We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well maintained” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Agustin Archaeological Park

San Agustin Archaeological Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mountainous prehistoric site contains many imposing megalithic monuments and tombs with impressive sculptures.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

About a 30min walk from town or a short ride on a collectivo (1200 pesos) from town which run continuously. Entry is 20000 pesos for two days so you can go to the other sites if you want to but unless you are really into history, one park is probably enough. It takes a few hours to get around the park but most of the sites are close together. Most of the signs are in Spanish and English but there are guides at the entrance if you want one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    143
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
949 reviews
362 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Burial sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very different from any other south american archaeological park. We enjoyed it very much. Go rafting in the morning and do the park in the afternoon when is colder.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I wasn't sure whether the statues of San Agustin would be worth the side trip, but they were! The park is great and full of lots of information. The museum was closed when we were there, but I felt that the park was sufficient even without the museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HarrimanEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was nice....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The set up was really neat, gorgeous pathways and very put together. Yet, they raised the prices to get tourists to go see more of the park and to fund the new museum which we couldn't visit. If you have any sort of student id you get in half price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the reason for going to San Agustin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

As the title suggests, this is the reason for going to San Agustin. It is not only interesting but also a very beautiful park.

I enjoyed just walking around the park as much as the statutes. It has large open grassy spaces with trees for shade. It also has bamboo structures where you can sit down and enjoy your lunch or just admire the surrounding views. The place is well spaced out so expect to do quite a lot of walking- wear comfortable shoes and bring lots of sunscreen if hot! Expect to spend 2-3 hours there.

You can get there by bus (1000 pesos March 2013), walk (3kms uphill) or by taxi.

I do not think you need a tour of this site as there a numerous placards with information in both Spanish and English.

I suggest that if it is a nice day take a picnic lunch with you and enjoy the large open spaces or bamboo structures.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aihua8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Agustin Archaeological Park also viewed

San Agustin, Huila Department
San Agustin, Huila Department
 
San Agustin, Huila Department
San Agustin, Huila Department
 

Been to San Agustin Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing