We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever - ever!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Viva Troncones

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Troncones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Viva Troncones
Ranked #4 of 16 Troncones B&B and Inns
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation ever - ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Viva Apr 13-18, 2012 and loved every minute. We kept pinching ourselves, saying, "Can you believe we are really at a place like this?" It was amazing...the location, the room, the food....the service was so nice....we felt like royalty! We lounged, we walked into town about 30 minutes, the locals were very friendly and we felt quite safe....we participated in releasing baby turtles into the ocean....went on a kayak estuary tour. From the pool area there was a cute iguana that would climb on a nearby post and watch us...there was a heron that would stop by and stand on the edge of the pool and take a drink, then fly away. We watched dolphins jumping in the waves...we saw pelicans and egrets soaring along the tops of the waves in formation. At night, we sat in the hot tub and were amazed by the stars above...so beautiful. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloversmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
23
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a little trip up north to Troncones in the middle of our vacation in Zihuatanejo. We spent two nights at Casa Viva and were so sad that we hadn't planned to stay for longer. Casa Viva is the picture perfect vacation spot. It is a very relaxing, peaceful environment with just about anything you could need right there. Elvira cooked us some very delicious and very memorable meals. Manches, the property watch-dog was very friendly and a nice distraction from missing our dog at home. We can't wait to return for a longer trip and are already trying to convince our friends and family to join us for a group trip to Casa Viva.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Casa Viva Troncones is a destination in and of itself. The pool, the beach, and our round casita were beautiful, comfortable, and extremely relaxing for our getaway. For the first three days we didn't even leave the property or the Troncones beach. We highly recommend it. I LOVE the fact that it is small...it keeps the vibe very relaxed. It was great to meet the other guests - really great people - and enjoy the space together.

Having our meals at Casa Viva was the way to go - fresh, delicious meals prepared daily was truly a treat. The town was sweet and small. It's not a touristy town and really low key. Perfect for relaxing. We went to Luna Espiral, and met Lucia, a local woman that does reiki and flower essence therapies - she was wonderful!

Overall, three thumbs up - as my 7 yr old said when someone asked what he liked best, he said "the place, the pool and the people"...which pretty much sums it up. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The round casita was awesome since it had a beach view and was a skip to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgirlOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I spent a truly relaxing time here - we did nothing but lounge, eat, swim, walk on the beach, and sleep. And we loved every minute of it. Elvita's cooking is beyond fabulous - everything she made was delicioso! If you have the chance to have her cook for you I'd definitely recommend it. The pool was beautiful and we spent hours in it watching the ocean. An iguana visited us poolside one day and just hung out with us for a couple of hours. The beach is rocky and if you walk north for about 15 minutes (around the bend) you'll find a beach that you can swim in. But the tide pools offer lots of cool critters too. A wonderful spot and close to town, as well as Zihuatanejo. The staff was wonderful and took care of us very well despite our (very) broken Spanish. Bring your bug spray and sunscreen, use them frequently and you'll be set.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain-la-Neuve
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

After a stressed period, we decided to take some holidays in Mexico including one week in Casa Viva.
It was absolutely marvelous.
The place is gorgeous, beautiful and extremely relaxing.
Nevertheless, with swimming in the waves, horse riding, surfing, cave exploration, hiking and snorkling/diving in Ixtapa, we were also very active.
Great dinning.
Probably the best stay I ever had!
I left my laptop and iphone on the little desk in front of the pool all week long. No problem in Case Viva. Isn't it nice ?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean-louis v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

We loved it! Just make sure that you are somebody that has no problem sleeping outside with Mexican beach climate and you will have one the best vacations ever. The rest you can read in the other reviews.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tapatileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Our trip (2/15/11 - 2/23/11) was my daughter's "Destination Wedding"...and she nailed it. My wife and I stayed in one bungalow and my son's family with four kids (4/9/10/13) and other daugher's family with two kids (12/13) stayed in the other two bungalows. Casa Viva is beautiful. The common area with pool, lounging area and dining area was a great place to kick back and relax. The kids were in the pool most the time or playing on the beach. The wedding was on the beach in front of Casa Viva and the reception was by the pool. The wedding included about 50 people and was spectacular. The staff was great and Elvira is a super cook. The meals were also very reasonable and we never left the table hungry. It was a memorable family vacation.

Room Tip: Round Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
5.0 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.2 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
11.7 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
5.0 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Viva Troncones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Viva Troncones

Property: Casa Viva Troncones
Address: Costera, Troncones, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Viva is simple elegance and natural luxury. The spacious casitas (suites) and common area with pool and jacuzzi are spread across 80 meters of beachfront on your private cove between Troncones and Manzanillo. Private and reserved, meals can be arranged with cook so you never leave the premise. Sleeps up to 16-20 comfortably, rent the entire property or just one Casita. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing