We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place but staff could be better...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Amarilla
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Good place but staff could be better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here in September 2013. We had the most expensive room and it was very nice. Alba was very helpful in her correspondence and gave us a special rate. The hotel has character, is clean, and is very well locate, but the staff were not as helpful as in other places that we stayed in Colombia. In particular the main person in charge of the hotel, Carmen, was ok, but absent most of the time leaving no-one on the front desk. She was ok but never really around and not very forthcoming or helpful. She said she would arrange a boat trip for us, but did not let us know what was happening so we spent most of one afternoon waiting around, only to find out eventually when we got her on the phone that the trip could not go ahead. This was disappointing for us as the boat trip is the best thing to do in Mompos. Fortunately we found a guy in another hotel who arranged it for us as this was our last day in Mompos and we had travelled over 12 hours to come to Mompos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro-y-Ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    46
    19
    11
    0
See reviews for
22
91
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

we were a bit frustrated about not knowing were to stay in mompoz but our shuttle took us to casa amarilla and it was the right choice: its a lovely hotel (with dorms) right next to the river, but only minutes away from the center. the rooms are absolutely clean with a very high standart. the prize is nothing compared to the quality of the rooms...if only all hostels we stayed in this last weeks would have been like this lovely place with joyful staff and open atmosphere- we´ll definetly come back!!
BEST PLACE to stay in MOMOPOX

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have never been in Colombia before and I had the most wonderful experience in my life. When we went with my wife to Mompos we stayed at Casa Amarilla in one of their suites. The attention we recieved was first class level. Carmen, the manager, was SO KIND with us, she helped us with everything. We even met the owners of the hotel, who are wonderful, and gave us great advises for out trip in Colombia. The bedroom was great, cozy, bathroom was very neat. And the breakfast was fresh fruit, natural orange juice, colombian cheese. :) I strongly recommend to stay here when you are in Mompos

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eli Abraham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a reservation, which the receptionist ignored and we were also told that they do not have a "colonial room" (as per homepage). So we had to stay in a shared room (we arrived late in the evening and did not want to look around for another accomodation). The next day they aplogised and we got an upgrade, but then they tooka away the remote control for the air conditon ("that is not included in your price" ?!?). In both rooms we found hair in the bathroom, that was definitely no from us and in one used tissues and dust under the bed. I am travelling a lot, but have never experienced a that unfreindly service. The inner yard and the rooms look nice, but better cleaning and friendly service should be included in the price. The staff does not speak English, only Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerti1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCAMompos, Owner at La Casa Amarilla, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am very sorry that you have felt the need to write such a harsh criticism of the Casa Amarilla twice! The first time you complained about different things and the review was removed, and you promoted another hotel. This time, you are still complaining about the lack of English spoken. You are in Mompos, Colombia, this is like complaining that water is wet. We have scoured the books and checked records, emails, phone and so on and have no record of your reservation. We can only feel now that this is a "hate campaign" being waged by a competitor as it stands awry of every other review we have ever received in 6 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely delightful little place. Extremely well kept by the warm and welcoming staff. Perfect place to relax for a few days.

Staff are more than happy to inform you about the history of the town and give you advice about what there is to do too, from a locals perspective and from an outsiders so you get the best of both worlds.

Very well priced options from low budget to slightly upper market, for families, couples or solo travellers.

Extremely pleasant breakfast served whenever you get up by the owner's Mother in law who if your in the mood for it early morning is lovely to chat with and practise some Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've travelled around most of Colombia, but this was my favourite place to stay, by far. Mompox itself is a must. If you've even read just a page of Garcia Marquez, it will feel magically familiar. It is a perfect place to relax and soak in the past. Casa Amarilla has the service you could only have in a family run place. As well as being a beautiful and elegant retreat from the heat, the huge beds and blissfully cool rooms with proper showers, are an oasis, it is the attention from the staff that makes you feel really at home. I stayed for a week, and could have stayed for much longer. Breakfasts...lots of fruit! They also have bikes so you can explore the town and hang out with the Momposinos. Best most friendly place I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After travelling around South America for 8 months, Mompos was exactly what I needed, a beautifully relaxed town!
La Casa Amarilla provided everything I needed to supplement my chilled out stay; big high ceiling rooms, great local rocking chairs and a stunning rooftop terrace to watch the sun go down with a beer!
The breakfast is far from standard, fresh fruit, juice, smooth Colombian coffee and eggs cooked to perfection!
Carmen, the hostel manager, is great, you don't need to worry about arranging transport or where to eat, she arranges it all if you ask. And Richard was only an email away with information on all of Colombia.
If only I'd had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginikeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mompos
0.5 mi away
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
0.2 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Punta Faro
Punta Faro
#1 of 2 in Isla Mucura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel La Casa Del Viajero Mompox
0.4 mi away
Casa Hotel Villa de Mompox
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Jardines Evans
#5 of 8 in Mompos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Property: La Casa Amarilla
Address: Cra 1 13-59 | La Albarrada con Coco Solo, Mompos, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Mompos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true guesthouse in a colonial mansion in front of the river for travelers in Mompos. We have comfortable, spacious and clean en suite private rooms as well as more economical "backpacker rooms", a communal kitchen, a sitting room with cable TV and a large colonial main room. The Casa Amarilla is equipped with wifi and hammocks sway between the pillars of the house around the internal garden and those who come for just a day or two often end up spending more time enjoying the roof terrace and company of other like-minded voyagers. Come and enjoy colonial Mompos - the Garciamarquian heartland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing