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mochican Palace Hotel
Mochican Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Huanchaco
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Frogs Surf Hostel Huanchaco
0.2 mi away
Hostal El Ancla
Hostal El Ancla
#17 of 38 in Huanchaco
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gringa d' Huanchaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gringa d' Huanchaco

Address: Ave. La Ribera 850 | In front of the pier, Huanchaco, Peru (Formerly La Gringa d' Sudamerica)
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Huanchaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Huanchaco
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the most welcoming and affordable hosel in Huanchaco? You just found it! We're a place for travelers in the most exciting surf town of Peru, in front of the famous waves of Huanchaco. We offer you comfort, facilities and the safety a hostel should present. Our guests are our family! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing