We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly staff”
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Amarilla
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Mompos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a reservation, which the receptionist ignored and we were also told that they do not have a "colonial room" (as per homepage). So we had to stay in a shared room (we arrived late in the evening and did not want to look around for another accomodation). The next day they aplogised and we got an upgrade, but then they tooka away the remote control for the air conditon ("that is not included in your price" ?!?). In both rooms we found hair in the bathroom, that was definitely no from us and in one used tissues and dust under the bed. I am travelling a lot, but have never experienced a that unfreindly service. The inner yard and the rooms look nice, but better cleaning and friendly service should be included in the price. The staff does not speak English, only Spanish.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gerti1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCAMompos, Owner at La Casa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am very sorry that you have felt the need to write such a harsh criticism of the Casa Amarilla twice! The first time you complained about different things and the review was removed, and you promoted another hotel. This time, you are still complaining about the lack of English spoken. You are in Mompos, Colombia, this is like complaining that water is wet. We have scoured the books and checked records, emails, phone and so on and have no record of your reservation. We can only feel now that this is a "hate campaign" being waged by a competitor as it stands awry of every other review we have ever received in 6 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 260 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Absolutely delightful little place. Extremely well kept by the warm and welcoming staff. Perfect place to relax for a few days.

Staff are more than happy to inform you about the history of the town and give you advice about what there is to do too, from a locals perspective and from an outsiders so you get the best of both worlds.

Very well priced options from low budget to slightly upper market, for families, couples or solo travellers.

Extremely pleasant breakfast served whenever you get up by the owner's Mother in law who if your in the mood for it early morning is lovely to chat with and practise some Spanish.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've travelled around most of Colombia, but this was my favourite place to stay, by far. Mompox itself is a must. If you've even read just a page of Garcia Marquez, it will feel magically familiar. It is a perfect place to relax and soak in the past. Casa Amarilla has the service you could only have in a family run place. As well as being a beautiful and elegant retreat from the heat, the huge beds and blissfully cool rooms with proper showers, are an oasis, it is the attention from the staff that makes you feel really at home. I stayed for a week, and could have stayed for much longer. Breakfasts...lots of fruit! They also have bikes so you can explore the town and hang out with the Momposinos. Best most friendly place I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After travelling around South America for 8 months, Mompos was exactly what I needed, a beautifully relaxed town!
La Casa Amarilla provided everything I needed to supplement my chilled out stay; big high ceiling rooms, great local rocking chairs and a stunning rooftop terrace to watch the sun go down with a beer!
The breakfast is far from standard, fresh fruit, juice, smooth Colombian coffee and eggs cooked to perfection!
Carmen, the hostel manager, is great, you don't need to worry about arranging transport or where to eat, she arranges it all if you ask. And Richard was only an email away with information on all of Colombia.
If only I'd had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginikeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and booked a suite without air conditioning. That was a mistake, we definitely needed air conditioning, Mompox is a hot and humid town. In the end we negotiated air conditioning for the same price as without, which was nice.

The rooms are very large with big, comfortable beds and high ceilings. The bathrooms are large enough with very good showers. My one complaint would be that when we arrived the room and bathroom had a lot of mosquitoes (this is a tropical wetland after all), but there aren't any mosquito nets over the beds. They do spray the rooms with insecticide, but a small investment in mosquito nets would have made me feel a lot happier about sleeping in the room. That said, I don't think we got bitten in the room.

The staff are friendly and helpful, including helping us arrange a trip down the river. Although when we arrive the manager wasn't there and a young boy seemed to be manning the reception. He was far too interested in facebook to get of the sofa to help me to get a new lightbulb for the bedside table in the room. That aside, everyone was very nice.

All-in-all a good place to base yourself in Mompox, but the addition of bed nets would be welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CumbrianCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCAMompos, Owner at La Casa Amarilla, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the Casa Amarilla. I am most pleased that you enjoyed the Casa and Mompos, it sounds like you got the feeling of the town. Regarding mosquito nets, we have one month of mosquitoes a year here and over 5 years of considering nets, we have found that our fans are powerful enough to work as prevention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Do you enjoy reading Gabriel Gracia Márquez? Do you want to have a relaxing experience when the time goles 100 years back, but not in solitude.... Well, that is Mompox and that is La Casa Amarilla... An oasis in Colombia... Only sometimes affected by the "vallenato", a local music that makes everything more real.... Thanks a lot for the time we sent there! Is wrthy to try....

Room Tip: The number 10 is my favourite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Casa Amarilla is an amazing oasis in the dust and heat of Mompós, but we also enjoyed a lot the town with its particular atmosphere. The hostel has clean, spatious and comfortable rooms and a beautiful patio. As anywhere else in Colombia, it seems to be easier to reserve by mail than by one of the booking sites.

Room Tip: Private rooms are well worth the extra charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuiyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mompos hotels
0.5 mi away
Bioma Boutique Hotel Mompox
0.2 mi away
Portal de la Marquesa
Portal de la Marquesa
#2 of 2 in Mompos
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel La Casa Del Viajero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#7 of 13 in Mompos
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz de Mompox
0.3 mi away
Casa Sol de Agua
Casa Sol de Agua
#9 of 15 in Mompos
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Address: Cra 1 13-59 | La Albarrada con Coco Solo, Mompos, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Mompos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Mompos
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only true guesthouse in a colonial mansion in front of the river for travelers in Mompos. We have comfortable, spacious and clean en suite private rooms as well as more economical "backpacker rooms", a communal kitchen, a sitting room with cable TV and a large colonial main room. The Casa Amarilla is equipped with wifi and hammocks sway between the pillars of the house around the internal garden and those who come for just a day or two often end up spending more time enjoying the roof terrace and company of other like-minded voyagers. Come and enjoy colonial Mompos - the Garciamarquian heartland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing