We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Amarilla
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I spent two nights at the Casa Amarilla. I stayed in room 3, which I think was one of the smaller suites. The Casa Amarilla is a very nice hotel, beautiful gardens, nice common areas, and the room was comfortable as well. There's a nice synergy there with fellow travelers. I found the bed to be comfortable, the bathroom was fine, though there was no hot water (the hot water tap didn't even turn on water). I can't recall if hot water was promised or not. Frankly, I didn't need it anyway. Wifi was strong and easy to use. Staff were as friendly and helpful as could be. Air conditioning was nice and fans were strong.

I'm somewhat sorry to say I didn't find Mompos itself to be the tranquil, enchanting place that many made it out to be. It's an arduous 8-9 hour journey from Cartagena, and though it is smaller, tranquil would not be the way I would describe it. The constant stream of motorcycles, scooters, and honks etc gave it a busy, bustling feel. I went out at 6:00 a.m. to try and see it when it was more quiet, and that helped a bit. I wanted to see the colonial architecture and churches, and two were cordoned off due to construction, so that was a disappointment. I did very much enjoy the cemetery, and bought two beautiful pieces of jewelry. It probably would have been an ideal day trip for me, but ended up taking three days -- too much, unfortunately. Some places resonate with some people, others do not. Still, if you make the journey, I can heartily recommend Casa Amarilla.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 257 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

It's a home away from home. The free loaner bicycles are a great way to see the town and surroundings. Boat trip is awesome. Guests are great company and sources of info about the town and where to go next. The staff is great and are happy to help with your laundry. Breakfast is great. One drawback, there are a few mosquitoes and they can get into the bedrooms, but that's probably common to just about everywhere in Mompos. However, mosquito nets for the beds might be nice. Go up to the roof for a good view, go to the river at sunrise for good colors. Swimming across the river and back is fun but be prepared for a walk back upstream. There is a unique restaurant about 100 feet upstream, with a ten-foot high fork out front, you might have to knock and ask when it might be open. For good jewelry at a good price, see the guy at the entrance to the cemetery.

Room Tip: So far as I could tell, there are nice doubles / suites on the second floor, singles and dorm rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riotanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

If you are heading to Mompos with plans to relax or have a nice boat/bicycle trip it's actually your best choice. There are only two disadvantages: it's not the cheapest (although not really expensive and the quality is worth it) and it's not in the centre (what might be a advantage as well). Location itself is very good (informal beer garden, river) and a host is a great companion and story teller.
Lucas, Poland.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I spent five nights at La Casa Amarilla and absolutely loved it. I wanted a quiet, peaceful place to rest after a very busy year and I found it here. La Casa Amarilla is a lovely little place with comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast. Its pleasant staff are always cleaning and scrubbing to keep it nice. Richard and Alba are very helpful and willing to share their knowledge of the area and its history. I was particularly interested in what it took to buy and restore an historic house and Richard was happy to describe the experience in detail. The hotel is next to the river, which I loved. Be sure to take the river trip that Richard will recommend. It is spectacular. Mompox and La Casa Amarilla are perfect for kicking back and enjoying a part of the world that might be missed by many travelers but which should be on everyone's list.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 462Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent two nights in Casa Amarilla in Room No. 2 at 135.000 COP per night, including breakfast and had to move to another hotel because there was no room left the rest of our stay. The location is fine, facing the river but somehow a bit far from the action (4-5 blocks walking). A nice breakfast was included. The hotel is hosted in a fantastic colonial building which has unfortunately only been refurbished according to low local standards (glass door of the shower doesn´t fit, blurs of white on our pillows and all over the room including the TV set from the last painting exercise). Also, cleanliness could be improved: We had a lot of dust in our lamps and some greasy stuff on our night table which was removed after claiming. In the communal kitchen, we found a bowl of rotten rice in the cupboard which was "forgotten" by some traveller. I truly think those things are not acceptable in that price category and we have found better maintained hotels while checking out for night three and four of our stay even in Mompox at a lower price. It is somehow sad because the hotel definitely has potential for more. Maybe the owner could spend some more time to control things. We only saw him collecting the money on the last day. Like this, I think competitors like Casa Espana where we spent the remaining two nights are doing a better job at the moment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swolpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCAMompos, Owner at La Casa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Oliver, slamming us for cleanliness when we refused to give you a discount is a pretty cowardly way of getting back at us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in Casa Amarilla for 4 days in December. We hotel itself is situated right on the river front offering fantastic views and a nice walk down the promenade into the main square, probably 10 minutes.

The hotel is built around a central courtyard with seating areas and hammocks to relax in. Breakfast is included and delicious coffee is available whenever you need.

Richard, the owner, arranged for a stunning boat trip through the wetlands which is highly recommended. Eagles, cranes and a multitude of other species are abundant and

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stjohn and Clar... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a great hostel! Anyone who makes the off-the-beaten-track journey to Mompos will appreciate the lengths to which the Casa Amarilla has gone to make this charming, informative and homely base from which to explore this fascinating region. Right on the banks of the river, you'd be hard pushed to find a more perfect place to stay in Mompos! The staff is prepared to go out of their way to assist not only in helping organize trips and activities but also onward travel. I'm looking forward to heading back to Mompos next year and hopefully I'll have time to explore a little more of the surrounding area!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.5 mi away
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
0.2 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel La Casa Del Viajero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Dona Manuela
Hostal Dona Manuela
#2 of 13 in Mompos
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Sol de Agua
Casa Sol de Agua
#7 of 15 in Mompos
6 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz de Mompox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Address: Cra 1 13-59 | La Albarrada con Coco Solo, Mompos, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Mompos
Price Range: $60 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true guesthouse in a colonial mansion in front of the river for travelers in Mompos. We have comfortable, spacious and clean en suite private rooms as well as more economical "backpacker rooms", a communal kitchen, a sitting room with cable TV and a large colonial main room. The Casa Amarilla is equipped with wifi and hammocks sway between the pillars of the house around the internal garden and those who come for just a day or two often end up spending more time enjoying the roof terrace and company of other like-minded voyagers. Come and enjoy colonial Mompos - the Garciamarquian heartland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing