We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Viva Troncones
Ranked #4 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This location is magnificent. The food is delicious. I had an opportunity to truly get reacquainted with nature in a manner that I couldn't, living in a city. Well Casa Viva is no city of people - just an abundance of life - very alive and pure planet earth.

Bravo Casa Viva

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamouzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had such a wonderful time at Casa Viva, a true vacation. This trip was a family vacation with six adults and 4 small children ranging in ages 8 months to 4 years. The kids had the time of their lives playing on the beach, finding seashells, watching the sealife and wildlife around Casa Viva. We went horseback riding and even got to watch baby turtles get released into the ocean! Who needs the television when you have so much to do outside!
We were met every morning with a fantastic breakfast to start our day. Our Casa Viva host, Elvira also made us dinner per our request 3 times and she was a fabulous cook! Casa Viva surroundings were breathtaking, the food was great and we were in total relaxation for the 6 1/2 days that we spent there, even with 4 small children! Can't wait to go back again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwards0427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Casa Viva was one of our best holiday experiences ever. Everything from the location, the staff,the architecture of the place, the food and the pool was perfect. Casa Viva staff members Elvira, Benito, and Liboria attended our daily requests and general needs with genuine grace and warmth. Everything what Elvira cooks was just perfect (from huge Mexican breakfasts including homemade tortillas, huevos rancheros and fresh fruits to fabulous fresh fish and seafood dishes). Casa Viva is beautifully kept up and very clean. The sourrounding garden of Casa Viva is overwhelming and full of tropical plants and beutiful butterflies, birds, lizards iguana and crabs. Troncones itself is a very nice small mexican coast village with very nice inhabitants. The open arichtecture of Casa Viva with beautiful vistas al mar is just amazing. The pool where you could relax just perfectly while having a cold beer during an hot mexican day is outstanding.We stayed in the round casita and tapanco above the living area. We postponed our departure for three days just to enjoy our perfect holiday a little bit longer.

Tanja & Christoph

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Casa Viva is simultaneously an understated and quietly overwhelming, lush, living-dream-residence.

Intimate, with plenty of ambiental options to retreat into privacy or mingle naturally.

Casa Viva staff members Elvira, Benito, and Liboria attended our daily requests and general needs with genuine grace, warmth, and aplomb. Elvira’s kitchen and cookery are a savory whirl and wonder of coastal / regional delights.

The grounds are beautifully kept, and alive with various butterflies, bright sonorous birds, and several species of lizards and iguana. I saw either a zoro ( fox ) or perhaps a tejón (badger) in the madrigal light , and we remain pretty sure what we heard was javelin (boar) snuffling through the grounds one evening. The lot on the North of the living area has been kept wild( by Casa Viva), as a refuge and home for the same creatures. At least 3 kinds of crickets sound off in the evening, followed shortly by bat hour, overlapping slightly with lightning bug hour.

Manzanillo Bay is a treasure for sun bathers, waders and surfers. I found surf heaven at La Punta, from mellow to Carramba! And Majahua just beyond is all but undiscovered and unforgettable on horseback, enough said. Troncones itself is a diminutive and vibrant small town, a harmonious blend of residents and visitors from inland Mejico and norteamericanos. All astride a dusty beach road, where diminutive land crabs scuttle across the road, claws aloft, to challenge bicycles and SUV’s alike.

The architecture and accommodations at Casa Viva are singularly beautiful and natural, which evoke the very terrain, shapes and sea around you. If you are lucky, you may see sea turtles ( overnight tracks) on the beach, or passerby dolphins in the surf.

Both sightings will be virtually assured if you take a lancha ride with “Samba” out of Majahua, for sight seeing, surfing, or fishing for Dorado, Yello Fin, or Huachinango (Red Snapper).

We remain very moved by our experience at Casa Viva. What the Hawaiians call “aloha” is alive and well in Troncones. Try to plan a longer residence and really breathe together with the place itself. We are deeply glad we did, and are already envisioning our return.

Corey & Debra Sue
Berkeley, CA
August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank healthychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Everything looks just like the pictures. We loved the individual houses and having our own space at night, but then all hanging out together in the main house most of the time. We lounged in the pool and drank loads of complimentary beer. Several of us wanted to read, several people wanted to use the computer, some people swam or ran on the beach. Sometimes I just wondered around the property taking pictures of all the birds and plants on the property. We had a great time making pizza with Elvira. I highly recommend you just hire her to cook for the week unless you really enjoy cooking. We normally make our own meals, but next time we're just stocking the fridge and letting her do all the cooking. We also took surfing lessons with Michael Lin. He's a great surfing instructure and a lot of fun. We're definately doing more lessons next year. We also lucked out and found a Tai Chi master at Present Moments while we are there. That was a blast, but really hard. Besides lounging, our favorite thing is riding the combi to saladita beach and boogie boarding for hours--bring lots of sunscreen and water.
All in great time and great house!.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diver222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We loved our second visit here. The area felt completely safe. Very clean, delicious food, the cook is willing to accomodate children and special diets. Beautiful and accessible. I recommend renting a car, the cab from the a/p is expensive. Also bring a flashlight, insect repellant, and shampoo. We loved the wildlife right there -- lizards, beetles, crabs, birds, even a snake -- the kids were fascinated. Hot there this time of year -- but also very few other tourists -- often had the whole, amazing coastline to ourselves as far as we could see in either direction. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
Thank pacificafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

This place is fabulous! We had the most relaxing and romantic vacation ever!

Open space right on the beach, amazing pool, hammock swings, open kitchen, architecturally gorgeous! The whole place is eco-friendly, using solar power, grey water for the plants, recycling everything. It was perfect for my husband and I, but would be fun for a group or family reunion. We looked at lots of places in
Troncones, but none were nearly as nice as Casa Viva Troncones.
We had the whole 'compound' to ourselves most of the week!

Food: Casa Viva includes huge Mexican breakfasts including fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, chilequiles, something different every morning! Fresh squeezed OJ, handmade tortillas, excellent coffee. We didn't need lunch after all that food.
We had a staff of 3 people to ourselves. Benito washed our car without us asking!

Pool: The most gorgeous I've ever seen! Exotic birds clean their feathers next to lizards along the pool edge.

There are 2 bikes you can ride to yoga or into town for gelato. There's wifi - check your email sitting by the pool. Free Skype phone so you can call people in the U.S. for free.

Rooms: we stayed in the round casita. It's an open casita with king bed and mosquito netting. The shower has wood shutters that you can open to watch the ocean while you shower! The casita is very spacious - much bigger than the ones at Present Moment. And it's situated to take in the ocean breezes at night. Very clean. Very well kept up.

Yoga: Don't stay at Present Moment! They squeeze 10 casitas into the same space as Casa Viva, which has 3. They have no privacy. And they have no breeze because the restaurant blocks it.
Just bike, walk, or drive the mile to your morning yoga classes. You can walk there on the beach. Present Moment's food is very expensive too.
Get the staff at Casa Viva to make fresh fish for you for dinner instead!

Surfing: There is always surf. Rent a board at Inn at Manzanillo (5 minutes away) and
drive to Saladita or the Ranch.

We're planning a return trip later this year.
Downside: the beach is not a swimming beach due to rocks, so you have
to walk 5 minutes down to the kids swimming beach.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robynSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 8 in Troncones
197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
14 reviews
16.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#2 of 78 in Zihuatanejo
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 8 in Troncones
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
#14 of 15 in Troncones
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 9 in Troncones
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Troncones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Troncones

Address: Costera, Troncones, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viva is simple elegance and natural luxury. The spacious casitas (suites) and common area with pool and jacuzzi are spread across 80 meters of beachfront on your private cove between Troncones and Manzanillo. Private and reserved, meals can be arranged with cook so you never leave the premise. Sleeps up to 16-20 comfortably, rent the entire property or just one Casita. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing