We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have already booked my return visit!! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Present Moment Retreat is truly PARADISE!!

I have traveled to yoga retreat centres and stayed in high end accommodations in all corners of the world - there is seriously no place more perfect that the Present Moment Retreat!!

Typically when I travel, I like to experience different places along my journeys...well that won't be the case with the Present Moment...as a retreat leading yoga instructor - this is one place that I will continue to return to - every year!

What impressed me the most??? extremely friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure a memorable experience...the most delicious, nutritious, well-presented food I have ever had...the most beautiful environment I have ever experienced...the sunrise/sunset yoga classes...and of course the amazing live music!!

Happy Jack :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Present Moment Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 384 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped here "by accident" as we strolled down the magnificent beach at Troncones...and were immediately drawn in by the magical CHI energy "Present Moment" is steeped in. I knew in MINUTES that I would be back to this spiritFILLED paradise...beyond description. Everyone we met offered a truth, a sharing and were truly genuine, leaving us both in awe...and looking forward to returning..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturalpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was at PMR about a half year ago in October. It's been a while but I am finally getting to writing a review for them!

Because I loved it so much I'm planning another visit now. Why I am going back; I love the quiet environment.-you basically hear nothing but the ocean waves. I also appreciated listening to the waves during morning meditation. All the staff was incredibly nice, friendly, and helpful. Especially the Yoga instructors were full of positive energy and happiness. I was going though a rough period at the time I visited, but all the positive energy and power of Mother Earth healed me.

Activities other than yoga/meditation; I really enjoyed the horseback riding tour. I got to see parts of Trocones that I wouldn't have seen unless the local guide showed me.-beautiful coconut and papaya fields, the long long beach, the Laguna, the cave, a big sea turtle, the local people who live very close to nature with very little material...etc. It was all very special.

I also got to release baby sea turtles one night. It was the most beautiful nature I've ever experienced in my life. Those turtles know exactly where to go once they a released onto the beach.

The other guests I met there are my new friends I still keep in touch with.

If you are looking to rejuvenate/relax/have a quiet vacation, this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Santadog05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have arrived...it's truly paradise. I feel very welcome by the owners and staff from the first moment I arrive. I love my accommodations...the open air huts, the beautiful landscaping, the pool and especially the outdoor yoga platform overlooking the ocean. Where there was plenty of activity throughout the day to join. By the 2nd night I already feel like part of their family. And the food was sooo fresh and delicious...and prepared with such care and attention to detail...the presentation was beautiful. It didn't take long for the servers to know you and greet you by name. I like the fact that nothing was rushed at Present Moment. I had a few appnts booked and they would come find you...I highly recommend the Thai Massage. The beach was beautiful...ocean was amazingly warm...a bit rocky in front of the retreat but walk down a few hundred yards and you could body surf or swim. I had the pleasure of meeting a few locals and such lovely people. The Iive entertainment and bonfires on the beach were a lot of fun too. I was there to enjoy the great outdoors, relax, partake in yoga and enjoy the sun, surf and sand...all which exceeded my expectations. Kudos to CJ and and everyone that created the Present Moment...my most memorable trip yet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My week at the Present Moment Retreat ranks among the most memorable and profoundly transformative experiences, ever! Browse the pictures posted here for they depict more eloquently than what can be said in words alone. Yet, as far as what you can expect experientially, imagine waking up every morning to the sounds of ocean wave and cool morning breeze, after a highly restful and restorative night sleep in your open air palapa hut--so facilitative in setting your intentions for the day. The well-maintained and manicured garden provide a glimpse of what paradise looks like for people who'd like to invite good karma into their lives. Everyone working at PMR is so committed to your well-being: physically, psychologically, and, yes, spiritually. They are warm, genuine, non- judgmental, and inspiring. The restaurant staffs will work hard to accommodate your most esoteric meal requests, why not? (this includes you, Sr. Juan "por que no" Jesus). And, of course, Bodhi, the PMR's head of security patrols the ground dilligently that you'd feel secure to leave your wallet, passport, and iPad in plain sight at your hut, while you let Present Moment's magic work its way to transform and rejuvenate your life.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love this retreat. I spend a few days there during my stay in Mexico. I go for the day and do yoga,have lunch,walk the beach, hang out at the pool.The food is fabulous,great variety.The grounds are beautiful. The staff is very helpful and nice. They also have a great gift shop. It is a wonderful experience, I always enjoy my time there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane153445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just spent a week at Present Moment Retreat.
A 30+ minute taxi ride from the airport was as easy as Tom had told us it would be.
The space is set up as an oasis cathedral to stopping and arriving, at not what has happened or will happen, but being present in now.
The surroundings are kept in perfect order and the details can be cherished on an ever enfolding basis.
The massage and body work options are terrific, and the classes are relaxed and engaging.
The restaurant is a delight, and actually my favorite part about the whole experience was the staff at the restaurant. They were able to be very personable and real with you, but not over stepping. Spanish was spoke only to your comfort level.
Everyone that we encountered seemed to understand that we were there to relax, and we were made to feel that we had control of the pace.
The cabanas are lovely, and have very comfortable beds with misquito netting, the bathroom was ideal and the porch was enjoyed at the start and end of our days.
We will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monroe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
10.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#6 of 22 in Ixtapa
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#9 of 22 in Ixtapa
426 reviews
1.4 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
Lo Sereno Casa de Playa
#3 of 10 in Troncones
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range: $115 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing