We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This will be my THIRD consecutive year!...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Present Moment Retreat
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Troncones
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This will be my THIRD consecutive year!...”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This January will be my THIRD consecutive year bringing yoga students down to Present Moment for a week long retreat. The first year I had 12 students, and 6 of them signed up for the next year. The next year I had 21 students come down, and 19 of them signed up for this year. I think that says it all. My students created such a buzz back home about the wonderful time that they had had, that this year we're doing 2 consecutive weeks of retreats with a possible 40 people coming down. I'd like to think that it's me, but i know that it's much more than that. Present Moment makes it hard to leave. The CJ and Tom are very accommodating. The local staff will bend over backward to make you happy, with a genuine smile on their faces all the while. And the food...my mouth is watering just thinking about it. 270 days until we return!...not that I'm counting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YogaTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    21
    3
    11
    10
See reviews for
38
86
124
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Lago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Present Moment is such a magical place! The essence of this beautiful retreat venue is blissful tranquility. Artistic expression and attention to detail create a beautiful space for immersion where everything that meets the eye is pleasing to the senses. The staff and owners are wonderful, the accommodations luxurious yet comfortable, and the food is delectable. I'm always looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

After a long 2 day adventurous drive from Mexico City, three friends and I were ready for relaxation, sun, delicious fresh food and mellow vibes. We checked out some places in Troncones before landing at the Present Moment, none had the simplicity and general warmth of the staff, close proximity to the ocean and pure understanding of classic, simple elegance yet earth friendly atmosphere. CJ greeted us as soon as we opened the large wooden gate and we all felt immediately at home. She welcomed us with a smile and seemed to understand our late 20's energetic creative souls. We are all artists and she got it. We just showed up here by chance. There was no question that this is where we longed to be and spend the next 5 days relaxing, eating and celebrating life. The day we arrived there was a scheduled full moon party on the beach in front of the grounds, we opted to have our own little full moon party in the lovely pool outside our beautiful hut and sipped delicious Mezcal we had picked up on our journey down. CJ stopped by and gave us her warm smile, she simply said "welcome to the present moment...you guys embody the spirit of this place..." and we all looked at each other, smiled and stared up at the glowing moon light. It was pure magic that night...something Ill never forget. They offered wonderful open air Yoga classes everyday which were inviting and invigorating. The fresh juices were delicious as were the delicate fresh fish dishes they prepared us each night. This was the perfect vacation. We all agreed and were so sad to leave this wonderful retreat. Its the perfect name for a retreat too...when I think about living in the present moment back now in my busy lifestyle , this is exactly where it would be. Thank you CJ! Thank you Present Moment! Sending much love from NYC.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was expecting a relaxing and rejuvinating week in a lovely setting, but got so much more from Present Moment Retreat. It was just incredible...the food, the staff (which quickly felt like friends...this has NEVER happened at a vacation spot before for me), the setting, the massages, treatments, excursions, yoga, meditation, dogs.....EVERYTHING. Was worried about not having air conditioning because I'm a wimp, but was fine and loved hearing the ocean as I went to sleep. Wireless was an unexpected bonus. Coming back next year! Thank you :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls WI, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic time at Present Moments. The weather was perfect for Mexico, 85+ and sunny with a steady breeze. CJ and the staff welcomed us like family. The food was 4 star quality. We stayed in Tranquility and loved it. Fell asleep each night listening to the waves crashing on the beach. Present Moments offers activities for everyone. There is bogey boarding, surfing, kayaking, horseback rides on the beach....Two thumbs up, way up. I would definitely recommend this for anyone looking for some R&R. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Lovely, tranquil, peaceful

Beautiful spot. Spectacular ocean front accommodations. Everyone was so pleasant and helpful but not overly "in your face" as can sometimes happens with comparable retreats or vactions. It was relaxing and reflective with no safety issues of concern. The food was terrific, even for a vegitarian like me. Anxiously await the next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-nMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I had an amazing time, felt so welcomed! The staff was so warm and friendly. I love how they knew all our names right from the start. Everything was just perfect, the rooms, the food, etc. I hope to come back next year!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alooloo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troncones
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
The Inn at Manzanillo Bay
#3 of 7 in Troncones
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Ki
Casa Ki
#7 of 7 in Troncones
37 reviews
10.2 mi away
Capella Ixtapa
Capella Ixtapa
#4 of 22 in Ixtapa
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Posada Real Ixtapa
Posada Real Ixtapa
#10 of 22 in Ixtapa
402 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Plaza Ixtapa
1.4 mi away
Troncones Point Hostel
Troncones Point Hostel
#1 of 10 in Troncones
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Present Moment Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Present Moment Retreat

Property: Present Moment Retreat
Address: Playa Troncones Mz. 21 Lt. 3, Troncones 40880, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Troncones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troncones
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Troncones
#3 Romantic Hotel in Troncones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Present Moment Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive oceanfront boutique hotel and yoga retreat is situated on a quiet, serene beach in Troncones, thirty minutes up the coast from Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo, Mexico. Restore in a gorgeous setting with wellness classes, yoga by the sea, meditation, qigong, dance classes and more. Rejuvenate with our offerings of spa treatments and healing arts. Dine on healthy gourmet cuisine. Take in the local adventures such as sunset horseback riding, eco tours, waterfall hiking, kayaking, surf-yoga excursions, surf lessons, shopping in our boutique, exploring the village and much more. Our loving staff have pleased even the most discerning guests, and are ready to delight you. Our eleven private bungalows are the perfect antidote to the chaos of everyday life. Each unique bungalow is dedicated to one of the values that we hold in the highest regard. Authenticity was imperative in the construction of every inch of Present Moment. Thus, all bungalows have an indigenous palapa thatched roof, hand-crafted in the Mexican tradition, and are furnished with a pillow top queen-sized bed, luxurious 400 count cotton bedding and a canopy of white linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Present Moment Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Present Moment Retreat Troncones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing