We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bucolic place on the hills of San Agustin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Ecologica El Maco
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place is about 2km from town, but already feels like you are miles away from civilization. The hostel is on a green hill at the back of town and it´s made up by different cabins or huts, one for each room. You can choose between 4 options, sleeping on a hammock under a roof beside the kitchen (they give you a sleeping bag, a blanket and a mosquito net so although it might be a bit humid (no walls) you will not be cold), a dorm solution in a clean nice cabin, a private hut or a private cabin. Each cabin is set in a garden, each a decent distant apart from each other. The place also has a small restaurant which serves excellent natural breakfast and has a good menu for dinner (I never had dinner so I can´t comment). To get there take calle 5, which is the road that from town takes you towards the parque Arquelogico and after a bit less than a km take a right on a dirt road (the place is indicated together with other camping grounds). Form here it´s another 500m a good part of which on a steep road up, so if you have a lot of luggage you might want to take a taxi on the way there. There is a few dogs in the hostel and around and lots of roosters so, although the place is really quiet, if you have a light sleep you might find it hard to have a continuous sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 69 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed one night in the cabana (dorm) and had it to ourselves. It had a private bathroom with hot showers, which is not standard in Colombia. Beds were comfortable and equipped with mosquito nets.
They also have a restaurant which offers good food at reasonable prices; especially the breakfast was very good. There is a 20 to 30 minute wait though, as they prepare everything fresh.
The finca is located halfway between San Agustin and the archeological park, it takes about 20 minutes to walk there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalif_storch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Fina El Maco is a good choice for travellers visiting San Agustin, perhaps better suited to backpackers than 'real' tourists. The cabins are located in a little garden on a hillside. They are a little way out of town on the way to the main archaeological park. Our cabin was basic but adequate with it's own hot water bathroom. We could however hear every word said by our neighbours in the ajoining cabin. The restaurant served a wide menu including a good Thai green curry.

One thing I found annoying was that if you wanted anything you could not just go and ask. You had to ring a buzzer and wait for someone to come from the main house across the yard guarded by 'perros bravos'. This would be fine if they came when you rang said buzzer, on some occasions we waited up to half an hour for someone to come and attend to us. On one occasion I could see somebody sitting in the house, I rang the buzzer and also called out to them but they just ignored me. An irritating system seemingly desgined so your guests can't bother you.

Having said that, when we did get hold of him the Switz owner was friendly and accomodating. Also as mentioned in the previous review guide Pacho is helpful and can organise whichever activity you want (jeep tour, horse riding).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Finca el Maco is a great choice for accomodation, it can suit different kinds of needs, there are camping spots, hammocks, a dorm room and several private bungalows which vary in space and comfort. The location is beautiful and surrounded by green and hills, the rooms are nice and clean and the service is friendly.
There is a restaurant which serves good breakfasts and meals, a computer from which to access internet (they charge slightly more than the ones in town) and upon request they organise tours with trusted guides in the surrounding area. A interesting experience is the horsebackriding with Pacho, one of their guides, if you have some time he also offers the possibility of longer trips, as to ecuador.

Finca el maco is located about 1,5km from the central square of san agustin, the last bit is uphill, its not bad but if you have your bags with you or are not a fan of walking its definitively better to take a taxi in town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Alexandre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Na D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.0 mi away
Finca El Cielo
Finca El Cielo
#1 of 2 in San Agustin
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Platypus
Casa Platypus
#98 of 269 in Bogota
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Alto de los Andaquies
Hostal Alto de los Andaquies
#2 of 2 in San Agustin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Villa Colonial
Casa Villa Colonial
#108 of 156 in Cartagena
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 110 in Medellin
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Nelly
Hotel Casa de Nelly
#1 of 27 in San Agustin
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Ecologica El Maco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Ecologica El Maco

Address: San Agustin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Huila Department > San Agustin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in San Agustin
Price Range: $22 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Finca Ecologica El Maco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing