We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Around the corner from the beach and helpful staff.”
Review of Hotel Mar Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mar Azul
Ranked #4 of 16 Paracas B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Paracas for a day/night without having a reservation, but chose Hostal Mar Azul based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. I was worried that there wouldn't be any rooms available as January can be busy time of the year in Paracas, but we were given a room with a balcony (note: not a dormitory room) that included the basic breakfast of bread, jam, juice, and coffee/tea. Wi-fi connection was typical of most places I've stayed in Peru (i.e. decent, but sometimes signal wasn't strong/working).

The staff could speak some English and accommodated our travelling Spanish. They also arranged our tour to the Islas Ballesta for 35 soles per person for the next day and recommended that we take the earliest tour to avoid the blazing sun.

Overall a pleasant stay!

Note: There is only one ATM in Paracas located in the business centre of a posh hotel about a 15-minute walk from the main beach. In the sun, this jaunt to get more cash can be tortuous so grab a taxi/moto-taxi.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 123 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hostal is clean, great location and has very helpful staff. Its located just metres from the beach and the hostel owners have their own tour company so they will happily book you a boat trip to the Islands the day after you arrive or a tour to the national reserve, without the added commission that other places in town will add to the cost of your excursion. They offer single rooms, doubles twins or they had a dormitory as well with attached bath and a great view looking out to sea. Unfortunately i wasn't enjoying the company of a group in the dorm at the time of my stay but they very kindly moved me to another room, which i really appreciated. Great place, lovely roof terrace and great price. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tomhY2333FZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had a ground floor room and would probably recommend trying to get one with a small balcony.
The room was large with a wardrobe, bed side lamps and a tv. The bathroom had a decent shower which was always hot.
Breakfast was served on the roof - a decent enough view of the bay - and consisted of bread, jam, juice and hot drink.
Wifi was poor. They changed the password one night and it worked for a while but then wouldn't connect. There is a computer at the Reception desk and we were told it was for guests. When the younger "receptionist" is there she spends most of the time on it so you will probably need to remind her!
We did a tour through the hotel and the land lady took us down to the docks and we jumped a fair bit of the cue!
Happy enough stay and good that it canbe reserved through Booking.com.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We (=five girls) spend one night at the hotel beginning of November. Our room was big and clean. We booked trips to the Islas Ballestas through the hotel, as well as a trip to the National Park close by.
The lady who is in charge of the hostel treated us very nice. She made sure that we catched the right bus back and was very helpful in every aspect. I can recommend the hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelaB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's cheap and honest room in beautiful place. We make the reservation at the same day, they helped us with the tours in a better price than in the streets. It's very close to main area of Paracas near to the restaurants and the port. The breakfast is in the 4d floor with a stunning view of the bay.
Note that Pisco is not a secure city.

Room Tip: Ask for upper rooms to see the ocean by the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoPessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We moved here after 1 night at the backpackers house - which was the same price at 70 sol and we were glad we did! The rooms are large, bright and clean with cable tv. Our room had a balcony with ocean views which was nice. It also is a 2 minute walk to the docks for the Island tours.

Our room didn't include breakfast but you could buy it for 10 sol pp. I would recommend gooing to other restaurants for breakfast for better value and better coffee.

Staff were pleasant enough, but most don't speak English.

The rooms can be quite noisy in the morning tho, we were on the 3rd floor and the staff start preparing for breakfast very early on the 4th floor so we were woken up each morning. Also with pretty much everywhere in peru the street dogs and roosters will make sure you get up really early. Bring earplugs.

We did kite boarding with Peru kite which was amazing, highly recommend it. For dinner, check out miskys for decent pizza and a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingstonTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

It is a good, well kept hotel for a very economical price. Our room was small with a view into the back street, but very clean with new furniture and good clean blankets (I have to stress that because I feel "clean" budget hotels are hard to find in Peru!). The breakfast was served on the roof terrace which has GREAT views at the bay! Stuff was nice. Perhaps the only thing I would improve is to have more tourist info at the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Paracas
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
640 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#7 of 11 in Paracas
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas - Peru
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paracas, A Luxury Collection Resort, Paracas
0.4 mi away
Aranwa Paracas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Azul

Address: Urb. Alan Garcia B-20, Paracas 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Paracas
Price Range: $57 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mar Azul is known for the quality of its services and the cordiality of its people. Located in one of the most attractive destinations in Peru, on the seafront of Paracas, Hotel Mar Azul offers all the comforts that travelers expect, as well as a wide variety of services and amenities that aim to provide a special stay and Quality. With more than 30 years in the service industry, Hotel Mar Azul offers a unique experience, the quality that allows to enjoy the nature, the culture and the incomparable gastronomy of the south of our country. Located just a few meters from the sea, Hotel Mar Azul stands out as unique and exclusive properties with views of the sea and the bay of Paracas. Hotel Mar Azul is located near the natural reserve where you can admire the marine life (sea lions, flamingos, dolphins, penguins) and where there is more than two thousand years the Paracas culture was born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mar Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing