We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First looks was nice, but than”
Review of Hotel Gran Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Palma
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Paracas
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel looks new and clean, so far so good. During check-in they asked us to pay the bill in advance, which was the first time, I heard this, and we refused it. The room wa somewhat noisey, which quite normal in Peru, but we have the feeling that there are no doors. The room wasn't cleaned the 1st day, we asked friendly to clean the room, which happend than. Normaly you can expected that the second day, they will not forget to clean it, but it happend again!In addtion we met a nice cockroach! We asked for 2 wake-up calls, one quite early at 5 am and the other one at 8 am. They forgot to call both times! Did we have breakfast? Not really.
Summary: we spend 3 weeks in Peru and stayed in 10 different hotels paying around 65 $/night, so we can state that it is not worth to pay so much for such a terrible hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markitxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 281 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

A fairly new hotel in paracus. We were sent there as part of a 3 day your.
The hotel looks smart and is clean enough but the rooms are poor. Minimal facilities on the rooms. Extremely thin walls, you can hear every word people say on the corridor or nearby rooms, and the dogs barking at all hours outside. Bathrooms are small and basic. Otherwise the location is ok, near to the harbour, though on the noisy main road. Also my aftershave went missing from my bag whilst here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A modern fairly recently completed building situated on the main road through Paracas. The room I had was clean and bright but was provided with the bare minimum of furniture. A bed a wardrobe a bedside table and a tv. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and the shower pressure was good

Like most hotels constructed from concrete there was absolutely no sound insulation. My room was at the foot of the stairs and consequently the sounds of people going up and down were bound to be annoying. In addition interior rooms have large sliding windows which open onto a light well which also allows all the sound from the bedrooms and bathrooms above to echo down into your room. Just outside the groundfloor rooms is a tiny seating area for guests which thankfully was never used during my stay but I could imagine it would add to the general noise groundfloor guests have to suffer.

In addition the reception area had a radio playing the whole time I was there which I thought was very unprofessional I thought the recepionists showed very little interest in what they were doing and the cleaning staff didn't empty the bathroom bin containing used toilet tissue until 6pm one evening. At the price charged it was just about reasonable but the hotel could be much better if it was managed properly and the staff had a least some basic training in customer care.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel you can do much better in Paracas

Room Tip: Avoid all the rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cellargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The rooms are cozy and clean with a nice view of the El Chaco harbour. (Ask for an ocean-view room with balcony.) A continental breakfast of coffee, juice, rolls, ham and jam was served upstairs on a pretty patio. (We brought some beers and dinner up later to enjoy the sunset, and a staff member offered games for the kids.) The area is a bit noisy at night...affecting all hotels in the area...so bring ear plugs. An excellent choice in Paracas!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank TravellingCdnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights, rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Great location and good value for money!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel would be ok at half the price. Firstly, they has lost our reservation. After a long wait we managed to get the last 2 available rooms in the hotel. Both twins not doubles as booked. The rooms were also not ready until 5pm despite checkin being advertised as 3pm. The walls are paper thin to the point of being able to hear the phone ring in reception from the third floor with the room door closed, not to mention the noise of other guests and from the road outside. Curtains were totally useless blocking no light whatsoever. Beds were uncomfortable. Breakfast should have been included but a ludicrously high additional charge was put on our bill at the end of our stay for eggs which we had not been informed of. In addition, there was no bar or currency exchange as detailed in the hotel description. Staff were friendly but ineffective. All in all hugely dissappointing for the unjustifiably high price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anonymous6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

disadvantages:
- small smelly room.
- staff don't speak English

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.3 mi away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#10 of 11 in Paracas
198 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas - Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aranwa Paracas Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
La Hacienda Bahia Paracas
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paracas, A Luxury Collection Resort, Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Palma

Address: Av. Principal de Paracas Mz.D lote 03, Paracas 11550, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Paracas
Price Range: $50 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Palma 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing