We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful alternative to Casa Amarilla in Mompox.”

Hotel Casa de Espana
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa de Espana
Ranked #8 of 13 Mompos B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Guidebooks imply that Casa Amarilla is the only reasonably priced hotel in Mompox. I made a reservation there, but when I arrived, the hotel did not have my reservation, and furthermore was full, therefore I was left to roam the streets to find an alternative.
Casa de España seems to be unknown at the moment - not in guides and not available to book through internet booking sites, however it is an excellent hotel that deserves more business.
The hotel is situated on the main north / south street in Mompox, very close to the three plazas. It's an old colonial building with an interior courtyard.
Room rates are very reasonable, and despite the age of the building, for your money you get extreme clean with good quality / new beds, pillows, sheets. New and freezing cold air-conditioning. New and lovely bathroom fittings. New flat screen tv. There is also a communal kitchen with modern / new appliances and bottled water for cooking. The air-con in the rooms, and the fridge in the kitchen are absolute heaven in a town as oppressively hot as Mompox, and the ability to cook your own food is a major advantage to people who don't want to eat the limited choice the town's comedors / restaurants offer: that is meat / things that have been deep fried.
Wifi is available in the courtyard. Staff are lovely. Security is excellent. The vibe is peaceful. In short, this place is an extremely good deal.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
7  Thank AJSardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pide una habitación en el primer piso y que tenga nevera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuPiNou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Garangoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sanbarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank capoeivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niekje G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.1 mi away
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
0.2 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Dona Manuela
Hostal Dona Manuela
#4 of 13 in Mompos
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jardines Evans
Hotel Jardines Evans
#3 of 13 in Mompos
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa Amarilla
La Casa Amarilla
#1 of 14 in Mompos
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Espana

Address: Calle Real del Medio 17A-52, Mompos 132560, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Mompos
Price Range: $54 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa de Espana is located in downtown's Mompox. It is near to main places of the "Land of God" that you would pobably like to know. For instance, the well-known Churches of Santa Barbara and San Agustin are close to the hotel. We have 16 confortable rooms equiped with air conditioner, TV, Internet access and a power generator. At the hotel you will have the chance to buy snacks and drinks if you would like to. We also offer you a special area for events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa de Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing