We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of paradise..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Viva Troncones
Ranked #4 of 15 Troncones B&B and Inns
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slice of paradise..”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

LOVED our stay! Arrived intending to stay 2 nights and stayed an extra day!What a gorgeous space. We seriously did not want to leave and our 7 hour drive back to Mexico City was not the chirpiest!

The casitas are beautifully designed to blend in with the surroundings and are large and airy and we just loved how everything was open to nature. The communal areas are just perfect for whiling away the hours, reading, playing chess or just watching the waves/birds/turtles in the distance... Equally the beaches either side of Casa Viva are stunning-great for swimming (for confident adult swimmers) and surfing. We loved seeing the turtles laying eggs and baby turtles hatching further down the beach.

Benito and Elvira were such gracious hosts who went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful one. The breakfasts and dinners were simply delicious...not sure tomorrow's bowl of cereal will measure up!

They thankfully provided us with Maglites, but bringing torches would be good advice for stormy nights!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Careyes, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I have long been fans of Troncones, we have traveled there for the last 4 years. He likes to surf, I like to rest, eat, do yoga and walk on the beach. Considering we manage and work at a high end resort on the pacific coast of Mexico (Careyes), we always considered Troncones a perfect destination to "chill out". We had seen Casa Viva on our walks on the beach, until this past June we decide to book our stay there. We had an amazing time. The villa is a work of art, beautiful architecture, the use of wood and natural materials make it very organic yet comfortable, the bungalows or "casitas" are perfect, they are large enough to be able to spend time in them, reading, sitting on the porches, from the bed you can see the ocean!! , but are private enough to feel fine if other guests are using other casitas. The landscaping is very beautiful, very in tune with the local landscape and what we loved is that there are no neighbors! The food was fantastic, fresh, and the service good, always leaving the fridge filled with coconuts for our daily intake of coconut water and beer! The staff of 3 was great very nice, attentive always a smile on their face, but also they let you have your private space wether you are at the pool or palapa area. We also loved that you can walk for 10 minutes and be on Manzanillo Bay and visit the local restaurants on that beach, and also 10 minutes beach walk to the southern part of the bay and do yoga, have massages, etc. A big plus is part that the Casa Viva sits on a beautiful part of the bay, it has large rocks on either side, that make it feel like you have your own private beach and the ocean is pretty calm there. My favorite part of the day was waking up and seeing the ocean from my bed, then walking along the paths in the garden to get our nice organic cup of coffee!, while waiting for my husband to come back from surfing. We have visited Troncones in different times of the year and love our stay in end of June/July, I truly believe there is no Low Season in Mexico, the summer months are beautiful, even when you get heavy rain storms they pass away and leave everything feeling fresh and exuberant. CASA VIVA is perfect for everyone, for someone traveling alone you will never feel alone, you will be looked after well and have great places nearby to meet people, for couples its fantastic, I would even suggest you rent the whole property since the prices are great! And for families its tops, we are already planning a family retreat there next year that will include nieces, nephews and our dogs since it is pet friendly.

Room Tip: We loved the Round Casita, for a couple or even if you are traveling with 2 kids since it has a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vividean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Casa Viva is a meticulously designed and well thought out property. I stayed here last week during a surf trip/business trip checking out Wavecation properties. As a surfer Troncones is a great place to stay with a great point break and close to several other great waves.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained with flowers and fruit trees everywhere you look. My favorite aspect of Casa Viva is the main structure which serves as the kitchen, living room, dining room and all round hangout area with a gorgeous swimming pool. There is no division between the indoor and outdoor here and it's quite wonderful. The builder and architect have built some of the finest homes in the area and their skill shows in Casa Viva.

The beach in front of Casa Viva is gorgeous and great for walks. There are some large rocks in the water so don't plan on surfing in front of the house, but the point break is only a 1/4 mile (1 minute drive) away. This would be an ideal place for a family or groups of friends who want to relax and reconnect all week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wavecation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Viva Apr 13-18, 2012 and loved every minute. We kept pinching ourselves, saying, "Can you believe we are really at a place like this?" It was amazing...the location, the room, the food....the service was so nice....we felt like royalty! We lounged, we walked into town about 30 minutes, the locals were very friendly and we felt quite safe....we participated in releasing baby turtles into the ocean....went on a kayak estuary tour. From the pool area there was a cute iguana that would climb on a nearby post and watch us...there was a heron that would stop by and stand on the edge of the pool and take a drink, then fly away. We watched dolphins jumping in the waves...we saw pelicans and egrets soaring along the tops of the waves in formation. At night, we sat in the hot tub and were amazed by the stars above...so beautiful. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloversmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a little trip up north to Troncones in the middle of our vacation in Zihuatanejo. We spent two nights at Casa Viva and were so sad that we hadn't planned to stay for longer. Casa Viva is the picture perfect vacation spot. It is a very relaxing, peaceful environment with just about anything you could need right there. Elvira cooked us some very delicious and very memorable meals. Manches, the property watch-dog was very friendly and a nice distraction from missing our dog at home. We can't wait to return for a longer trip and are already trying to convince our friends and family to join us for a group trip to Casa Viva.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Casa Viva Troncones is a destination in and of itself. The pool, the beach, and our round casita were beautiful, comfortable, and extremely relaxing for our getaway. For the first three days we didn't even leave the property or the Troncones beach. We highly recommend it. I LOVE the fact that it is small...it keeps the vibe very relaxed. It was great to meet the other guests - really great people - and enjoy the space together.

Having our meals at Casa Viva was the way to go - fresh, delicious meals prepared daily was truly a treat. The town was sweet and small. It's not a touristy town and really low key. Perfect for relaxing. We went to Luna Espiral, and met Lucia, a local woman that does reiki and flower essence therapies - she was wonderful!

Overall, three thumbs up - as my 7 yr old said when someone asked what he liked best, he said "the place, the pool and the people"...which pretty much sums it up. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The round casita was awesome since it had a beach view and was a skip to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgirlOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a truly relaxing time here - we did nothing but lounge, eat, swim, walk on the beach, and sleep. And we loved every minute of it. Elvita's cooking is beyond fabulous - everything she made was delicioso! If you have the chance to have her cook for you I'd definitely recommend it. The pool was beautiful and we spent hours in it watching the ocean. An iguana visited us poolside one day and just hung out with us for a couple of hours. The beach is rocky and if you walk north for about 15 minutes (around the bend) you'll find a beach that you can swim in. But the tide pools offer lots of cool critters too. A wonderful spot and close to town, as well as Zihuatanejo. The staff was wonderful and took care of us very well despite our (very) broken Spanish. Bring your bug spray and sunscreen, use them frequently and you'll be set.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Present Moment Retreat
Present Moment Retreat
#2 of 7 in Troncones
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 22 in Ixtapa
2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
Tronco Bay Inn Resort
#14 of 15 in Troncones
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Troncones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Troncones

Property: Casa Viva Troncones
Address: Costera, Troncones, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viva is simple elegance and natural luxury. The spacious casitas (suites) and common area with pool and jacuzzi are spread across 80 meters of beachfront on your private cove between Troncones and Manzanillo. Private and reserved, meals can be arranged with cook so you never leave the premise. Sleeps up to 16-20 comfortably, rent the entire property or just one Casita. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing