We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Check In to Firefly then Check Out of Reality and...”
other travelers have booked this property
View of house from beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house from beach
Pool and kitchen Master bedroom has a great view and window in the shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View of house from beach
Pool and kitchen
Master bedroom has a great view and window in the shower
House from the beach
View from the pool
Beach right outside your door
Hammocks on the beach
Linae/Upstairs lounge & games room
Dining, livinging room, outdoor woodfired grill
Kitchen island view
Living room
Private bungalow patio
Shared bungalow living & dining area
Shared bungalow kitchen
One of our cozy round bungalows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Troncones, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marcy C
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Check In to Firefly then Check Out of Reality and Stress.....”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just got back from a week vacation. We had the absolute pleasure of renting out the entire property. We arrived late in the day on Saturday and were immediately greeted by Efron and Lupe the caregivers. They took care of us the entire time we were there. For an additional fee Lupe will cook meals for you and she did just that for most of our breakfasts and dinners (her coconut shrimp with mango salsa is to die for). Do yourself a favor and stop at the big shopping center on the way in to stock up on beer and whatever else you need before you get to Troncones. While there are some very lovely places on town w/o a car its just easier to buy in advance (tip: Visit Omar at the Coconut Stand across the street he sells beer by the case and is the cheapest in town. Also, his pina coladas as epic).

While in Troncones we fished, surfed and spent a lot of time between the hammocks, ocean and pool. The ocean water was in the mid 80's but there is a fairly strong rip tide so beware if you have kiddos. We brought a life jacket for our son and I was glad we did.

No need to bring anything besides your bathing suits, cover ups and flip flops. We didn't change in to street clothes at all while we were there. if you are in to yoga, Tai Chi etc the new platform is really lovely.

Casa Firefly is about a 15 minute walk in to town. Town consists of a dozen or so restaurants, a few surf shops and a few places to buy basic groceries. If you are looking for hoping night life or want to go clubbing this is definitely not the place for you. If you are looking to check out...no phones (wifi at the house worked great) or tv's and you have a sense of adventure you can't go wrong with Firefly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The oceanfront pool
Liked least: the bugs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VegasBabe...
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Bungalows in Paradise (they're really nice!)”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed for a week in one of the two private bungalows at Casa Firefly in February of this year. The bungalow is authentic with a gorgeous thatch roof but everything else, including the plumbing, is very new and modern. The shower is great as is the guest cooking area with private fridge. There is outdoor furniture to lounge on while cooking your dinner, checking your email on wifi or just relaxing. The swimming pool is just gorgeous and perfect for swimming laps. The beach in front of the property is truly amazing - very quiet and almost no foot traffic. It feels almost like a private beach! The hosts are lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The staff is also very friendly and keep the property in immaculate shape. Go and enjoy!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The bungalow with pool and wifi and almost private beach - what a combo!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vegirard
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastico! Muy Bonita! Perfect Playa”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We LOVED staying at Casa Firefly and felt very lucky to stay as a guest. Bungalows are well appointed, loved having use of the kitchens and private refrigerators. Plenty of shelf space, great lap and swimming pool, the best beach front is right out in front of the Casa. I loved the private yoga pavilion and did you know that you could arrange a private yoga session? The owners are wonderful and fun. I loved borrowing the boogies boards and getting some good waves. Fresh drinking water is always provided and sometimes the veggie and fruit truck comes by. I will absolutely stay there next March when we go! Fabulous deal, lovely architecture and fantastic weather. Wish we could have stayed a month....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property itself, its location and the other guests!
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehons
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Killer place. Beauiful, peaceful, luxurious, unbelievable”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is incredible. The village is quiet, peaceful, and hospitable, with great restaurants and familiars. And a coconut stand on the side of the road where they'll stick your coconuts in the freezer if they know you're coming every day.

The house itself is gorgeous. Beyond luxurious. Open living areas and kitchen, beautiful pool, and right on the beach. Hammocks, couches, we couldn't believe it when we got there. Really.

We spent a week there and loved it. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Do I have to choose?
Liked least: Mexico gets so HOT!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anselyn
california
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise Found! Gorgeous Hotel!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed for a week at this lovely boutique hotel. The property is right on the most pristine, quiet beach with only the sound of waves to soothe my soul. The bed was comfortable, it had a wonderful, fully stocked kitchen and our own fridge. It was a close walk to town and you can rent bikes which is fun. Each sunset, in front of the hotel, we would play in the waves and swim. The hotel even had a yoga deck on the beach. It's a lovely, immaculate place to stay. I highly recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing