We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the BEST relaxation spot in Troncones” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Suenos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Suenos
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
GreenLeadersSilver level
Puebla, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“simply the BEST relaxation spot in Troncones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have been to Troncones many times over the last 12 years, but this by far was the most relaxing place we have ever stayed at! The owner was so helpful and accommodating when we needed a last minute reservation and when we decided to stay an extra night! The family suite was amazing!!! We also got to look at one of the other suites which was beautiful as well. The on-site manager, Bill, was a great host, friendly and helpful, but not overbearing at all. The room was super clean, super comfortable beds, a great layout with great decorations and with an absolutely awesome ocean view!! And the hammock inside the room, what a great idea!! The ocean out front was also the perfect spot, not rocky at all! The pool was fantastic! Always clean and a great design, with various levels and underwater seating to encourage relaxing while watching and listening to the waves! We also loved all the seating areas around the pool, under the palapas, and out on the beach. We sat in all the areas and had a blast playing some board games at the tables in the patio area. Our goal was to have a nice relaxing family vacation, and Los Sueños Hotel definitely played a huge part in accomplishing that goal! My 15year old daughter kept telling us that we got the best place in Troncones, and we agreed!! Many times one returns home from a vacation feeling like they need another vacation, due to unexpected inconveniences at the hotel they stay at, etc. We did NOT feel this way when we got home! On the contrary, we talked all the way home and for these 2 days after about how wonderful it was and how relaxed we still are feeling!! We have already decided that we hope to take a yearly september troncones vacation and that it will ALWAYS be at Los Sueños. No doubt about it, this is the place to stay! THANKS to the owner, the manager, and the wonderful staff at the hotel for making our family feel at home for 3 glorious days! We will DEFINITELY be back!!! :)

Room Tip: The family suite is really comfortable and is so spacious, which can help when travelling with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmcmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Found this place by accident, but what a find! If you are looking for quiet times, with only the sound of the ocean to comfort you, this is the place. With only 8 rooms it is never crowded, the rooms are large and clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. The serve yourself beer fridge is always stocked and the honor system is used to settle up at the end of your stay. Christine was a wonderful host. I had some travel difficulties while there and she went above and beyond to help me figure things out in a place where I did not speak the language. I also got to spend some time with Duke, Christines charismatic golden lab, who had a great personality. There are 3 friendly cats roaming around too for you cat people! I hope to go back next season!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgalla4728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

The location is great, right on the beach. The owner is warm, welcoming and helpful. The grounds are immaculate, filled with flowers and the pool has lounge chairs with umbrellas by the pool. The outdoor bar-b-que is nice for grilling fish from the days catch. The morning coffee, yogurt drink and granola bar make a nice meeting area with other visitors. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with good beds, and a nice sitting area with coffee table. The resident dog, Duke, is a sweetheart as are the three cats. I will recommend this hotel to my friends!! whole heartedly.

Room Tip: There are six rooms that have the same layout. The top three have a nicer view of the ocean but low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMAgringa3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had the good fortune of finding this place by accident. Our only wish is that we could have stayed much, much longer. The owner Christine is a very welcoming host. The rooms are spacious, cool, clean and comfortable. The pool, gardens and outdoor seating area is just beautiful and a few steps from the beach. It's in a quiet area but the town and restaurants are an easy 5-10 mins walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fi-kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Just returned home last night from a week in Troncones. We spent a week at Los Suenos and had a great stay there. It's close to town and a couple steps from the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The best part was our host Christine.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just reporting in that we returned from ANOTHER great stay at Los Suenos. Christine is a great host, and all of my past comments from my last review are still true. This was a mother-daughter trip, 5 moms, 5 toddlers. We had a wonderful time. The kids LOVE playing in the pool with its wide, long steps....and finally warmed up to jumping in the waves of the ocean.

Some of us drove from San Miguel de Allende to Troncones (6 hours in the car), and others flew from the States into Ixtapa/Zihuat to meet in Troncones. While TripAdvisor reports a security alert/warning for this area, I want to comment how safe and uneventful our trip was. The drive was uneventful with not one check-point in either direction....just one delay for bridge construction. And those that flew into Ixtapa/Zihuat reported easy travels. I feel completely safe traveling in this area and feel comfortable recommending the trip / safety to others.

As for activities: We took the kids horseback riding at sundown one day....they bring the horses right to Los Suenos for departure right from the Los Suenos beach. We all loved it....60 minutes was the perfect length excursion. While we made many of our meals at Los Suenos and celebrated a toddler birthday with a mini-party, we enjoyed our smoothies and breakfast at Cafe Sol and visited the beautiful grounds of the Present Moment Retreat for sunset drinks.

So why Los Suenos? great location, beautiful grounds, kid-friendly and adult friendly pool, a dog/vacuum cleaner to clean up after the kids, air conditioning, communal kitchen, comfortable villas/apartment, friendly/helpful owner, easy location for visiting restaurants and stocking up on snacks or ice cream at the nearby tienda.

Room Tip: villa 3 has internet reception inside....maybe the units upstairs do too. Otherwise, wireless inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank changosauria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

I have visited Troncones 7-8 times and have stayed at Los Suenos the last 4 times with another trip in November planned. We scoped out all the hotels. I look for deals...I want to be comfortable, have access to a kitchen, nice quiet ambiance, and I don't want to pay a fortune. In Troncones, I want to be a quick walking-distance from Cafe Sol and other restaurants/stores in the village. Los Suenos is just a few steps away from a handful of restaurants. Want a sunset horseback ride? The horses and guides will pick you up right on the beach in front of Los Suenos. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. There's a porta-crib available which came in hand for our girls and their baby girls trip to the beach (which we're repeating this year). Between the pool and the beach, everyone is happy! And Christine is a great host!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank changosauria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
14.9 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.8 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
135.9 mi away
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
Hotel Roberto's Bistro
#10 of 16 in Troncones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Suenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos

Property: Los Suenos
Address: Avienda de Playa, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy that relaxing tropical vacation you've always dreamed of taking! Start your day looking at the ocean while you enjoy complimentary organic coffee on our patio, and in the evening, savor those last glowing rays of the incredible sunset.Los Suenos is a small oceanfront hotel in the village of Troncones. Right on the beach, the hotel offers guests the opportunity to relax in a comfortable family owned hotel with accommodations including a two-bedroom family suite, our six large villa (king bed) rooms, and the simple yet functional surfer room. Los Suenos is the best place in Troncones for singles, couples, families and small groups. Everyone has private space (their own suite with an outdoor sitting area) and the community areas are varied so guests can hang out together, or spread out to smaller conversation areas. The hotel is a five minute walk to several good restaurants, from tasty inexpensive Mexican to great Argentinian steak. You can walk to any bar or restaurant in town, and enjoy a great margarita or a cold cerveza, or keep beer and snacks in your room refrigerator. We have a facility kitchen and the Family Suite and the surfer room each have private kitchens.Our pool is particularly good for children and the beach in front of us is great for beginning and more experienced surfers and boogie boarders. We can arrange for manicures and pedicures, massages, surf lessons, bike rental and the like. Christine, the on site manager, is a great source for info about where to go and what to do in the area.Just 45 minutes from the international airport, you'll love Los Suenos and want to stay forever! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing