We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They definitely aim to please” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospedaje Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospedaje Oceano
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Huanchaco
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They definitely aim to please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I lived in Trujillo, Peru volunteering for 9 months and before I flew back home I decided to take a week of vacation and stay with my boyfriend in Huanchaco. I decided to stay at this cute, family-run hostel based on the great price and clean rooms and I'm so glad I did. Seriously, this is the best deal in Huanchaco. for S/. 30 you can get a double room, (continuous!) hot water, wifi, cable, daily housekeeping and the place is really quiet, not a rowdy party hostel. Your well-being is the owners' highest priority and it shows. They are very friendly and accommodating. The only downside is that there isn't much of an ocean view and some of the rooms only have windows facing out into the hall which makes the room rather dark. Otherwise, wonderful all around. I am going back to Huanchaco for a couple of weeks and I have no doubt of where I will be staying...

Room Tip: If available, ask for one of the three 2nd floor rooms that face the street. They are much brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    30
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
77
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

You just cant get better than this.15 soles per night per person.1 minute from the beach.Quiet street.The owners really care about you and are one of a kind.Perfect Perfect Perfect.If i had more time i would os stayed longer.When u come to Huanchaco you must stay here.Real good security.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe5710joe5710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in Hospedaje Oceano for three nights and we loved it. We plan to return there after our week in Mancora. At only 15 soles per person, we got a private room with a private bathroom, hot water, decent Internet, and full access to the kitchen. There is a reason they're so popular on Trip Advisor - one of the best places we've stayed in 2 months backpacking in Peru. We were originally at My Friend Hostel for 10 soles per person, which is okay, but the hot water in our shower never worked there, and we didn't have access to a kitchen.

Even paying the 5 soles extra for Oceano, we saved a lot of money by visiting the local market and cooking many of our own meals. (Much healthier too!) I definitely recommend this place!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I m just come back from Trujillo, and my experience in Huanchaco, is unforgatable! Oceano is so confortable, relax and the most important, very cheap!! the food in the Oceano is delicciuos and the attention too! You can prepared you own food if you need, they offer the kitchen for the tourist! prizes?? less than 10 dollars for night, with cable TV, private bathroom. There is so quite, and near the ocean, I will be there again soon! Thanks Carlos, the owner and his wife, congratulations!!!

Room Tip: All Oceanos room are very good, they have a veiw of the ocean, my advise for travelers is, not more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This little hostel is awesome.
We found it by wandering the streets.
We had checked into My Friends hostel in the next street at first, but when we did we found My Friends to be dirty, I didn't want to stay there. So we were delighted when we found a room here.
In fact so delighted we stayed here 4 nights.
It is one street from the beach.
We could see the ocean from the window.
It is SUPER CLEAN.
It has a kitchen, so I could cook - yeah!
The family are quiet, and caring, and when my son had an upset stomach, Hope (the wife) advised me on which tea to make him.
Carlos is a passionate chef and runs a great little and affordable restaurant downstairs too.
It is a small hostel.
I cannot fault this place.
I would recommend it and give it 5 stars.
I think their short change themselves and could charge more for the private rooms - at least 10 Soles more. It is a bargain.
Oh and did I mention nice fluffy white towels, room cleaned daily, soap, soft fresh sheets and a lovely mattress and pillows.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hostal... Only ate at the restaurant. Had the pan triple and was sooooo good! The jugo de piña was delishhh. Good price, even on a Peruvian budget. Will come back again. Quietly located one block from the ocean. It's nice to be chill.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huaraz, Perú
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Living in the Cordillera Blanca in Peru I have many opportunites to take a trip to the beach. I prefer Huanchaco. I have stayed in The Oceano many times. Carlos and his family are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and clean. It doesnt matter what time your bus rolls into Trujillo, Carlos will always be there to open the door and if there is a room available you are able to take it and not pay for the extra morning. Need a place to store your things because you only have 10 hours between buses? The Oceano will store and you can hangout in the lobby between your trips to the beach for a small charge. The family also sells cremoladas that are to die for. The cafe should also be open soon.
Cant wait to return next december. Enjoy!
Cecilia Hirt de Huaraz

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have small view of the ocean and park across is across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCHIRT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huanchaco hotels
1.4 mi away
Naylamp
Naylamp
#2 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caballito de Totora
Hotel Caballito de Totora
#4 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huanchaco Hostal
Huanchaco Hostal
#5 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mochican Palace Hotel
Mochican Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Huanchaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boquemar
Hotel Boquemar
#6 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bracamonte
Hotel Bracamonte
#3 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Oceano

Property: Hospedaje Oceano
Address: Los Cerezos 105, Huanchaco LALIBERTAD 01, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Huanchaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Huanchaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ocean hosting a family atmosphere restaurant is run by husband and wife entrepreneurs Hope and hosting Carlos.El currently has 10 private rooms all with private bathroom, bedroom or do not have common bathrooms, a kitchen at your disposal free of charge, what makes a very pleasant, clean, safe in the best area of huanchaco.WE WAITING FOR YOU stay hope not regret. " THE WORLD IS YOUR " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hospedaje Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing