We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Huankarute

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Huankarute
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was at their executive room. Amazing view, clean s-pool and no children.
If you are looking for no comfort, suggest you the hostels but if you are looking for king-size beds, nice bathroom, etc; this is your place.
The difference between this and Bracamonte is basically children, no disturbing noise here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josebueno12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We got one of their special packages including a room with jacuzzi. The room was big, nice and clean, with a pretty view of the beach. What we didn't like so much was the fact that the jacuzzi had lots of dirt inside so when we started to use it the water became dirty. Also, the swimming pool in front looked quite dirty so we did not use it. The place is quite expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

A decent hotel in Huanchaco. Our room was big, clean & comfortable and had a huge bed!. The bathroom was good and had a bath, but had no plug so could only use the shower. Staff were really friendly & helpful, and a decent breakfast was included in the price. The hotel is directly opposite the beach and we had a fantastic view of the ocean from our room. There are bars, restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk. This is not really the place to meet other travellers, as it is more of a family hotel, but we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have better views and are probably quieter when the pool is busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpbmpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had heard Huanchaco was a great beach town but to be honest we were very disappointed (it could be because we're Aussies so have pretty high standards when it comes to beaches). Hostal Huankarute was clean, well appointed and does have a great view over the water. The facilities (pool etc) are very so so, and it's located at a far end of the town. We had booked three nights and only stayed one and they were very good about that. If you're not into surfing, Huanchaco doesn't offer a lot, we liked Mancora much better. But if you are going to Huanchaco, I would recommend this hotel, with the caveat that it's not in the centre of things (not necessarily a bad thing though)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmacca82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

We took this hostal based on the few comments there were on this site - all very good/excellent. In fact, the people who work there are really pleasant, the pool and the tables for tennis and pool are nice, the view is breathtaking, beds are comfortable and they have a great deal of channels on cable tv. But we have some disappointments, some details. Eating at the hostal is quite difficult, all meals we ordered (3 times) took at least one hour to arrive - not because of its exquisiteness - and they didn't have all the menu displayed. Something little, but meaningful: they don't put rugs in the bathroom. Why? Is it too pricy? One can easily slip after showering. The internet was free but wireless was quite unstable. Although the region doesn't suffer much from strong earthquakes, I haven't seen the "S" sign indicating safety in inside the rooms or in the halls.
I would recommend the hostal for one that would not eat there and that doesn't care for high quality but is looking for excellent location at good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Staying at this Hostal was by far the best part of our trip to Peru. We had an ocean view suite, our room was clean and comfortable. The service we received was outstanding. Huanchaco beach itself was the most comfortable portion of our visit to Peru. Would highly recommend this Hostal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

I love this hostal. My upper floor room (about $37, s/108) had sweeping views of the beach and ocean. It was really a comfortable room, private balcony, good bed, nice bathroom, free WiFi in the room, cable TV with movie channels, refrigerator. I recommend to get the upper floor rooms which cost about 10-20 soles more, but worth every sole. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great and includes fresh juice, rolls, eggs, coffee, etc. Huanchaco itself is a great town, a good base for sightseeing, as many of the sites, such as Chan Chan are very close. I took a taxi to Chan Chan for less than $3, then hired a private guide, who was spectacular, for about $10. You don't need to book a tour. It is so easy to do it on your own, but important to have a guide at Chan Chan. The main part of Huanchaco is about a 10 minute walk on the malecon into a beautiful little seaside village, with many great seafood and ceviche restaurants and shops. Everyone is so friendly. There is a pier, and of course the beach with the old fishing boats, and many surfers. Great ambience. To get to the historical center of Trujillo, there are buses that stop right in front of the hostal. The front desk staff can help if you are not used to using collectivos. I highly recommend this hostal and this town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huanchaco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caballito de Totora
Hotel Caballito de Totora
#4 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Naylamp
Naylamp
#2 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje Oceano
Hospedaje Oceano
#1 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mochican Palace Hotel
Mochican Palace Hotel
#7 of 11 in Huanchaco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boquemar
Hotel Boquemar
#6 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bracamonte
Hotel Bracamonte
#3 of 11 in Huanchaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Huankarute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Huankarute

Property: Hotel Huankarute
Address: Av. La Ribera Sur 312, Huanchaco, Peru
Location: Peru > La Libertad Region > Huanchaco
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Huanchaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Huankarute 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Huankarute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing