We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Present” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Present Moment Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

It's easy to be present PMR. I went with a group for a yoga retreat. I would return in a heartbeat for another yoga retreat or on my own. I'm still dreaming about my week there in January 2014. Loved the authentic accommodations. I also like the smaller environment. It was a perfect combination of authentic but not too rustic. The grounds are beautiful. The ocean setting is hard to beat. The beach is a fantastic walking beach. The staff and service exceptional. Enjoyed their classes, spa services and activity options. I also enjoyed doing absolutely nothing but finding another chair to relax in. Sunsets and star gazing in abundance.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    19
    3
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
84
124
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

At the risk of restating: this is a magical place, truly transformative in so many beautiful and unexpected ways. The amazing people who own, run and work at PMR have managed to create a space that just feels good in some inexplicable way. No doubt it is physically/aesthetically sublime—from the cabanas to the landscaping to the beautiful beach the property inhabits, it’s absolutely stunning. But it’s the energy of the people who are there to take care of you that I think really creates the indescribable magic of the place. It seems that being in the midst of people who are truly living “in the present moment” creates a serenity that’s palpable. And then there’s the good that you can actually see, hear, taste and touch, and if that’s all you’re in it for, you won’t be disappointed. The service in every area from wellness to dining was perfectly calibrated. Everyone at PMR is incredibly adept at being there for you without being there too much. I know from experience that this is a skill and an ethos that’s not easy to embody and they do it masterfully. It’s difficult to pick stand outs from my week—I loved the morning meditations, and the yoga and qi gong classes I took every day. There is almost always something to take advantage of going on right on the property, and it’s always a top -notch experience. My tarot reading with Mariah and my acupuncture with Michelle were also incredible. Maybe the most impactful to my experience, though, was having someone, in my case Brittany, to help me craft my time at PMR. She achieved a perfect level of “being there” throughout my stay and guided me seamlessly into the exact experience I needed. She was brilliant. And last, but certainly not least, the food was fantastic. Whether you’re there to get healthy, indulge, or do a little of both, you’ll find a bounty of great options. I could have lived on the fresh juices and smoothies, but then I would have missed my chance to eat my way through the dinner menu. Everything I ate was delicious. I can’t wait for my next trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEN2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I vacationed here in July-2013 and my experience was beyond my expectations. The staff is awesome, the place reflects so much peace and tranquility. It is not easy for me to relax because I am always on the go; however, this place made me calm and the yoga helped me relax. The food was extremely good and the drinks were the best. This place really made me realize a lot of things, I learned to live in the moment and enjoy life to the fullest. Overall, an extraordinary experience, I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Present Moment Retreat was an amazing experience for myself and son. The classes are exceptional along with healthy and deliciously prepared meals. The staff is attentive and ever so kind. I can hardly wait to return with my wife. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Work with the staff and they will lead you in the right direction
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved everything about this area and trip. The yoga was great and the staff, everyone from the chef to the admin were fun, enjoyable, and helpful. I had some of the best yoga teachers ever, La being my favorite!! Thank you La for making us smile during class. The food was good, the juice and smoothies out of this world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina & San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

If it's possible, Present Moment was even better my second visit. It was wonderful to see some of the same staff, waiters, and massage therapists.
The resort is a paradise and I'm already planning for visit number 3!

Room Tip: Every bungalow is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCAiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis,mn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

From the moment I entered the property, I was warmly greeted by a Juan, waiter from the bar, then greeted by Tom the founder who led me to my adorable cabana, Bliss. I quickly changed into cooler clothes and was invited to dinner and drinks with Tom. A perfect first night with Cobi offering suggestions for my week and then a true treat as Billy White performed live his gorgeous Dharma Flamenco music as many of the guests and staff lay sprawled on the yoga floor. What a way to start a vacation. It's hard to describe this place as many people don't allow themselves to take a retreat. One doesn't really have to abandon anything as there is WiFi, gourmet healthy food, good spirits, sun, surf, pool... Much like us winter escapers are used to. But if you want more peace, more solitude, massage, acupuncture, taro card reading..this places steps outside of the box. I really had very little interest in stepping outside the grounds. And I'm normally a wanderer. It's landscaping is beautiful and there are touches of creativity in all aspects within your own cabana and throughout the grounds. Not a big place but its just the right size. I came alone. First trip solo and I was a bit apprehensive as I can lead towards shyness. But no problemo. I was always greeted and asked my name and fit in right away. Met a lot of nice guests but mostly tuned into the staff. Happy people and that's exactly what I needed to be around. The food is wonderful. Also I scrapped my foot open on a rock on the beach. When I went into the office I was going to take care of it with a bandaid but Jackie insisted on washing it and wrapping it for me.. Nurse style. If you are at all hesitating about coming here.. Don't. Just go. You will not regret it. I for sure will be going back. Thank you PMR for a fantastic week!!!! Oh.. The Yoga instructors are extremely well trained. The classes are designed for all levels. I tried Qi Gong for the first time and loved it... I could go on and on. A true gem!

Room Tip: I was 2 cabanas away from the bar and was never bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncpascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aura del Mar Hotel
Aura del Mar Hotel
#1 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
La Casa Que Canta
La Casa Que Canta
#2 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
22.1 mi away
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
Las Palmas Beachfront Villas
#13 of 81 in Zihuatanejo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 11 in Troncones
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing