We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hostal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paracas Backpackers' House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed couple of nights, Excellent value for money paid. Run by Alberto (speaks very good English and Spanish) and his wife. Very clean, cooking facilities, hot showers and they will arrange and book all tours (eg to Islas Ballestas) at very competitive prices, including para surfing. One block from jetties and restaurants. Alberto is the "perfect gentleman", and we would not hesitate in recommending this place to anyone. Storage for valuables and luggage if catching buses later in day, and can still use all hostal facilities while waiting to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 447 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights to visit the Islas Ballestas as most people do. Very helpful staff, Alberto speaks perfect English. Definitely recommended. Doubles with shared bathroom are basic but clean and all you need. Can't argue with the price for 40 soles a night. They can help with any bus/tour info/bookings required.

Earplugs recommended if you want any early night at weekends, or don't want a cockerel wake-up at 5:30am!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WanderSmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hostel owner and his wife are extremely friendly and helpful. They help you find what you need, explain carefully the best way to go anywhere and even do a discount if you reserve more than one tour with them.
There is a new building behind the hostel with new, clear and large rooms.
It is in walking distance from the pier, markets, restaurants, bus terminal and shops.
There is no breakfast, but there is a kitchen you can use wherever you need.
The hostel is clean and the wifi works, although it is slow.
The rooms are a little noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco-RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We didn't plan to go to Paracas at first, but because of bus scedules we stayed there anyway and found this great hostel. The owner was very friendly and helpful in every way. We also booked our tours to the Islas Ballestas and the Reserve directly at the hostel.
The rooms were nice and clean and the hostel in general gives quite a holiday feeling, kind of like a beachhouse. Unfortunately it might get a little noisy during the night, but I would recommend this lovely hostel to everyone anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila_Norge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Me and my friends spent only one night here. The rooms were simple, but clean, towels were also provided, absolutely enough for our purposes. The owner and his wife were perfect! Both were very nice, helped us to arrange a trip to Islas Ballestas and transport to Huacachina. I would definitely recommend this place for one night stay in Paracas. The price is much more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladusenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The owner is such a nice, friendly and enthusiastic person! Rooms are clean and cozy. They look like little beach houses. Unfortunately these flimsy walls are pretty noisy. Showers and toilets are clean, but outside. Nice sunny terras. Recommended for 1 or 2 nights!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank coensann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

When I first contacted backpackers I was surprised of how the staff is involved in our stay. The guy I contacted organized us a taxi and was very helpful. He kept contact with us before our arrival. When we finally got there it turned out that the place is ran by a 60something year old folk who takes care of everything there. The standard of the hostel is different to most of Peruvian places. It's clean, it's more civilized. This was one of the best hostels I have visited during my trip through Peru/Bolivia. The owner was super nice. You will probably won't find any better hostel in this city...

Room Tip: Get a room far from the road. It can be bussy sometimes. Ask staff for trips to the island - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v8city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Paracas
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#7 of 11 in Paracas
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas - Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel Paracas
0.1 mi away
Icthus Paracas
Icthus Paracas
#8 of 41 in Paracas
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paracas Backpackers' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paracas Backpackers' House

Address: Av. Los Libertadores, Manzana J-01, Lote 09, Paracas 11550, Peru
Location: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Paracas
Price Range: $11 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Paracas Backpackers' House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing