We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paracas Backpackers' House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here only 1 night to do the Islas Ballestas before moving onwards to Huacachina. I could have stayed here longer because our room was very clean and comfortable and we had an en suite private bathroom. The location was great because we were just a few minutes walk from the beach and restaurants. The hostel arranged our tour of the Islas Ballestas which was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for Paracas Backpackers' House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 432 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at the Paracas Backpacker's (double room with shared bathroom, 40 Sol).
The rooms with shared bathrooms are little wooden constructions in the yard which are basic and alright (good matresses). But they are very noisy and you will know if your neighbours are enjoying life or not..
There are two hot showers (water is hot and water pressure okay) and three toilets and a sink outside. It gave me a bit the impression of being on a camping side.
There is a communal kitchen for everybody's use that is equipped with the most important things (beside knives).
The owner is extremely friendly, helpful and professional. WIFI is good.

The only thing to improve in my opinion is cleanliness. There was a regular cleaning of the common areas and our room was clean. But it's not enough to clean three toilets (used by 11 rooms - and these are not only doubles but also triples and quadruples) once a day. The kitchen cleanliness could also be improved (food lying around that seemed belonging no one, quite disgusting microwave, full waste bins, ...).

Therefore only 4/5.

Be aware that cab drivers might try to take you somewhere else to charge comission..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thereblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed couple of nights, Excellent value for money paid. Run by Alberto (speaks very good English and Spanish) and his wife. Very clean, cooking facilities, hot showers and they will arrange and book all tours (eg to Islas Ballestas) at very competitive prices, including para surfing. One block from jetties and restaurants. Alberto is the "perfect gentleman", and we would not hesitate in recommending this place to anyone. Storage for valuables and luggage if catching buses later in day, and can still use all hostal facilities while waiting to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights to visit the Islas Ballestas as most people do. Very helpful staff, Alberto speaks perfect English. Definitely recommended. Doubles with shared bathroom are basic but clean and all you need. Can't argue with the price for 40 soles a night. They can help with any bus/tour info/bookings required.

Earplugs recommended if you want any early night at weekends, or don't want a cockerel wake-up at 5:30am!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hostel owner and his wife are extremely friendly and helpful. They help you find what you need, explain carefully the best way to go anywhere and even do a discount if you reserve more than one tour with them.
There is a new building behind the hostel with new, clear and large rooms.
It is in walking distance from the pier, markets, restaurants, bus terminal and shops.
There is no breakfast, but there is a kitchen you can use wherever you need.
The hostel is clean and the wifi works, although it is slow.
The rooms are a little noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We didn't plan to go to Paracas at first, but because of bus scedules we stayed there anyway and found this great hostel. The owner was very friendly and helpful in every way. We also booked our tours to the Islas Ballestas and the Reserve directly at the hostel.
The rooms were nice and clean and the hostel in general gives quite a holiday feeling, kind of like a beachhouse. Unfortunately it might get a little noisy during the night, but I would recommend this lovely hostel to everyone anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Me and my friends spent only one night here. The rooms were simple, but clean, towels were also provided, absolutely enough for our purposes. The owner and his wife were perfect! Both were very nice, helped us to arrange a trip to Islas Ballestas and transport to Huacachina. I would definitely recommend this place for one night stay in Paracas. The price is much more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladusenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paracas, A Luxury Collection Resort, Paracas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#7 of 11 in Paracas
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Paracas
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas - Peru
0.1 mi away
Icthus Paracas
Icthus Paracas
#8 of 41 in Paracas
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paracas Backpackers' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paracas Backpackers' House

Address: Av. Los Libertadores, Manzana J-01, Lote 09, Paracas 11550, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Paracas
Price Range: $11 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Paracas Backpackers' House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing