We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissfull vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Don't be fooled by the rustic look and simplicity of this resort. Getting back to basics has its cachet! So don't expect a safe, a door that locks or a hair dryer but do expect falling asleep to the sound of waves and living a totally awesome experience connecting with nature and feeling the amazing energy that transpires throughout the place. The staff is always smiling, they'll even dance with you! The food is excellent and really healthy. The teachers are experienced and give wonderful yoga and qi gong classes. You can choose from a variety of different treatments such as thai massage or a combination of chakra healing/massage/sonotherapy/ acupuncture which are all amazing! We come back from this experience completly transformed and not wanting to return to the usual all inclusive resorts that we are accustomed to. We had the opportunity to join a yoga retreat (YogaTed) and this synergy was a plus to this amazing retreat! If you're thinking about going to Present Moment, do not hesitate, this could transform your life too!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Luc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

PMR has the best healing staff, of many different modalities. Massage (all types, of course), acupuncture, cranial sacral, gi gong, tai chi, sacred dance, aromatherapy, sound vibration, coaching, and much more. My experience with their very own bruja was magical -- her knowledge of plant medicine, the elements, and ancient Mexican healing techniques was spot on. I trust her entirely. Do come.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mela1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's easy to be present PMR. I went with a group for a yoga retreat. I would return in a heartbeat for another yoga retreat or on my own. I'm still dreaming about my week there in January 2014. Loved the authentic accommodations. I also like the smaller environment. It was a perfect combination of authentic but not too rustic. The grounds are beautiful. The ocean setting is hard to beat. The beach is a fantastic walking beach. The staff and service exceptional. Enjoyed their classes, spa services and activity options. I also enjoyed doing absolutely nothing but finding another chair to relax in. Sunsets and star gazing in abundance.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

At the risk of restating: this is a magical place, truly transformative in so many beautiful and unexpected ways. The amazing people who own, run and work at PMR have managed to create a space that just feels good in some inexplicable way. No doubt it is physically/aesthetically sublime—from the cabanas to the landscaping to the beautiful beach the property inhabits, it’s absolutely stunning. But it’s the energy of the people who are there to take care of you that I think really creates the indescribable magic of the place. It seems that being in the midst of people who are truly living “in the present moment” creates a serenity that’s palpable. And then there’s the good that you can actually see, hear, taste and touch, and if that’s all you’re in it for, you won’t be disappointed. The service in every area from wellness to dining was perfectly calibrated. Everyone at PMR is incredibly adept at being there for you without being there too much. I know from experience that this is a skill and an ethos that’s not easy to embody and they do it masterfully. It’s difficult to pick stand outs from my week—I loved the morning meditations, and the yoga and qi gong classes I took every day. There is almost always something to take advantage of going on right on the property, and it’s always a top -notch experience. My tarot reading with Mariah and my acupuncture with Michelle were also incredible. Maybe the most impactful to my experience, though, was having someone, in my case Brittany, to help me craft my time at PMR. She achieved a perfect level of “being there” throughout my stay and guided me seamlessly into the exact experience I needed. She was brilliant. And last, but certainly not least, the food was fantastic. Whether you’re there to get healthy, indulge, or do a little of both, you’ll find a bounty of great options. I could have lived on the fresh juices and smoothies, but then I would have missed my chance to eat my way through the dinner menu. Everything I ate was delicious. I can’t wait for my next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEN2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I vacationed here in July-2013 and my experience was beyond my expectations. The staff is awesome, the place reflects so much peace and tranquility. It is not easy for me to relax because I am always on the go; however, this place made me calm and the yoga helped me relax. The food was extremely good and the drinks were the best. This place really made me realize a lot of things, I learned to live in the moment and enjoy life to the fullest. Overall, an extraordinary experience, I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Present Moment Retreat was an amazing experience for myself and son. The classes are exceptional along with healthy and deliciously prepared meals. The staff is attentive and ever so kind. I can hardly wait to return with my wife. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Work with the staff and they will lead you in the right direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved everything about this area and trip. The yoga was great and the staff, everyone from the chef to the admin were fun, enjoyable, and helpful. I had some of the best yoga teachers ever, La being my favorite!! Thank you La for making us smile during class. The food was good, the juice and smoothies out of this world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 8 in Troncones
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#6 of 8 in Troncones
16 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Cala de Mar Resort & Spa Ixtapa
18.4 mi away
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
Puerta Paraiso Hotel Boutique
#32 of 79 in Zihuatanejo
39 reviews
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 23 in Ixtapa
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range: $115 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing