We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow, just wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otra Cosa Restaurante Vegetariano

Otra Cosa Restaurante Vegetariano
Ranked #8 of 65 Restaurants in Huanchaco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $6
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Food:Otra Cosa is a warm friendly restaurant that has many offerings for both travellers and tourists. Our kitchen specializes in healthy vegetarian dishes with economical daily specials. We have two kitchens, which allows us to serve fresh fish dishes including a local favourite Ceviche.Our customers enjoy a wonderful coffee in the morning overlooking the ocean and a breathtaking sunset during dinner.Whether you are traveling as a family, with a tour or flying solo; all can find a temporary home here at Otra Cosa sharing delicious food, fun and great conversation. You will almost always meet someone who speaks your language when you visit.We have a small shop with local handicrafts and a traveller's library with Peruvian tourism information.Accommodations:Two rooms for rent for short or long visits. The rooms are safe and the location is welcoming. Excellent access to the beach and all the amenities of Huanchaco.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow, just wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I'm not a vegetarian, but heard rave reviews of this place and they were not wrong. Lovely seating area outside to watch the ocean and terrific food.

The first day my novia and I ordered two menu del dias. Great cauliflower soup to start. Then spaghetti with ratatouille and a side salad. Absolutely delicious. The side salad had beets and was amazing. The ratatouille was very well done and a delicious sauce. The portions huge as well, saved half for dinner later.

The burrito was quite good as well. Described as a burrito pancake, it truly is like a curry flavored crepe filled with beans. Though it is extremely tasty.

Each meal with finished off with mint tea, fresh from the garden. The server goes out to pick it in the front. Very refreshing and stomach settling.

Sit back, enjoy the veggies and watch the waves.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    50
    14
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Especially the bread was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Really laid-back informal place and a great change from the normal Peruvian coastal food. However the current rating as the number 1 restaurant in Huanchaco is a bit distorted and probably the result of its international back-packer and surfer following who possibly had great local food (for example Big Ben just down the road is obviously a very different level of gourmet food) but wanted a change of pace.
For us it was exactly like this, finding something light and healthy is not easy in town for dinner (if you had yor fish or seafood during the day) so the 2 health and slow food options we found in town fit the bill. Especially the bread was brilliant and unexpected in this small town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gerhardbuttner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what this non-vegetarian Aussie needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The closest I've gotten to normal healthy food since leaving home!!! I'll have salad and veggies over fries and rice - any day! Went to Otra Cosa for dinner last night, I had the menu of the day which was a potato dish + vegetable soup + greek salad. My boyfriend had the mexican burrito. Both meals were delicious.. We were so full but had to try the apple pie + ice-cream so we shared one and it was also great! The only downside is we leave tomorrow and can't go again, I wish we had discovered it sooner! We went back for a coffee this morning which was also the best since being in Peru for the last month.

RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!!!


Ohhh I also need to mention how LOVELY the owner was :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alishaaarobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and veggies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Amazing juices, salads and vegetarian healthy food! It was great to have a break from the local Peruvian cuisine and to finally eat some fresh tasty vegetables! Organic products, book exchange, fair trade shop, free internet wifi and they support local charities. Lovely atmosphere too!

Helpful?
Thank Delfina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bland food with nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We read great reviews on tripadvisor for this restaurant, so we visited one day for breakfast/lunch. The juice was great and the food on the menu looked like it should be good but it was so bland. Average at best. I had to drown it in salt to make up for the fact that the only thing with any flavour was raw onion. The staff were lovely and it had a nice atmosphere but definitely nothing to rave about.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BiancaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otra Cosa Restaurante Vegetariano also viewed

Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
 
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
Huanchaco, La Libertad Region
 

Been to Otra Cosa Restaurante Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing